PDA

View Full Version : Using Squeezebox with Homeplugs: no access to iTunes



Peanut
2008-11-24, 05:43
Dear all,

I have been using Squeezebox for years and remain impressed with the product. Used to have it connected to my wireless network in our previous house, and it worked flawlessly. However, our new house has 4 floors, and due to a 4 floor high metal stair case, setting up a wireless network has proven to be next to impossible. Because of this, I have had to connect my iMac and Modem via ethernet using my electrical circuit with Devolo Homeplugs. I have also connected my Squeezebox via ethernet and a Homeplug. This works very well for receiving internet radio.

However, I am not able to access my iTunes as the Squeezebox does not find the slimserver. I was told this is because the Squeezebox can't access iTunes via Homeplugs, but only when directly plugged into a modem/router via an ethernet cable (or wireless network of course). I can't do this because there are two floors between the router and the Squeezebox.

Do you have any solutions for this? Many thanks in advance!

Peanut
2008-11-24, 05:51
Dear all, I just realized I asked this before, almost one and a half years ago. Obviously, I still haven't solved the issue! Back then, some of you asked whether I had a router or just a simple modem. Have to confess it's a single ADSL modem. If I buy a router, would plugging in the router to the homeplug, followed by the iMac plugged in to a homplug, and - 2 floors down - plugging in the SB3 to another homplug give me access to my iTunes library? I'm a complete novice when it comes to network configurtions, so any simplified explanation would help enormously :)

Many thanks again!

peter
2008-11-24, 06:00
Peanut wrote:
> Dear all,
>
> I have been using Squeezebox for years and remain impressed with the
> product. Used to have it connected to my wireless network in our
> previous house, and it worked flawlessly. However, our new house has 4
> floors, and due to a 4 floor high metal stair case, setting up a
> wireless network has proven to be next to impossible. Because of this,
> I have had to connect my iMac and Modem via ethernet using my
> electrical circuit with Devolo Homeplugs. I have also connected my
> Squeezebox via ethernet and a Homeplug. This works very well for
> receiving internet radio.
>

Excellent, so your squeezebox is connected to the network.
> However, I am not able to access my iTunes as the Squeezebox does not
> find the slimserver. I was told this is because the Squeezebox can't
> access iTunes via Homeplugs, but only when directly plugged into a
> modem/router via an ethernet cable (or wireless network of course). I
> can't do this because there are two floors between the router and the
> Squeezebox.
>

If your SB can play internet radio via SqueezeNetwork and your server
(the imac I presume) is connected to the network everything should work.
There's no reason this shouldn't work over homeplugs. It's just
networking. The problem must be somewhere else.

Do yourself a favor and put a nice ethernet backbone in your house.
There must be some way to pull a cat5 cable from floor to floor. There's
no reason the powerline stuff shouldn't work, but it will never work
well. The value of a decent cat5 network can't really be overstated as
you will find out again and again.

I just added a HDX-1000 (similar to popcorn hour) to my TV set. Streams
excellent quality HD movies over 100 mbit ethernet. I don't think this
would've worked so well over wireless/powerline.

Regards,
Peter

bpa
2008-11-24, 06:22
About 2 years ago there was a firmware update for Devolo's because they blocked some gateway protocols. Check your develo firmware to see if it up to date (1.6 is latest for highspeed) ?