PDA

View Full Version : Integrating MusicIP and SqueezeCentre

wreford
2008-11-26, 09:40
I have been trying to set up the squeezecentre and musicip. I am a relative PC novice, but have tried following instructions on the MusicIP wiki (though don't really understand what it all means) - I have also tried following SpiceFly's instructions on setting up headless MiP in windows XP. (I have SqueezeCentre 7.2.1 and MiP 1.8.1b, both running on the same laptop). But I still can't seem to get things working properly - though I'm not sure if I set the MusicIP GUI Services Port correctly.

I have configured the following:

MusicIP GUI Services Port: 10003 (SpiceFly recommends changing this to 10003 while setting up headless mode - but didn't make clear whether it should be change back again to 10002 after configuring the headless Port?);

Headless MusicIP Port: 10002

I have also apparently successfully configured the headless cache in the C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\MusicIP\MusicIP Mixer\default.m3lib.

My slimserver is on http://localhost:9000/

On Squeezecentre, I have configured the Plugins settings for MusicIP to Port 10002

I also downloaded SpiceFly's fix to make sure that MusicIP starts up before Slimserver when rebooting, so I know MiP needs to run before Slimserver.

I have 3,858 songs in the MusicIP, of which 2,976 are validated - all flac format - and scanning has now completed.

However:

I have tried re-scanning my library in squeezecentre but cannot see any of those mm's icons we are meant to see - nor does my MiP 'Send to' function work - though I have selected the slimserver as default player in Options/Send to

What am I doing wrong?! help! very frustrated by my lack of progress..

Bert57
2008-11-26, 12:17
I had many of the same problems and struggled for days.
One of the things I had to do to get it to work was to leave the Music Folder in squeezecenter settings blank and rescan.
Your settings seem to be correct so try the rescan.