PDA

View Full Version : Problem loading V2x firmware



Robert Wallace
2004-04-19, 16:53
Jonathan,

Thanks for your reply. I've tried it on my only other machine with the same
results. I was thinking: Perhaps I have an XP service disabled that the
updater is expecting to be running. I disabled quite a few processes based
on www.blackviper.com . While I haven't had any problems with my machines
or my LAN from having the "unnecessary" services disabled, it could be
there's one that I didn't need until now. That might explain the situation
where one machine wouldn't load it and another one would.

Anyone know of a particular service that has to be running in XP in order
for the firmware updater to work correctly?

Robert

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Jonathan Statt
Sent: Sunday, April 18, 2004 9:35 PM
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Problem loading V2x firmware


Hi Robert,

I have had similar problems. I got to v.20 okay but then struggled to get to
v.21. Sean has said that it seems to be a Win XP issue. In the end I tried
running 3 different Win XP machines before I got one that worked!

On the first machine, I would get the update bar, but it would only progress
half way along then say it failed. On the second, the progress bar would
fill up completely but still say failed. On the third, it worked after a
second attempt. I tried start/stop service, reboot with the first two
machines many times, with no difference in behaviour.

If you have another machine to try, I would try that. Otherwise you may have
to wait for a cure to the update bug before trying again.

Regards,
Jonathan


-
Jonathan Statt

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Robert Wallace
Sent: 18 April 2004 23:15
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Problem loading V2x firmware

Hello,

I'm using my SqueezeBox wirelessly and I have the 5.1.3 server (Windows)
installed and my
SB "upgraded" to firmware V.10 without problems.

I decided to move up to the V.21 firmware and, from instructions in the
5.1.3 release notes,
uncommented the bottom two lines in the Firmware/squeezebox.version file.
When I restarted
SlimServer, my SB gave me the "Press and Hold Brightness..." message and I
did (though I always
seem to have to put my SB IP address into SlimServer.) Anyway, the SB and
server both announced
a sucessful update and the SB restarted and went through it's reattachment
to the server and went
back to the "Press and Hold Brightness..." message. I've been through the
several times and still
keep getting the "success" message, but no real update.

I recommented the squeezebox.version lines and my SB restarted normally (in
V.10) when the server
restarted.

So, is there some trick to getting the 20 or 21 firmware update to really
happen?

Thanks,

Robert Wallace

Mark McIntyre
2004-04-19, 17:19
Am now running 5.1.4 on OSX 3.3.

HOME says: Your music library contains 88 albums with 0 songs by 380 artists.

But when I go to playlist, all my previous playlists are listed but
the are empty.

I have reset the iTunes music location prefs.

Any further clues on how to get my playlists back?

Thanks,
Mark

P.s., why does PERL want to connect to www.seanadams.com when I start
up SLIMSERVER?


--
Mark McIntyre

http://www.markmcintyre.com
http://www,macofallarts.com
http://www.mcrumi.com

kdf
2004-04-19, 17:35
Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:

> Am now running 5.1.4 on OSX 3.3.
>
> HOME says: Your music library contains 88 albums with 0 songs by 380
> artists.
>
> But when I go to playlist, all my previous playlists are listed but
> the are empty.
>
> I have reset the iTunes music location prefs.
>
> Any further clues on how to get my playlists back?
>
> Thanks,
> Mark
>
> P.s., why does PERL want to connect to www.seanadams.com when I start
> up SLIMSERVER?

www.seanadams.com = www.slimdevices.com
server checks for updates to the server software when it starts.
to turn off - Server settings, Additional Server settings, Behavior, Software
Updates.

-kdf

Mark McIntyre
2004-04-19, 17:40
Thanks kdf.

ANy idea what i going on with the Playlist?



>Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:
>
>> Am now running 5.1.4 on OSX 3.3.
>>
>> HOME says: Your music library contains 88 albums with 0 songs by 380
>> artists.
>>
>> But when I go to playlist, all my previous playlists are listed but
>> the are empty.
>>
>> I have reset the iTunes music location prefs.
>>
>> Any further clues on how to get my playlists back?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Mark
>>
>> P.s., why does PERL want to connect to www.seanadams.com when I start
>> up SLIMSERVER?
>
>www.seanadams.com = www.slimdevices.com
>server checks for updates to the server software when it starts.
>to turn off - Server settings, Additional Server settings, Behavior, Software
>Updates.
>
>-kdf

kdf
2004-04-19, 21:21
Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:

> Thanks kdf.
>
> ANy idea what i going on with the Playlist?

the only thing I can think of is that changes in the database is causing
problems. It should have been fine. Maybe running the server from command line
adding --d_scan or --d_info will help give info on why they are blank. d_info
and d_scan will show you messages while the library is being loaded on startup.

-kdf

> >Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> Am now running 5.1.4 on OSX 3.3.
> >>
> >> HOME says: Your music library contains 88 albums with 0 songs by 380
> >> artists.
> >>
> >> But when I go to playlist, all my previous playlists are listed but
> >> the are empty.
> >>
> >> I have reset the iTunes music location prefs.
> >>
> >> Any further clues on how to get my playlists back?
> >>
> >> Thanks,
> >> Mark
> >>
> >> P.s., why does PERL want to connect to www.seanadams.com when I start
> >> up SLIMSERVER?
> >
> >www.seanadams.com = www.slimdevices.com
> >server checks for updates to the server software when it starts.
> >to turn off - Server settings, Additional Server settings, Behavior,
> Software
> >Updates.
> >
> >-kdf
>
>
>

Mark McIntyre
2004-04-19, 21:36
>Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:
>
>> Thanks kdf.
>>
>> ANy idea what i going on with the Playlist?
>
>the only thing I can think of is that changes in the database is causing
>problems. It should have been fine. Maybe running the server from
>command line
>adding --d_scan or --d_info will help give info on why they are blank. d_info
>and d_scan will show you messages while the library is being loaded
>on startup.
>
>-kdf


Thank s kdf.
Unfortunately, you've lost me from "command line..."

I did delete the iTunes playlist and recreated a new one. I've
trashed preferences for iTunes, Slimserver etc. Still no go. It sees
the albums, the artists, but no songs...but it will reveal and play
the songs if I do a browse. But not in the playlist...which makes
playing radio sites impossible, and albums extremely inconvenient.

Also wonder why the playlist is displaying the spaces in the
playlists titles as %20...e.g., itunesplaylist:Magnatune%20Classical
instead of Magnatune Classical.

Are other Mac OS 10.3.3 users with 5.1.4 not having the same problem?

Thanks for your efforts.
Again, great product.
Mark
--
Mark McIntyre

http://www.markmcintyre.com
http://www,macofallarts.com
http://www.mcrumi.com

804.539.1110

kdf
2004-04-19, 22:04
Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:

> >Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> Thanks kdf.
> >>
> >> ANy idea what i going on with the Playlist?
> >
> >the only thing I can think of is that changes in the database is causing
> >problems. It should have been fine. Maybe running the server from
> >command line
> >adding --d_scan or --d_info will help give info on why they are blank.
> d_info
> >and d_scan will show you messages while the library is being loaded
> >on startup.
> >
> >-kdf
>
>
> Thank s kdf.
> Unfortunately, you've lost me from "command line..."

:)

I think in OSX is called terminal?
you have to type slimserver.pl --d_info --d_scan
instead of clicking an icon :)
>
> I did delete the iTunes playlist and recreated a new one. I've
> trashed preferences for iTunes, Slimserver etc. Still no go. It sees
> the albums, the artists, but no songs...but it will reveal and play
> the songs if I do a browse. But not in the playlist...which makes
> playing radio sites impossible, and albums extremely inconvenient.
>
> Also wonder why the playlist is displaying the spaces in the
> playlists titles as %20...e.g., itunesplaylist:Magnatune%20Classical
> instead of Magnatune Classical.
>
> Are other Mac OS 10.3.3 users with 5.1.4 not having the same problem?

