PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze & Password Protection



Thomas B. Malsbury
2004-04-20, 08:52
I thought that the username and password of the SlimServer was supported with SoftSqueeze? I seem to be able to connect to my server even though I now have enabled the username and password for the server. I am only prompted for the username and password when using the web interface.

Is the server only checking traffic on 9000 because all traffic on 3483 has historically been a local hardware player? With the advent of SoftSqueeze this is no longer the case.

If I am overlooking something simple please let me know, otherwise I think this is something that will need to be addressed.

-Tom

rtitmuss
2004-04-20, 09:12
Tom,

As you guessed the slim server does not use password protection on port
3483. It is only the web server on port 9000 that requires your
username/password. To let the squeezebox/softsqueeze stream the music from
the web server a one time use password is sent to the player with the play
command.

It is not recommended to use the slim server on an unprotected network. If
you want to use softsqueeze to listen to your music over a broadband link
you would be recommended to use a VPN or ssh tunnelling.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Thomas B. Malsbury" <slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org>
To: "SlimDevices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 4:52 PM
Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze & Password Protection


I thought that the username and password of the SlimServer was supported
with SoftSqueeze? I seem to be able to connect to my server even though I
now have enabled the username and password for the server. I am only
prompted for the username and password when using the web interface.

Is the server only checking traffic on 9000 because all traffic on 3483 has
historically been a local hardware player? With the advent of SoftSqueeze
this is no longer the case.

If I am overlooking something simple please let me know, otherwise I think
this is something that will need to be addressed.

-Tom



----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----


>

Thomas B. Malsbury
2004-04-20, 12:21
Richard,

I have only briefly looked into this, but would it be possible to
incorporate something like:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/jsectunneling/
or
http://sourceforge.net/projects/jsch/

into SoftSqueeze to automatically connect to an SSH server running on the
same machine as SlimServer?

Like I have discussed with you before, I am trying to get this down to a one
to two click application for some not so tech savvy friends and family
members to be able to navigate. They were fine with entering the username
and password for the web stream. If we could get it so that SoftSqueeze
could request the same and automatically use that to set up a SSH tunnel to
use I think that would be the best possible solution. But to be honest, I
don't know if this is an application you ever envisioned SoftSqueeze
filling, so I understand if this doesn't make it to the to-do list.

-Tom

----- Original Message -----
From: "Richard Titmuss" <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 12:12 PM
Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze & Password Protection


>
> It is not recommended to use the slim server on an unprotected network. If
> you want to use softsqueeze to listen to your music over a broadband link
> you would be recommended to use a VPN or ssh tunnelling.
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>

rtitmuss
2004-04-20, 13:48
Tom,

I think this should not be to hard to do - and I would find it useful
myself. Consider it on the to-do list ;)

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Thomas B. Malsbury" <slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 8:21 PM
Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze & Password Protection


> Richard,
>
> I have only briefly looked into this, but would it be possible to
> incorporate something like:
>
> https://sourceforge.net/projects/jsectunneling/
> or
> http://sourceforge.net/projects/jsch/
>
> into SoftSqueeze to automatically connect to an SSH server running on the
> same machine as SlimServer?
>
> Like I have discussed with you before, I am trying to get this down to a
one
> to two click application for some not so tech savvy friends and family
> members to be able to navigate. They were fine with entering the username
> and password for the web stream. If we could get it so that SoftSqueeze
> could request the same and automatically use that to set up a SSH tunnel
to
> use I think that would be the best possible solution. But to be honest, I
> don't know if this is an application you ever envisioned SoftSqueeze
> filling, so I understand if this doesn't make it to the to-do list.
>
> -Tom
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Richard Titmuss" <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 12:12 PM
> Subject: [slim] SoftSqueeze & Password Protection
>
>
> >
> > It is not recommended to use the slim server on an unprotected network.
If
> > you want to use softsqueeze to listen to your music over a broadband
link
> > you would be recommended to use a VPN or ssh tunnelling.
> >
> > Regards,
> > Richard
> >
> >
>
>
>
>

Karl Auer
2004-04-25, 11:54
Forgive me if these have been reported already. I took one look at bugzilla and, well....

On Linux (SuSE 8.0, kernel 2.4.18) with slimserver 5.1.4 and 5.1.5, NOT serving any music, just having the server running, results in a crash (server stops running, terminates) in less than two hours. I will play with debug options to narrow this down a bit if that would help, but if the problem is already well known, I won't bother.

I can repeatably cause stuttering in SoftSqueeze 0.4a. It sounds for all the world like it's playing everything twice in very short slices, the second time a shade behind the first. The piece remains recognisable, and completes in the correct time. This doesn't happen with my Slimp3, and I can exacerbate the problem by occupying SoftSqueeze (eg by moving the window around so it repaints all the time), so is almost certainly a SoftSqueeze issue. However, this problem did NOT occur with 5.1.3. The laptop softsqueeze is on has more than enough grunt, it isn't a hardware performance issue. Streaming music to XMMS doesn't stutter.

