PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze v0.4



rtitmuss
2004-04-19, 12:17
Hi,

Softsqueeze version 0.4a is now available at
http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.

This release fixes many of the problems people encountered in v0.3. The
'kangaroo' windows proved a bit of a problem, I'll fix that next time.

New features include:
- excession, excession large and lcd skins
- configuration allows skin selection
- fixed playback issues with FLAC, Ogg, AAC, WAV and AIFF.
- you only get the config dialog the first time you run softsqueeze
- simpler firmware configuration
- key focus fixed
- key bindings now consistant with winamp & xmms
- window snapping
- volume control & mute (but not for mp3 yet)
- fixed now playing time (now max. 2 seconds out)
- headless operation

Known issues:
- volume control for mp3
- 'kangaroo' windows (esp. on Linux)
- delay on pause
- sync

Enjoy!
Richard

Tom Wynne
2004-04-19, 12:56
Wow - another great update - thanks for all your hard work Richard!

One small thing - I updated to the latest SlimServer (v5.1.4) based on
Dean's post below, but SoftSqueeze stops at the firmware update screen
if running server v5.1.4 and Softsqueeze is set to v5.1.3 (the latest)
in options. Setting it back to v5.1.2 in the options seems to work though.

Thanks again,

Tom
Richard Titmuss wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.4a is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> This release fixes many of the problems people encountered in v0.3. The
> 'kangaroo' windows proved a bit of a problem, I'll fix that next time.
>
> New features include:
> - excession, excession large and lcd skins
> - configuration allows skin selection
> - fixed playback issues with FLAC, Ogg, AAC, WAV and AIFF.
> - you only get the config dialog the first time you run softsqueeze
> - simpler firmware configuration
> - key focus fixed
> - key bindings now consistant with winamp & xmms
> - window snapping
> - volume control & mute (but not for mp3 yet)
> - fixed now playing time (now max. 2 seconds out)
> - headless operation
>
> Known issues:
> - volume control for mp3
> - 'kangaroo' windows (esp. on Linux)
> - delay on pause
> - sync
>
> Enjoy!
> Richard

Michel Fombellida
2004-04-19, 14:17
Hi Richard,

That's very interesting, thanks a lot for this great development... another one
(I still can't believe how good the squeezebox is). On my PC (set to 1600x1200)
the Softsqueeze window is very small and I don't see how to resize it. Is there
a way to resize it?

Cheers,
Michel

Graham Scott
2004-04-19, 14:38
Open the Remote, click on Prefs and switch the skin to Excession Large

g.

Michel Fombellida wrote:

> Hi Richard,
>
> That's very interesting, thanks a lot for this great development... another one
> (I still can't believe how good the squeezebox is). On my PC (set to 1600x1200)
> the Softsqueeze window is very small and I don't see how to resize it. Is there
> a way to resize it?
>
> Cheers,
> Michel
>
>

Karl Auer
2004-04-19, 15:44
On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 22:38:34 +0100, Graham Scott <g (AT) hindsight (DOT) it> wrote:
> Open the Remote, click on Prefs and switch the skin to Excession Large

I have the same problem as Michael, and Excession Large skin solved it. But the difference between greyed and normal for the button markings is practically invisible in hi-res. Only the LCD skin is actually legible for me.

Regards, K.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Karl Auer (kauer (AT) biplane (DOT) com.au) +41-43-2660706 (h)
http://www.biplane.com.au/~kauer/ +41- 1-6327531 (w)

Graham Scott
2004-04-19, 15:53
Karl,

Noted. I didn't have a res. greater than 1280x960 when I made the Large
skin. I'll look at addressing this for the next release. What would help
- larger buttons, a bigger difference in the colour change between the
two states, or a combination of both?

The LCD skin was designed to look good on a laptop screen. I imagine it
must be tiny at your resolution. Would you like to see a lrger version
of that too?

g.


Karl Auer wrote:
> On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 22:38:34 +0100, Graham Scott <g (AT) hindsight (DOT) it> wrote:
>
>>Open the Remote, click on Prefs and switch the skin to Excession Large
>
>
> I have the same problem as Michael, and Excession Large skin solved it. But the difference between greyed and normal for the button markings is practically invisible in hi-res. Only the LCD skin is actually legible for me.
>
> Regards, K.

slim@olilo.org
2004-04-19, 16:00
Richard,

You forgot to mention the Java Web Start feature that is included with v0.4.

It seems to be working fine now, and is excepting the server and firmware
settings from the .jnlp file, even on machines that have never had SoftSqueeze
installed before. It also update all my systems that were using v0.3a to v0.4a
without so much as a hickup.

Thanks for all you assistance getting this feature up and running for this release.

If anyone has any questions on getting this feature up and running, or why you
might want to, just drop me a message.