I'm a linux user, so I'm afraid I'm not much help, but I can say that I can see
the same problem when accessing the iTunes library under Linux. The playlists
are loaded, and the --d_itunes shows that a number of items are being read for
each playlist, but the browse shows nothing.

-kdf

Mark McIntyre
2004-04-19, 22:16
>I think in OSX is called terminal?
>you have to type slimserver.pl --d_info --d_scan
>instead of clicking an icon :)


OK. Followin ya now. Thanks.


> > Are other Mac OS 10.3.3 users with 5.1.4 not having the same problem?
>
>I'm a linux user, so I'm afraid I'm not much help, but I can say
>that I can see
>the same problem when accessing the iTunes library under Linux. The playlists
>are loaded, and the --d_itunes shows that a number of items are being read for
>each playlist, but the browse shows nothing.


ayep.

kdf
2004-04-20, 00:10
Best I can tell, this was working in the April 17 build, but not in April 18.
The differences between these two versions lead me to believe something in
Info.pm breaks the iTunes playlists. The rest of the changes have to do with
strings, client.pm, streams.pm, plugins.pm and source.pm. None of those tend to
have any affect on playlist information.

I'm still hunting. I'm surprised that Info.pm would have broken iTunes, but
something may turn up eventually.
-kdf

Quoting Mark McIntyre <squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com>:

> >I think in OSX is called terminal?
> >you have to type slimserver.pl --d_info --d_scan
> >instead of clicking an icon :)
>
>
> OK. Followin ya now. Thanks.
>
>
> > > Are other Mac OS 10.3.3 users with 5.1.4 not having the same problem?
> >
> >I'm a linux user, so I'm afraid I'm not much help, but I can say
> >that I can see
> >the same problem when accessing the iTunes library under Linux. The
> playlists
> >are loaded, and the --d_itunes shows that a number of items are being read
> for
> >each playlist, but the browse shows nothing.
>
>
> ayep.
>
>
>
>
>
>

Mark McIntyre
2004-04-20, 01:52
>Best I can tell, this was working in the April 17 build, but not in April 18.
>The differences between these two versions lead me to believe something in
>Info.pm breaks the iTunes playlists. The rest of the changes have to do with
>strings, client.pm, streams.pm, plugins.pm and source.pm. None of
>those tend to
>have any affect on playlist information.
>
>I'm still hunting. I'm surprised that Info.pm would have broken iTunes, but
>something may turn up eventually.
>-kdf


Excellent. Good hunting!
~m

Steve Burling
2004-04-20, 03:32
--On Tuesday, April 20, 2004 12:36 AM -0400 Mark McIntyre
<squeeze (AT) markmcintyre (DOT) com> wrote:

> Also wonder why the playlist is displaying the spaces in the playlists
> titles as %20...e.g., itunesplaylist:Magnatune%20Classical instead of
> Magnatune Classical.

To which I reply:

I can confirm this. Also that iTunes playlists are empty. 5.1.4 on Mac OS
X 10.3.3.

--
Steve Burling <mailto:srb (AT) umich (DOT) edu>
University of Michigan, ICPSR Voice: +1 734 615.3779
330 Packard Street FAX: +1 734 647.8700
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2910

Richard Purdie
2004-04-20, 03:56
kdf:

> Best I can tell, this was working in the April 17 build, but not in April
18.
> The differences between these two versions lead me to believe something in
> Info.pm breaks the iTunes playlists. The rest of the changes have to do
with
> strings, client.pm, streams.pm, plugins.pm and source.pm. None of those
tend to
> have any affect on playlist information.
>
> I'm still hunting. I'm surprised that Info.pm would have broken iTunes,
but
> something may turn up eventually.

The problem is the changes to Info.pm

I sent a patch to this list and Dean earlier on which should fix the problem
(and hopefully the song count issue as well - they're both the same thing).
If you want to apply and test that, I'd be interested to know if both
problems are fixed by it. It will only affect those using iTunes.

Cheers,

RP