PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Possible bug, or am I being think?



Jim Willsher
2004-04-22, 02:14
Hi all,

I'm a newbie with Slim - up and running for only two days!

A possible bug:

1) On Windows (and possibly others) you can change the Skin. I've changed it something like TagPad or a similar name. But as soon as you do that you can never change it back! The "Slim Server Options" screen under this skin just tells you the version number and not any of the configuarion options. The only way I could revert back was to hack the .prefs file.

Am I doing something wrong?



Jim Willsher

Andrew Lee
2004-04-22, 03:39
On Thu, 22 Apr 2004 10:14:00 +0100, "Jim Willsher"
<jim (AT) jimwillsher (DOT) co.uk> said:
> A possible bug:
>
> 1) On Windows (and possibly others) you can change the Skin. I've
> changed it something like TagPad or a similar name. But as soon as
> you do that you can never change it back! The "Slim Server Options"
> screen under this skin just tells you the version number and not any
> of the configuarion options. The only way I could revert back was to
> hack the .prefs file.
>
> Am I doing something wrong?

You are not doing anything wrong. Some skin authors choose not to
include the links to the server settings in their skins, or if they are
present the links are sometimes hard to find.

An alternative to hand editting the preferences file is to use a URL
which specifies the skin to use. To use the default skin go to:

http://YourServerAddress:9000/Default/

NOTE: The trailling slash is important and must be included.

From there you can choose the 'Server Settings' and then 'Additional
Server Settings' to change the configured skin.

Best regards,


Andrew

John Gorst
2004-04-22, 07:48
Jim Willsher wrote:

> Hi all,
>
> I'm a newbie with Slim - up and running for only two days!
>
> A possible bug:
>
> 1) On Windows (and possibly others) you can change the Skin. I've changed it something like TagPad or a similar name. But as soon as you do that you can never change it back! The "Slim Server Options" screen under this skin just tells you the version number and not any of the configuarion options. The only way I could revert back was to hack the .prefs file.
>
> Am I doing something wrong?

Does a slimserver restart sort out the porblem (temporarily)? If so this
sounds like a similar problem I have described with the latest release
elsewhere (although I have only noticed it whilst using the nightly update).