-Tom


Quoting Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.4a is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> This release fixes many of the problems people encountered in v0.3. The
> 'kangaroo' windows proved a bit of a problem, I'll fix that next time.
>
> New features include:
> - excession, excession large and lcd skins
> - configuration allows skin selection
> - fixed playback issues with FLAC, Ogg, AAC, WAV and AIFF.
> - you only get the config dialog the first time you run softsqueeze
> - simpler firmware configuration
> - key focus fixed
> - key bindings now consistant with winamp & xmms
> - window snapping
> - volume control & mute (but not for mp3 yet)
> - fixed now playing time (now max. 2 seconds out)
> - headless operation
>
> Known issues:
> - volume control for mp3
> - 'kangaroo' windows (esp. on Linux)
> - delay on pause
> - sync
>
> Enjoy!
> Richard
>
>

Michel Fombellida
2004-04-19, 19:05
Hi Graham,

Thanks, it is indeed much better but IMHO the buttons and texts are still too
small at high resolution. LCD skin is also tiny.

Cheers,
Michel

Michel Fombellida
2004-04-19, 19:09
By the way, why didn't you name it "Squeezesoft"? It would have looked more
like the soft version of the "Squeezebox".

Michel

Arrigo Benedetti
2004-04-19, 20:38
It would be very nice if one could save an MP3 stream to disk with
Softsqueeze. Is there any plan to add this feature?

-Arrigo

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-19, 21:58
On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 18:00:42 -0500,
slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org wrote:

> Richard,
>
> You forgot to mention the Java Web Start feature that is included with v0.4.
>
> It seems to be working fine now, and is excepting the server and firmware
> settings from the .jnlp file, even on machines that have never had SoftSqueeze
> installed before. It also update all my systems that were using v0.3a to v0.4a
> without so much as a hickup.
>
> Thanks for all you assistance getting this feature up and running for this release.
>
> If anyone has any questions on getting this feature up and running, or why you
> might want to, just drop me a message.

I'd like to see what this is all about. Perhaps some instructions could be
posted here? Or to the Softsqueeze homepage? I know it has something to do
with embedding the player in a webpage or something like that, but just
double-clicking the file results in this error (looks like a hard-coded
path needs to be removed):

Unable to load resource:
file:/c:/Documents%20and%20Settings/richard/My%20Documents/SF/softsqueeze/softsqueeze.jnlp

Peter van der Landen
2004-04-20, 02:08
On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 20:38:55 -0700, "Arrigo Benedetti" <arrigo (AT) rawbw (DOT) com>
said:

> It would be very nice if one could save an MP3 stream to disk with
> Softsqueeze. Is there any plan to add this feature?

There's a command line tool called streamripper that should be able to
'rip' shoutcast streams and automatically file the resulting MP3 files
according to artist/album/track. I haven't tried it on a Slim network,
though...

http://streamripper.sourceforge.net/

Regards,
Peter

Peter van der Landen
2004-04-20, 02:16
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 02:09:00 +0000 (UTC), "Michel Fombellida"
<mf22433 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> said:

> By the way, why didn't you name it "Squeezesoft"? It would have looked
> more like the soft version of the "Squeezebox".

I'll answer that since the name is my small contribution to this project.

Squeezesoft sounds more like the name of a company than the name of a
product.

A 'soft squeeze' has (a slightly erotic) meaning in the real world and
'squeeze softly' wouldn't be a good name for a product.

BTW, As a non native speaker I didn't realize until recently that
'Squeezebox' was the English name for what we call Harmonica in Holland:
http://www.geocities.com/heytud/sb101/

Regards,
Peter

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-04-20, 03:34
On Tue, 2004-04-20 at 05:08, Peter van der Landen wrote:
> On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 20:38:55 -0700, "Arrigo Benedetti" <arrigo (AT) rawbw (DOT) com>
> said:
>
> > It would be very nice if one could save an MP3 stream to disk with
> > Softsqueeze. Is there any plan to add this feature?
>
> There's a command line tool called streamripper that should be able to
> 'rip' shoutcast streams and automatically file the resulting MP3 files
> according to artist/album/track. I haven't tried it on a Slim network,
> though...

I've used streamripper. It does a decent job of breaking a stream into
songs and tagging them with ID3v1 tags. It also can offer a proxy feed
stream, so you can listen to the stream while ripping without pulling
two copies over the net. You can point SlimServer at the proxy port
just like any other stream.
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-20, 11:29
On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 20:17:15 +0100, Richard Titmuss wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.4a is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.

Looking great. Here's an idea that I think would be handy. How about
another window (that can be locked to the other two) that will let you
browse the current playlist? It should show the list and be sizeable
(vertically, at least) so you can see many songs at once. That would be a
wonderful improvement over browsing the playlist via the standard squeeze 2
line interface.

rtitmuss
2004-04-20, 13:42
Jeff,

Nice idea, this would be a useful addition. Did you know in the current
release that you can easily access the playlist in the slim server web
interface using the Web button on the right hand side of the player window.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Jeff Shanholtz" <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 7:29 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.4


> On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 20:17:15 +0100, Richard Titmuss wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > Softsqueeze version 0.4a is now available at
> > http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> Looking great. Here's an idea that I think would be handy. How about
> another window (that can be locked to the other two) that will let you
> browse the current playlist? It should show the list and be sizeable
> (vertically, at least) so you can see many songs at once. That would be a
> wonderful improvement over browsing the playlist via the standard squeeze
2
> line interface.
>
>

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-20, 16:32
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 21:42:47 +0100, Richard Titmuss wrote:

> Jeff,
>
> Nice idea, this would be a useful addition. Did you know in the current
> release that you can easily access the playlist in the slim server web
> interface using the Web button on the right hand side of the player window.

