PDA

View Full Version : My streaming got weird!



Roy M. Silvernail
2004-04-20, 16:06
5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
of course, on the SB and S3.

Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

kdf
2004-04-20, 16:26
Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:

> 5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
> aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
> as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
> http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
> iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
> of course, on the SB and S3.
>
> Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.

Once you've got xmms connected, go into player settings and change the Maximum
Transcode Bitrate to somethign acceptable for your connection. Earlier versions
of the server had a hardcoded 96kbps in convert.conf, but it now uses this
setting. Its default is 320kbps.
-kdf

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-04-20, 17:21
On Tue, 2004-04-20 at 19:26, kdf wrote:
> Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:
>
> > 5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
> > aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
> > as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
> > http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
> > iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
> > of course, on the SB and S3.
> >
> > Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.
>
> Once you've got xmms connected, go into player settings and change the Maximum
> Transcode Bitrate to somethign acceptable for your connection. Earlier versions
> of the server had a hardcoded 96kbps in convert.conf, but it now uses this
> setting. Its default is 320kbps.

Actually, I tried http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3?bitrate=64 (and 96, 256
and 320) with similar results on all of them (though less noticable on
the 64kbps stream). The connection is local (i.e. same machine), so I
would expect to handle 320 with ease (and in fact, it used to do just
that). But not being one to shun good debugging advice, I just tried
setting the max transcode rate to 128. XMMS shows a 128 kbps stream
coming in, and there's no relief. I still get the choppy playback. :(
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

Mark Murray
2004-04-20, 17:24
kdf wrote:
> Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:
>
>
>>5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
>>aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
>>as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
>>http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
>>iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
>>of course, on the SB and S3.
>>
>>Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.
>
>
> Once you've got xmms connected, go into player settings and change the Maximum
> Transcode Bitrate to somethign acceptable for your connection. Earlier versions
> of the server had a hardcoded 96kbps in convert.conf, but it now uses this
> setting. Its default is 320kbps.
> -kdf
I'm having the same problem. Did not have this problem with 5.1.1. I'm
using XMMS in Linux. In 5.1.1, when I stream an mp3 encoded with lame
--preset extreme, I can see the bitrate going up to 320 like I should,
with no skipping. 5.1.3 and 5.1.4 both introduced this problem for me.
I shouldn't have to transcode anything as I'm just streaming it from
my server, in my house, over my 802.11b link. I can stream it with Zina
( a web based music server run over Apache) with no problems or even
play them directly over SAMBA (windows networking). Further, just for
kicks, I set the transcoding to 40kbps, which should have been way low
enough, and still experienced the skipping (not that I would find any
amount of transcoding acceptable, anyway).

Anyone have any ideas?

Mark Murray

kdf
2004-04-20, 17:42
Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:

> On Tue, 2004-04-20 at 19:26, kdf wrote:
> > Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:
> >
> > > 5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
> > > aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
> > > as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
> > > http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
> > > iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
> > > of course, on the SB and S3.
> > >
> > > Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.
> >
> > Once you've got xmms connected, go into player settings and change the
> Maximum
> > Transcode Bitrate to somethign acceptable for your connection. Earlier
> versions
> > of the server had a hardcoded 96kbps in convert.conf, but it now uses this
> > setting. Its default is 320kbps.
>
> Actually, I tried http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3?bitrate=64 (and 96, 256
> and 320) with similar results on all of them (though less noticable on
> the 64kbps stream). The connection is local (i.e. same machine), so I
> would expect to handle 320 with ease (and in fact, it used to do just
> that). But not being one to shun good debugging advice, I just tried
> setting the max transcode rate to 128. XMMS shows a 128 kbps stream
> coming in, and there's no relief. I still get the choppy playback. :(

hmm...only other thing I can think of that's recent is that the convert.conf
makes sure lame resamples to 44100Hz. Is LAME taking up more than the expected
amount of cpu time?

running the server manually, using --d_source might also shed some light, perhaps.

-kdf

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-04-20, 18:45
On Tue, 2004-04-20 at 20:42, kdf wrote:
> Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:

> > Actually, I tried http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3?bitrate=64 (and 96, 256
> > and 320) with similar results on all of them (though less noticable on
> > the 64kbps stream). The connection is local (i.e. same machine), so I
> > would expect to handle 320 with ease (and in fact, it used to do just
> > that). But not being one to shun good debugging advice, I just tried
> > setting the max transcode rate to 128. XMMS shows a 128 kbps stream
> > coming in, and there's no relief. I still get the choppy playback. :(
>
> hmm...only other thing I can think of that's recent is that the convert.conf
> makes sure lame resamples to 44100Hz. Is LAME taking up more than the expected
> amount of cpu time?