With 5.1.4 and 5.1.5, the Fishbone button graphics don't display in Konqueror 3.1.4. Not a worldshaking problem, just thought I'd mention it. In Mozilla everything looks fine.

And none of this happens on 4.2.1 :-) I only upgraded for softsqueeze....

For what it's worth...

Regards, K.


--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

rtitmuss
2004-04-26, 05:41
Hi Karl,

Are you still having problems with the audio playback using SoftSqueeze? I
was wondering if solving the permission problems with the server had also
fixed the playback. If not could you check the cpu usage during playback, as
the problem becomes worse when you drag the window it does sound like a
resource conflict issue. It would be useful to know what format music you
are using (e.g. mp3/flac/etc), and if this happens with all tracks or just
some.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Karl Auer" <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, April 25, 2004 7:54 PM
Subject: [slim] sort of issues with slimserver 5.1[45] and/or softsqueeze
0.4a


> Forgive me if these have been reported already. I took one look at
bugzilla and, well....
>
> On Linux (SuSE 8.0, kernel 2.4.18) with slimserver 5.1.4 and 5.1.5, NOT
serving any music, just having the server running, results in a crash
(server stops running, terminates) in less than two hours. I will play with
debug options to narrow this down a bit if that would help, but if the
problem is already well known, I won't bother.
>
> I can repeatably cause stuttering in SoftSqueeze 0.4a. It sounds for all
the world like it's playing everything twice in very short slices, the
second time a shade behind the first. The piece remains recognisable, and
completes in the correct time. This doesn't happen with my Slimp3, and I can
exacerbate the problem by occupying SoftSqueeze (eg by moving the window
around so it repaints all the time), so is almost certainly a SoftSqueeze
issue. However, this problem did NOT occur with 5.1.3. The laptop
softsqueeze is on has more than enough grunt, it isn't a hardware
performance issue. Streaming music to XMMS doesn't stutter.
>
> With 5.1.4 and 5.1.5, the Fishbone button graphics don't display in
Konqueror 3.1.4. Not a worldshaking problem, just thought I'd mention it. In
Mozilla everything looks fine.
>
> And none of this happens on 4.2.1 :-) I only upgraded for softsqueeze....
>
> For what it's worth...
>
> Regards, K.
>
>
> --
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
> http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)
>

Karl Auer
2004-05-02, 09:34
Linux SuSE 9.0, Slimp3, SlimServer 5.1.5, latest Shoutcast.pm.

When I choose a Shoutcast stream, the server dies.

In all other respects, the system behaves itself.

Ideas.

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

Jack Coates
2004-05-02, 15:51
On Sun, 2004-05-02 at 09:34, Karl Auer wrote:
> Linux SuSE 9.0, Slimp3, SlimServer 5.1.5, latest Shoutcast.pm.
>
> When I choose a Shoutcast stream, the server dies.
>

Have you looked in the logfile? /tmp/slimserver.log. I had a similar
problem last night, it's because the /usr/local/slimserver directory is
owned by root instead of owned by slimserver. chown will fix it right
up.

> In all other respects, the system behaves itself.
>
> Ideas.
>
> Regards, K.
>
> --
> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
> Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
> http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)
>

Karl Auer
2004-05-03, 15:13
Hi there.

Just tried the nightly version, obtained with CVS. Running it ("perl -w slimserver.pl") results in this:

Time::HiRes object version 01.20 does not match bootstrap parameter 01.01 at /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.1/i586-linux/DynaLoader.pm line 225.
Compilation failed in require at slimserver.pl line 91.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at slimserver.pl line 91.

Is there a quick fix? 5.1.5 works fine.

Regards, K.

PS: Linux, SuSE 9.0, Slimserver 5.1.6 picked up at about midnight CET via CVS.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

kdf
2004-05-03, 15:25
Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:

> Hi there.
>
> Just tried the nightly version, obtained with CVS. Running it ("perl -w
> slimserver.pl") results in this:
>
> Time::HiRes object version 01.20 does not match bootstrap parameter 01.01 at
> /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.1/i586-linux/DynaLoader.pm line 225.
> Compilation failed in require at slimserver.pl line 91.
> BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at slimserver.pl line 91.
>
>
recent CVS reorganised the files in the CPAN subdir. If you are using CVS, you
will need to rm -r CPAN and then do a cvs update -d to get rid of all the old
structure.

I suggest joinging the checkins list so that you get instructions like this when
the changes are made.

-kdf

Karl Auer
2004-05-03, 16:17
> recent CVS reorganised the files in the CPAN subdir. If you are using CVS, you
> will need to rm -r CPAN and then do a cvs update -d to get rid of all the old
> structure.

This downloaded CVS version is in a virgin subdirectory (i.e., it isn't an update as such, it's the lot). Does your advice still hold under those circumstances?

> I suggest joinging the checkins list so that you get instructions like this when
> the changes are made.

I'll look at the archive. Thanks!

Regards, K.


