PDA

View Full Version : Problems Streaming radio stations

nvosni
2008-12-13, 23:22
Hi all,

I am new to Squeezebox and I am currently experimenting with the SoftSqueeze with plans to buy a Squeezebox Classic soon.

Trying to stream Greek radio stations and most of them do not play. It looks like it is connecting and 'playing' but no sound. From the SqueezeCenter it shows that it is playing but from the SoftSqueeze no action.

I am wondering why they don't play and if I will have the same problem when I buy the hardware.

Your help is appreciated

I am listing a few stations below as an FYI

Skai 100.3
File Format: Windows Media
Bitrate: 32kbps CBR (Converted to 705.6kbps ABR)
URL: http://opml.radiotime.com/StationPlaylist.axd?stationId=24726&username=nick26&PartnerId=16

Sfera 102.2
File Format: Windows Media
Bitrate: 32kbps CBR (Converted to 705.6kbps ABR)
URL: http://opml.radiotime.com/StationPlaylist.axd?stationId=16351&username=nick26&PartnerId=16

This one in comparison plays fine

Sok FM 104.8
Bitrate: 80kbps CBR
URL: http://opml.radiotime.com/StationPlaylist.axd?stationId=78188&Formats=mp3,wma,real&username=nick26&PartnerId=16

bpa
2008-12-14, 01:29
Softsqueeze does not natively support WMA whereas the hardware player can play WMA natively.

What OS is your SC on ?

If your SC is on Windows, WMA decode for Softsqueeze is included. If your SC is on Linux or OSX then you will have install a 3rd party app to decode WMA for Softsqueeze.

nvosni
2008-12-14, 02:33
I have it installed on both Windows XP and Leopard.

Searching on other posts I have installed AlienBBC on both.

My main pc would Windows XP when I buy Squeezebox so I don't really mind if it does not play on my Mac.

But still on my PC it does not play. What other software I need to install on XP in order to play?

Also I read somewhere that Squeezebox has the codecs to play Windows Media streams. Is that true?

Thank you

bpa
2008-12-14, 05:10