PDA

View Full Version : Assuring legality of purchased online music

agentsmith
2008-12-16, 17:48
The DRM free downloading of uncompressed music is becoming more of a reality. I subscribed to eMusic crappy MP3 service since the beginning when they had unlimited download of poorly ripped 128kbps MP3. I have since bought lossless music or higher quality MP3s from various sources, including Linn, Magnatune, Amazon, DG, iTrax and others.

With the purchase of a Transporter hence the ability to play 24/96 files, I am now enjoying hires music that sounds better than ever. Too bad the only sources now are rips from my old DVA-Audio discs, some downmixed into stereo, plus a couple of downloads from Linn and iTrax.

Which brings me to the subject at hand. I am spending the amount equivalent to or more than packaged CDs. How can I be assured that all that music I purchased belongs to me? I retag and/or convert all the music I buy to suit my library, and I am not good at organizing all my online invoices. I have close to a TB of ripped and downloaded music.

If someone walks into my house and ask me to prove legality of all my music, how do I distinguish myself from a pirate? I can match one to one with the physical CDs I have which would be a pain. But what about the downloads without the packages?

I am not worried. Just wondering how all that investment is protected?

I do think that the price of downloaded music is a ripoff, since the manufacturer is doing away with the physical distribution channels and packaging. Makes me wonder whether they are penalizing the download customers with the assumption that these downloads will be shared/pirated.

jsprag
2008-12-16, 19:26
Unless you're sharing the music by some method, who would come and ask and why would they do so?