--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

kdf
2004-05-03, 16:30
Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:

> > recent CVS reorganised the files in the CPAN subdir. If you are using CVS,
> you
> > will need to rm -r CPAN and then do a cvs update -d to get rid of all the
> old
> > structure.
>
> This downloaded CVS version is in a virgin subdirectory (i.e., it isn't an
> update as such, it's the lot). Does your advice still hold under those
> circumstances?

hard to say. could something be linking back to the previous checkout/install?
The error does point to some sort of conflicting versions. The CPAN subdir
structure is simply the most obvious culprit.

-kdf

Karl Auer
2004-05-04, 04:25
On Mon, 03 May 2004 16:30:55 -0700, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:
> > This downloaded CVS version is in a virgin subdirectory (i.e., it isn't an
> > update as such, it's the lot). Does your advice still hold under those
> > circumstances?
>
> hard to say. could something be linking back to the previous checkout/install?
> The error does point to some sort of conflicting versions. The CPAN subdir
> structure is simply the most obvious culprit.

Um, I misled you. The install (which worked with 5.1.5, remember) is on a machine with SuSE 8.0.not 9.0. And the version of perl there is 5.6.1. On another machine, the exact same install works; that's with 5.8.1.

Could this be (part of) the problem?

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

kdf
2004-05-04, 09:14
Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:

> On Mon, 03 May 2004 16:30:55 -0700, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:
> > > This downloaded CVS version is in a virgin subdirectory (i.e., it isn't
> an
> > > update as such, it's the lot). Does your advice still hold under those
> > > circumstances?
> >
> > hard to say. could something be linking back to the previous
> checkout/install?
> > The error does point to some sort of conflicting versions. The CPAN
> subdir
> > structure is simply the most obvious culprit.
>
> Um, I misled you. The install (which worked with 5.1.5, remember) is on a
> machine with SuSE 8.0.not 9.0. And the version of perl there is 5.6.1. On
> another machine, the exact same install works; that's with 5.8.1.
>
slimserver is supposed to work with 5.6.1, but unfortunately as of late, its not
playing well with it.

-kdf

Karl Auer
2004-05-04, 11:36
With the latest CVS (~20:00 CET), virgin install, I still have the identical problem with perl 5.6, namely the error message in the subject line.

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

dean
2004-05-04, 12:51
On May 3, 2004, at 3:25 PM, kdf wrote:

> Quoting Karl Auer <kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au>:
>
>> Hi there.
>>
>> Just tried the nightly version, obtained with CVS. Running it ("perl
>> -w
>> slimserver.pl") results in this:
>>
>> Time::HiRes object version 01.20 does not match bootstrap parameter
>> 01.01 at
>> /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.1/i586-linux/DynaLoader.pm line 225.
>> Compilation failed in require at slimserver.pl line 91.
>> BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at slimserver.pl line 91.
>>
>>
> recent CVS reorganised the files in the CPAN subdir. If you are using
> CVS, you
> will need to rm -r CPAN and then do a cvs update -d to get rid of all
> the old
> structure.

Actually, the reorganization is the problem, but that won't fix it.
The Time::HiRes.pm file you needed had a bad version number in it.

I've just checked in a fix. Can you update and try the latest in CVS?

Thanks,

dean

Karl Auer
2004-05-04, 15:39
On Tue, 4 May 2004 12:51:48 -0700, dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> Actually, the reorganization is the problem, but that won't fix it.
> The Time::HiRes.pm file you needed had a bad version number in it.
>
> I've just checked in a fix. Can you update and try the latest in CVS?

That fixed that problem. Thanks!

It appears that caching now uses a directory called "Cache" which is by default below the install directory. Anyway, nothing AT ALL on my system is writable by the slimserver user except the config file and the playlists directory (and the log of course), so the server dies again as soon as it tries to write the cache directory.

Can I strongly suggest that a failure to write to cache be treated as non-fatal, and that it just generate a warning? A warning in the web interface would be nice ("You have caching turned on, but the cache directory (/path/to/cache) is not writable, so caching has been disabled").

For the moment, I've given the slimserver user write access to the Cache directory. There's no obvious place to set the cache location, but that would be useful.

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

Karl Auer
2004-05-04, 15:55
I don't use the alarm clock, but I do like a fast scroll and a short scroll pause. When I set the scroll pause time, an error message appeared saying the alarm clock volume was invalid (it was empty) but I hadn't pressed "Change" in that section. This is with the Fishbone skin, CVS version from around 00:30 CET on 5.5.2004.

Just cosmetic, I think.

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

Healy
2004-05-05, 14:14
> Actually, the reorganization is the problem, but that won't fix it.
> The Time::HiRes.pm file you needed had a bad version number in it.
>
> I've just checked in a fix. Can you update and try the latest in CVS?
>
> Thanks,
>
> dean
>

A brand new cvs co gets the same error for me. Using perl 5.6.1

Healy
2004-05-05, 14:20
Nevermind, being an idiot. Sorry for the noise.

On Wed, 2004-05-05 at 14:14, Healy wrote:
> > Actually, the reorganization is the problem, but that won't fix it.
> > The Time::HiRes.pm file you needed had a bad version number in it.
> >
> > I've just checked in a fix. Can you update and try the latest in CVS?
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > dean
> >
>
> A brand new cvs co gets the same error for me. Using perl 5.6.1
>
>
>
>
>