PDA

View Full Version : 7.3 Upgrade Killed My Squeezebox



brucegrr
2008-12-12, 21:57
Not literally of course. I am very frustrated. What should have been a straight forward upgrade has left my Squeezebox dead.

The install went fine, took a bit longer than usual. SqueezeCenter recognizes the player but the player does not connect to Squeezecenter.

I retried setting up the network and the Squeezebox dies at the point of connecting to the music source.

So far:

I have reinstalled the software
the firmware upgrade was successful........i think the squeezebox never reset like it always does.

The log says:

[08-12-12 23:54:18.2765] Slim::Buttons::Common::pushMode (1949) Error: Couldn't push into new mode: [home] !: Not a HASH reference at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 897.
[08-12-12 23:54:20.4552] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:54:20.4545] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:54:20.4560] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:54:20.4556] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:54:22.4354] Slim::Buttons::Common::pushMode (1949) Error: Couldn't push into new mode: [home] !: Not a HASH reference at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 897.
[08-12-12 23:54:54.8591] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:54:54.8584] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:54:54.8599] Slim::Hardware::IR::executeButton (1088) Error: Subroutine for irCode: [right] mode: [] does not exist!
[08-12-12 23:54:56.0176] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:54:56.0169] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:54:56.0183] Slim::Hardware::IR::executeButton (1088) Error: Subroutine for irCode: [left] mode: [] does not exist!
[08-12-12 23:54:56.9915] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:54:56.9911] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:54:56.9923] Slim::Buttons::Common::pushMode (1949) Error: Couldn't push into new mode: [home] !: Not a HASH reference at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 897.
[08-12-12 23:55:01.8860] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1126) Warning: [23:55:01.8852] Use of uninitialized value in hash element at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1234.
[08-12-12 23:55:01.8867] Slim::Hardware::IR::executeButton (1088) Error: Subroutine for irCode: [right] mode: [] does not exist!

Help. Three years and this is the first install crash for me.

Bruce

brucegrr
2008-12-12, 22:58
I also have this in the log:

08-12-13 00:54:49.0276] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:49.1392] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:49.6097] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:49.7142] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:49.8235] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:50.6565] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:50.7609] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:50.8735] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:52.7659] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:52.8704] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:52.9820] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.0874] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.1990] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.2972] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.4086] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.5131] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.6256] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.7301] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.8440] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:53.9484] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR
[08-12-13 00:54:54.0600] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: IR

brucegrr
2008-12-12, 23:04
Ok I think maybe this is the problem:

[08-12-13 01:01:34.4239] Slim::Display::Graphics::render (108) Error: bad lines function - non hash based display formats are depreciated

At the setup I went to the Squeezenetwork and it worked just fine. Upon trying to return to Squeezecenter it through the above error in the log (and it was the only error in the log)

Bruce

Addition: I did a factory reset and got the following errors in the log: (The squeezebox stopped at connecting to Squeezecenter)

[08-12-13 01:07:48.2330] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2403] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2472] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2541] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2615] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2687] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.2862] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:48.6003] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:58.3207] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:58.3367] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:07:58.6617] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:08:08.3773] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:08:08.3938] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:08:08.7255] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (383) request not dispatchable!
[08-12-13 01:08:31.3828] Slim::Networking::IO::Select::select (271) Error: Select task failed: Not a HASH reference at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SQUEEZ~1\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 897.
[08-12-13 01:08:31.5080] Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (405) client_readable: Client not found for slimproto msg op: STAT

Mnyb
2008-12-12, 23:15
I had a similar experience, a clean install was the only thing that helped realy.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=56198

It's a bit of a hassle to do a clean one you probably forgot half of your favorite settings.

I removed every trace my of old SC, i copied my settings folder and put it back in again but it did not help much.

I have a linux server btw

look at my 8:th post 3 of our fault msg is virtually the same

brucegrr
2008-12-12, 23:47
I think the clean install did the trick. The screen is displaying anyway :) Of course it is rescanning my music files and that takes 30-45 minutes.

Thanks for the help. I was really frustrated. I thought.......just a little upgrade........and then go watch TV........:) I really really really should know better.

Bruce

Mnyb
2008-12-13, 00:47
Oh yes it's a law :)

Every major release in 7.x has borked for me, somewhere in beta stage very close to release, he he.

7.2 - 7.3 clean install
7.1 - 7.2 remove cache
6.x - 7.x my XP install was missbehaving, did not bother to clean install built a linux box instead.

brucegrr
2008-12-13, 01:09
Well it worked until I touched it.

I went to change the player settings in Squeezecenter and when I went to change the menu's it froze. Now I am right back where I started but with a new problem.

