PDA

View Full Version : blank display on SB after 7.3 Update



Phiddel
2008-12-14, 03:23
Hi,
after updating my SC from 7.2 to 7.3 my 2 SB updated the firmware as aspected (Boom -> 40; SB2 -> 120).
But then both display a blank/black diplay :-(
I can control them via webfontend and they both play music from library and radio.
The SC (on W2K Server) works good.

Perhaps the firmware update fails; ho can i repeat the firmware update?

Is there anybody with the same problem or someone with any idea???

Thanks
Phiddel

schiegl
2008-12-14, 03:28
Hi,

have you verified it's not the brightness setting only? (press the brightness button on the remote multiple times or use the webinterface->settings->player->display).
Is it always dark? Even on startup (i.e. no logitech logo)?

kind regards,
Markus

Phiddel
2008-12-14, 03:39
Hi,

have you verified it's not the brightness setting only? (press the brightness button on the remote multiple times or use the webinterface->settings->player->display).
Is it always dark? Even on startup (i.e. no logitech logo)?

kind regards,
Markus

Hi,
yes i set the brightness setting via webfontend to 5.
When i start the SB i see "squeezebox" for 1 sec.
When i press the favorite buttons on my boom i also see the content (e.g. radiostation) for 1 sec.
When the sb plays music i see in the right corner the little VU.
Thanks+regards
Phiddel

Mnyb
2008-12-14, 03:58
Looks similar to my experience here:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=56198

In short a clear install might help if the uppgrade won't do it.
some old setting or old plugin might be causing trouble .

You can try to remove all 3:rd party plugins and erase you cache folder first before reinstalling everything. If you erase cache you have to be patient as your dB is gone so SC have to rescan, web UI can be a little wierd while this is going on.

Phiddel
2008-12-14, 03:59
... i uploaded the server log from the time of the 7.3 update to now!

Phiddel

Mnyb
2008-12-14, 04:25
Hmm many of the messages is similar to what I got ?

What i concluded was that I could fallback to an earlier version without problems even a late 7.3 beta ( 24159 )

But only way to get me to official 7.3 status was an clear reinstall eg remove all traces of SC and do it again.

But then again i'm no expert and many here had no problems upgrading.

My server is an CC4.2 linux install and it is common on this forum, but not so mainstream.

Phil08
2008-12-14, 05:10
Hi,
I get the same effect as well. The display on my SB2 is very dim (just the VU bars on the RHS visible with brightness at maximum). All working fine until 7.3 upgrade this morning. SB1 and Duet seem ok and everything else on the SB2 works, just cannot se the display.

Running on w2K3 SP2.

Phiddel
2008-12-14, 11:00
Hi,
i made an clear reinstall of SC 7.3 with no 3rd party plugins.
But i have the same problems ....

How can i reinstall the firmware update?
I think the error must be on the SB an not on SC!?

Thanks
Phiddel

Phil08
2008-12-14, 11:03
Hi,

Just a quick update. The Blank screen on the SB3 (not SB2 as i said before in error) is sorted during a downgrade to 7.2.1. Tried a couple of upgrades and new installs to 7.3 but each time the SB3 remains blank. Now sitting on 7.2.1 without AlienBBC :-(

schiegl
2008-12-14, 11:14
How can i reinstall the firmware update?
I think the error must be on the SB an not on SC!?


AFAIR it's press&hold the brightness key on poweron (see similar commands at http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/PlayerFirmware)

kind regards,
Markus

vagskal
2008-12-15, 08:56
Hi,
after updating my SC from 7.2 to 7.3 my 2 SB updated the firmware as aspected (Boom -> 40; SB2 -> 120).
But then both display a blank/black diplay :-(
I can control them via webfontend and they both play music from library and radio.
The SC (on W2K Server) works good.

Perhaps the firmware update fails; ho can i repeat the firmware update?

Is there anybody with the same problem or someone with any idea???

I had the exact same problem on my Boom (but not on my 2 SB3). I solved the problem (finally, after an array of other futile measures) by pressing reset player settings for my Boom in the web UI. Now everything works fine.

(The SC 7.3 nightly as of 5 December worked fine and that one used, as I recall it, the same firmware on the Boom as the final SC 7.3 release. Therefore - and considering what fixed the problem for me - I do not think it was a firmware issue.)

simonjedrake
2008-12-18, 06:57
Guys
I have just had same problem with a Blank displays on my SB3's x 2 after upgrade to 7.3 - 24282.
Only way to solve it was to use www interface & reset SB3's to factory defaults.
There must be a bug somewhere which needs addressing.
Apart from that all looks Ok so far, just recscanning libart etc
Thanks
Simon

ftlight
2008-12-18, 10:31
On 12/31/1969 7:00 PM, simonjedrake wrote:
> Guys
> I have just had same problem with a Blank displays on my SB3's x 2
> after upgrade to 7.3 - 24282.
> Only way to solve it was to use www interface& reset SB3's to factory
> defaults.

I had the same thing on my two SB1s after I went to 7.3. Turned out I
was using a custom font, and it didn't get moved to the correct folder
by the 7.3 upgrade install. The result was a blank screen until I
selected one of the standard fonts.

--
Bill Burns
Long Island NY USA
http://ftldesign.com