It's taking about 12.5%, but my whole load is only 15%. Tried pulling
the resample out of the 'downsample' lame command in convert.conf, but
got the same effect.

> running the server manually, using --d_source might also shed some light, perhaps.

I didn't see anything suspicious, but I'm attaching a test run in case I
missed something.

--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

kdf
2004-04-20, 19:12
not much in that log that helps, sadly. All I can tell is that it would seem to
be just fine, playing untouched as mp3 256kbps.
-kdf

Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:

> On Tue, 2004-04-20 at 20:42, kdf wrote:
> > Quoting "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com>:
>
> > > Actually, I tried http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3?bitrate=64 (and 96, 256
> > > and 320) with similar results on all of them (though less noticable on
> > > the 64kbps stream). The connection is local (i.e. same machine), so I
> > > would expect to handle 320 with ease (and in fact, it used to do just
> > > that). But not being one to shun good debugging advice, I just tried
> > > setting the max transcode rate to 128. XMMS shows a 128 kbps stream
> > > coming in, and there's no relief. I still get the choppy playback. :(
> >
> > hmm...only other thing I can think of that's recent is that the
> convert.conf
> > makes sure lame resamples to 44100Hz. Is LAME taking up more than the
> expected
> > amount of cpu time?
>
> It's taking about 12.5%, but my whole load is only 15%. Tried pulling
> the resample out of the 'downsample' lame command in convert.conf, but
> got the same effect.
>
> > running the server manually, using --d_source might also shed some light,
> perhaps.
>
> I didn't see anything suspicious, but I'm attaching a test run in case I
> missed something.
>
> --
> Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
> Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
> SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
> http://www.rant-central.com
>
>

michael
2004-04-22, 15:13
I just installed 5.1.5 (upgrading from 5.1.1) and ran into this same
problem. I just filed bug # 273 to track this, if you're interested.

-michael
--
"What are we doing tonight, Brain?"
"Same thing we do every night, Pinky. Try to take over the world!"


"Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com> writes:
> 5.1.4 suddenly does weird things when I try using the web stream. I
> aimed XMMS at http://127.0.0.1/stream.mp3 and the playback is broken up,
> as though chunks are missing. For a sample, check out
> http://www.rant-central.com/result01.mp3 which I recorded with my trusty
> iRiver MP3 recorder. This same track plays fine with SoftSqueeze and,
> of course, on the SB and S3.
>
> Any ideas? The streaming function used to work perfectly.

Adam Hirsch
2004-04-23, 19:59
michael (michael (AT) fallenangel (DOT) com) wrote:

> I just installed 5.1.5 (upgrading from 5.1.1) and ran into this same
> problem. I just filed bug # 273 to track this, if you're interested.

I'll add another voice to this bug -- seemingly only xmms on linux is
affected. iTunes on the Mac at my right-hand plays smoothly, but the linux
box does not. It's weird.

Adam

--
I'll tell you something honestly about drugs. Honestly - and I know it's not
a very popular idea. You don't hear it very often any more. But it is the
truth: I had a great time doing drugs. Never murdered anyone, never robbed
anyone, never raped anyone, never beat anyone, never lost a job, a car, a
house, a wife, or kids. Laughed my ass off, and went about my day. -B. Hicks
<adam (AT) baz (DOT) org> adam hirsch <http://web.baz.org/~adam/>

michael
2004-04-25, 22:34
I've seen this outside of xmms (mpg123 for example, exhibits the same
problem).
I only have linux boxes around to test with, so it may be unique to
linux somehow.

-michael
--
"What are we doing tonight, Brain?"
"Same thing we do every night, Pinky. Try to take over the world!"


Adam Hirsch <slimserver (AT) quakerporn (DOT) com> writes:
> michael (michael (AT) fallenangel (DOT) com) wrote:
>
>> I just installed 5.1.5 (upgrading from 5.1.1) and ran into this same
>> problem. I just filed bug # 273 to track this, if you're interested.
>
> I'll add another voice to this bug -- seemingly only xmms on linux is
> affected. iTunes on the Mac at my right-hand plays smoothly, but the linux
> box does not. It's weird.
>
> Adam