PDA

View Full Version : Difference between German and US Squeezebox ?



Jay!
2008-12-18, 12:46
What are the differences between a german and an us squeezebox duet?

Is there a voltage selector, that I can use the us version in germany?

Thx Jay

mherger
2008-12-18, 13:15
> What are the differences between a german and an us squeezebox duet?

The power supply's prong and the packaging. And you'll probably get some
greetings from Thomas D.

http://www.logitech.com/images/flash/squeezebox/index.html?WT.ac=ps|5179||hp

Michael

radish
2008-12-18, 14:17
Michael - completely off topic question...

I was watching that video and I noticed that he said "network music player" in English rather than German...why's that? I understand it for trademarks, product names etc, but that's just a description.

mherger
2008-12-18, 14:40
> I was watching that video and I noticed that he said "network music
> player" in English rather than German...why's that? I understand it for
> trademarks, product names etc, but that's just a description.

The German language is pretty open to anglicisms. Unlike the French we use
Computer, Laptops, Routers etc. (yes, uppercase :-)) without hesitating.
An iPod is a "mp3 Player". Nobody (except some translators) would call it
"MP3 Wiedergabegerät" or similar.

Michael

mherger
2008-12-18, 14:41
> I was watching that video and I noticed that he said "network music
> player" in English rather than German...why's that?

Oh, did you miss the "beamen"? He wants to beam the music around his
farm...

Michael

Jay!
2008-12-19, 07:34
Is there a voltage selector, so that I can use a box bought in the states in germany?

thx

Moonbase
2008-12-19, 08:21
I do hope they were clever enough to include a "one-for-all" switching power supply that goes from 90-240 VAC or such ... (Just loved my old Dell laptop for that.) Some people tend to travel a lot. Getting adaptor plugs isn't the problem but power supplies can be. :-)

(I want to beamen around my SqueezeStuff *grin*)

mherger
2008-12-19, 08:30
> Is there a voltage selector, so that I can use a box bought in the
> states in germany?

No selector needed. Just plug it in.

--

Michael

Jay!
2008-12-19, 08:41
thank you...