PDA

View Full Version : How to make 'stopped' radio station to 'autorestart' ?



zorglups
2008-11-28, 13:03
Hi,

I'm enjoying my SB3 for a few week and eventually convinced my wife to start loving it as well...

Unfortunately her favorite radio station sporadically stops playing.
The screen of the SB3 shows 'stopped' so I believe something happened to the stream.

Isn't it easy to figure out that the stream stopped 'not because I stopped on the stop button' and therefore have the SB3 restart the stream automagically ?

My wife wouldn't have the time to notice the hiccup and I could finally trow away my dust taking FMradio wasting space on the shelf.

Maybe a plugin does this already ?

Thanks,

Pierre.

yeomanspc
2008-11-28, 15:38
From a while back I recall that if you created a play list with 2 entries for your favorite radio station, and set the list to repeat, then when one entry 'stopped', it would move to the next. With repeat on the playlist, it just cycles round. Not sure if it works now though.. I gues it depends on why the player is going to a 'stopped' state.

Millwood
2008-11-28, 16:37
I've had a bug open on this for a while:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3161

You could vote for it, but so far I don't see much enthusiasm for a real solution.

AFAIK, the trouble with the repeat mode ideas is that the mode is global, not the property of a playlist, and I don't want to be in repeat mode in general.

JJZolx
2008-11-28, 22:13
AFAIK, the trouble with the repeat mode ideas is that the mode is global, not the property of a playlist, and I don't want to be in repeat mode in general.

I hear you. Repeat mode has been used to kludge continuous play in a couple of other things, like Slacker. SqueezeCenter seems remarkably incapable of keeping track of the mode and I'm constantly finding my players left in some state of repeat, even though I never explicitly use it.

funkstar
2008-11-29, 12:18
You could vote for it, but so far I don't see much enthusiasm for a real solution.
Voted. It does annoy me quite a lot.

Mnyb
2008-11-29, 13:22
Voted to... i'm gona use the playlist kludge in the meantime , which is worse then the suggested fix in the bug, it would be better for us and the stations if some kind of intelligent logic (not the frustrated user ) would retry in a decent manner ;-)

auronthas
2008-11-29, 14:38
Just sent my vote. Face the same problem having radio stream stopped without rebuffering.

Howard Passman
2008-11-29, 14:43
I think if more folks were made aware they would vote. It is aggravating.

Howard

y360
2008-11-29, 23:47
I have encountered this as well.
I suppose some radio stations are trying to cut down on bandwidth by having a timeout

zorglups
2008-12-03, 17:23
Thanks a lot for all replies. I did vote for the bug as well.
I will try the 'repeat' mode trick.

minky
2009-06-02, 00:23
I have the same problem.

Using Squeezebox Boom over wifi, internet music randomly stops (last.fm, internet radio). I don't have this when playing from my library.

SC is 7.3.2 on Fedora 10, wired connection.

A reconnect on stop would be great. Have voted for the bug.

Any other workarounds?

toby10
2009-06-02, 03:40
I have the same problem.

Using Squeezebox Boom over wifi, internet music randomly stops (last.fm, internet radio). I don't have this when playing from my library.

SC is 7.3.2 on Fedora 10, wired connection.

A reconnect on stop would be great. Have voted for the bug.

Any other workarounds?

Once the station is playing add the same station again to the Playlist. When stream one stops SC will automatically start playing the next item in your Playlist which is the same station again.
If the second stream stops SC will go back to stream one.

These streams in your Playlist will be removed automatically when you choose Play of a different stream.

morris_minor
2009-06-02, 05:26
Voted . . thanks for the heads up.

Bob

minky
2009-06-10, 14:56
So having read many posts on this it looks like wifi connectivity is a significant cause so I set about making some changes.

In the end, two changes to my wifi setup sorted out my internet radio drops

1) Change the wifi mode on the router to G only (previously was mixed b/g)
2) Change the wifi channel from 11 to 13 (13 is rarely used apparantly)

Since making these changes on the router I have had hours of continuous internet radio and last.fm playing.

The SB3, SBC and SBB both picked up the change wifi network without needing anything doing to them - great!

jrichardson
2009-06-10, 15:13
There is a bug open on this now, see it, read it, vote on it

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3161