Here is the error message:

[08-12-13 03:01:03.1534] Slim::Networking::IO::Select::select (271) Error: Select task failed: Not a HASH reference at /<E:\PROGRA~1\SqueezeCenter\server\squeezecenter.exe>Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 897.

This error message is thrown when I click menu in player settings. I can reproduce it every time I click menu.

The squeezebox is off, seemingly not connecting though it shows connected in Squeezecenter. When I try and go to the player settings I am unable to access the menu settings. It just stalls.

I am done for today. Maybe someone will have an answer tomorrow.

Bruce

Mnyb
2008-12-13, 01:35
No old stuff left somewhere ? like 3:rd party plugins ?
some one with more knowledge can probably help you ?
What are you running SC on Windows Mac Linux ?

Sometimes you have to clean out files everywhere on windows.

brucegrr
2008-12-13, 06:50
Windows.

It was a clean install. The only way to "fix" this was to do another clean install, and set it up all over again.

Now I am afraid to "touch" it. :)

Phiddel
2008-12-14, 14:18
Hi,

i have the same "line 897"-Error. But a clean reinstall doesn't help me :-(
With way you made the deinstall?
1) deinstall program
2) del all files c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\squeezecenter
3) del all files c:\programs\squeezecenter

Are there other files or reg-keys?

Regards Phiddel

bpa
2008-12-14, 14:35
Try deleting any file beginning PDK in the Windows/Temp directory. These are temporary files expanded from the squeezecenter.exe - sometimes old ones seem to cause odd problems.

Then reboot Windows.

brucegrr
2008-12-14, 14:37
Clean install worked for me. I did run crapcleaner and rebooted before I did the clean install.

I would love to see an answer as to "why" this is happening?

Bruce

mherger
2008-12-15, 00:05
> Try deleting any file beginning PDK in the Windows/Temp directory.
> These are temporary files expanded from the squeezecenter.exe -
> sometimes old ones seem to cause odd problems.

Bryan - good hint. Do you have seen this issue being related to the temporary files or is this a wild guess?

--

Michael

bpa
2008-12-15, 01:55
I think I have had the PDK problem when testing different versions of SC on Windows.

When testing Plugins I usually have different version of SC already installed in different directories - each with own Cache and Playlist setups. I run SC from a DOS box and so can quickly stop one version and start another (e.g. deleting prefs between runs to test pref initialisation and defaults) . Stopping one version and starting another quite quickly is similar to an upgrade process.

Occasionally if I stop a version and restart it or startup another version - it just hangs. Sometimes there is a message about mysql. Things seems to be get behave better if I get rid of the PDK files - however it is not conclusive.

Possibly a separate issue - from other user reporting problems on AlienBBC - sometimes a reboot not just a SC restart is needed before updates tales place. This has happened too often to be a coincidence - so there is also some Windows caching issue - perhaps there is a combined issues of PDK caching and Windows caching.

Perhaps the SC installer/upgrade process should explicitly
- clear out PDK files from Temp.
- clear out all SC caches ( e.g. templates, file and string cache) but not Favorites and Database.

sachadog
2008-12-15, 03:14
Hi
I just want to add my little bit! I have updated to 7.3 on my Tranquil W.H.S. The whole installation has gone belly up. My SB3s won't connect to my server. They appear to work, momentarily you see "Free My Music" and then it all disappears. My Duet won't work either, the same appears on the LCD screen. My server is constantly working in the background and I don't know why.
The download took ages and was very slow.
Can someone point me in the direction of the previous version, so that I can re-install that. It looks like I am going to have to completely remove 7.3 from my server and start all over again which is very frustrating.

mherger
2008-12-15, 03:50
> Perhaps the SC installer/upgrade process should explicitly
> - clear out PDK files from Temp.
> - clear out all SC caches ( e.g. templates, file and string cache) but
> not Favorites and Database.

Would you mind posting a bug? I think we should take the caching out of the binary. It doesn't add that much to the performance (after all most of us start the task once a day) and has repeatedly lead to problems. Thanks!

--

Michael

sachadog
2008-12-15, 05:27
Hello Michael,
I have actually got 7.3 working on the third attempt. I tried twice to do an upgrade, but on each occasion the same problems were caused.
I eventually decided to clear out the entire SqueezeCenter installs, do a CCleaner, severel times to clear the server registry and carry out a clean install.
I would have sent error report, but I have had difficulties with my server in the past and I didn't want to tempt providence in messing around with something I really don't understand!
It means of course I now have to reset everything, but in due course I hope all will be well.
Regards
Dave M