PDA

View Full Version : Idle Power Off SB3



JadeMonkee
2008-12-08, 22:02
Hi there,
I was wondering if there was any way to have the Squeezebox (I have a classic) turn off after a period of inactivity (no interaction with the player for 10 minutes when in stop mode), or when the playlist finishes?
I would have thought that it would just be an option in SqueezeCenter, or as part of the sleep mode.
I don't think this should be a function left up to a plugin.
Any help is appreciated.
Cheers.

amcluesent
2008-12-08, 23:17
Don't think so, they draw less than 10W when stopped/playing/whatever and are never really 'off', always chatting to the SqueezeCenter.

snarlydwarf
2008-12-08, 23:22
Hi there,
I was wondering if there was any way to have the Squeezebox (I have a classic) turn off after a period of inactivity (no interaction with the player for 10 minutes when in stop mode), or when the playlist finishes?
I would have thought that it would just be an option in SqueezeCenter, or as part of the sleep mode.
I don't think this should be a function left up to a plugin.
Any help is appreciated.
Cheers.

Squeezeboxes never go off unless you unplug them. (Ie, the IR receiver must be watching for IR codes and the LAN/Wireless have to look for thing addressed to the player or it will never turn back on.)

There are, however, 3 Screensavers:
1) While playing music
2) While stopped
3) While "off"

Note that "off" is really a misnomer since displaying something means it isnt REALLY off.

If you set the "off" screensaver to "None" that will probably be the effect you want.

michel
2008-12-08, 23:54
When 'off' the PC hosting SqueezeCenter will go to standby if configured that way.

peter
2008-12-09, 00:58
JadeMonkee wrote:
> Hi there,
> I was wondering if there was any way to have the Squeezebox (I have a
> classic) turn off after a period of inactivity (no interaction with the
> player for 10 minutes when in stop mode), or when the playlist
> finishes?
> I would have thought that it would just be an option in SqueezeCenter,
> or as part of the sleep mode.
> I don't think this should be a function left up to a plugin.

Well, there is a PowerSave plugin that turns off (off=standby) your SB
after inactivity.

http://ultratrendy.com:31888/slim/

I use it a lot, it's very convenient especially because my active
monitors are switched off automatically with powerswitch (another plugin).

Regards,
Peter

epoch1970
2008-12-09, 04:13
and/or have a look at srvPowerControl plugin: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=48521

peter
2008-12-09, 04:49
epoch1970 wrote:
> and/or have a look at srvPowerControl plugin:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=48521
>

Nah, servers should be on.
Screw the environment. ;)

X.

epoch1970
2008-12-09, 04:58
epoch1970 wrote:
> and/or have a look at srvPowerControl plugin:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=48521
>
Screw the environment. ;)
X.
Already started...

JadeMonkee
2008-12-09, 05:50
Well, there is a PowerSave plugin that turns off (off=standby) your SB
after inactivity.

http://ultratrendy.com:31888/slim/

I use it a lot, it's very convenient especially because my active
monitors are switched off automatically with powerswitch (another plugin).

Regards,
Peter

This is what I want. I guess I just thought it would be built into SC by default.
I also understand that--power wise--there really is no difference between "on" and "off" modes.
I'm also hoping to have my speakers power down when the SB3 turns off, so this is one reason I was looking for this functionality. The other reason is that I have the display set to 0 brightness in off mode, so when going to sleep this is better for me.
I shall look into that plugin (but I'll probably wait for 7.3, coz I'm not sure I can be bothered using SSH to update a plugin on my ReadyNAS, when 7.3 will allow me to install from the UI).
Thanks all for your help.

EDIT: As a temp solution (rather than installing the PowerSave plugin), I have set the "stop" screensaver to none. That way I don't need to worry about the player turning off, and I can still have the weather displayed by simply hitting power, and moving it to the "off" state (which has the SuperDateTime screensaver).
Of course this all goes out the window when (if) I do set my monitors to turn off with my SB3, but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it...

EDIT2: Ha! No, I'm wrong. The "none" screensaver isn't actually a blank screen, it just doesn't activate the screensaver, so my temp solution isn't a solution at all. Looks like I will be installing a plugin, after all.