PDA

View Full Version : No wireless allowed (radio off possible?)



pbw
2008-12-01, 12:41
Hi,

I want to use a Boom at work, but security policies don't allow me to use WAN or WIFI. Is it possible to switch off the WIFI radio in the Boom so I can use the wired ethernet connection only?

I understand these devices (except for the fancy remote controller ) work without WAN, but I don't want the Boom to act as some kind of WAN router or bridge so the WIFI radio may not transmit any signal.

Ciao,
pbw

kdf
2008-12-01, 12:47
>
> Hi,
>
> I want to use a Boom at work, but security policies don't allow me to
> use WAN or WIFI. Is it possible to switch off the WIFI radio in the
> Boom so I can use the wired ethernet connection only?

During the device setup, if you choose to connect via Ethernet, then the
wireless card is shut off until you request otherwise.

-kdf

Mark Lanctot
2008-12-01, 12:48
Yes, if you set it up to use the wired connection, the wireless module is turned off.

funkstar
2008-12-01, 14:02
Oh, just a little nit pick, but WAN is Wide Area Network, generally meaning the internet, has nothing do to with wireless specifically :)

pbw
2008-12-01, 14:24
Thanks Mark and kdf for your fast response! I'll buy a Boom tomorrow and put the software on the company Synology NAS. They are not so strict about that!

At home I use SonoS, but those transmitters can not be disabled.

@funkstar: you're right, I missed the L for WLAN! I need a good book with acronyms I guess ;-)