Yes I did, and that's great. But I would think that a playlist view would
work better (web interface refresh is awkward) and would look better and
could be smaller since the playlist is all you'd need instead of all the
other stuff you get with the web interface.

Peter van der Landen
2004-04-21, 02:51
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 16:32:18 -0700, "Jeff Shanholtz"
<jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com> said:

> Yes I did, and that's great. But I would think that a playlist view would
> work better (web interface refresh is awkward) and would look better and
> could be smaller since the playlist is all you'd need instead of all the
> other stuff you get with the web interface.

It would be a nice addition, but I use SS mainly to play my home music
over a VPN connection while I'm at work. I usually just play my 'ALL'
playlist with 4500 tracks in shuffled mode. To add the feature you
suggest, SS would have to receive a copy of this playlist from the
server. I think that would not work very well over my VPN/ADSL connection
that's just able to keep up with streaming the music data. So if it would
be added it would be nice if it were an optional feature...

Regards,
Peter

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-21, 06:29
On Wed, 21 Apr 2004 11:51:06 +0200, Peter van der Landen wrote:

> On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 16:32:18 -0700, "Jeff Shanholtz"
> <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com> said:
>
>> Yes I did, and that's great. But I would think that a playlist view would
>> work better (web interface refresh is awkward) and would look better and
>> could be smaller since the playlist is all you'd need instead of all the
>> other stuff you get with the web interface.
>
> It would be a nice addition, but I use SS mainly to play my home music
> over a VPN connection while I'm at work. I usually just play my 'ALL'
> playlist with 4500 tracks in shuffled mode. To add the feature you
> suggest, SS would have to receive a copy of this playlist from the
> server. I think that would not work very well over my VPN/ADSL connection
> that's just able to keep up with streaming the music data. So if it would
> be added it would be nice if it were an optional feature...

Unless it can be done effectively by only pulling the range actually needed
to display rather than the whole list (assuming you can query for just part
of the list and assuming scrolling wouldn't bog down too much).

Daniel Cohen
2004-04-21, 09:01
I'm wondering if the following suggestion is practical, and how many
people would use it.

I particularly use Squeezebox to play radio programs that have been
recorded using Audio Hijack, which means that I often have tracks
lasting for an hour or two.

I would like to be able to move forward or backwards a large distance
in the track, and pressing and holding the buttons simply does not
move fast enough (also I find it often moves to another track, even
when I have been holding the button down all the time, but that may
just be my fingers being clumsy).

So what would be nice would be some option (say after Pause has been
pressed) either to go to a particular point of the track by means of
the number keys, or more simply to skip forward or backwards by five
or fifteen minutes at a time.
--
Daniel Cohen

kdf
2004-04-21, 09:57
Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:

> I'm wondering if the following suggestion is practical, and how many
> people would use it.
>
> I particularly use Squeezebox to play radio programs that have been
> recorded using Audio Hijack, which means that I often have tracks
> lasting for an hour or two.
>
> I would like to be able to move forward or backwards a large distance
> in the track, and pressing and holding the buttons simply does not
> move fast enough (also I find it often moves to another track, even
> when I have been holding the button down all the time, but that may
> just be my fingers being clumsy).
>
> So what would be nice would be some option (say after Pause has been
> pressed) either to go to a particular point of the track by means of
> the number keys, or more simply to skip forward or backwards by five
> or fifteen minutes at a time.

There is a feature request similar to this in the tracking database:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=50

Please feel free to add comments on how you might like to see that implemented.

-kdf

rtitmuss
2004-04-22, 12:48
Jeff,

I've updated the web page with some instructions for using Java Web Start.
Let me know if I've missed anything.

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Jeff Shanholtz" <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 20, 2004 5:58 AM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.4 (Java Web Start)


> On Mon, 19 Apr 2004 18:00:42 -0500,
> slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org wrote:
>
> > Richard,
> >
> > You forgot to mention the Java Web Start feature that is included with
v0.4.
> >
> > It seems to be working fine now, and is excepting the server and
firmware
> > settings from the .jnlp file, even on machines that have never had
SoftSqueeze
> > installed before. It also update all my systems that were using v0.3a
to v0.4a
> > without so much as a hickup.
> >
> > Thanks for all you assistance getting this feature up and running for
this release.
> >
> > If anyone has any questions on getting this feature up and running, or
why you
> > might want to, just drop me a message.
>
> I'd like to see what this is all about. Perhaps some instructions could be
> posted here? Or to the Softsqueeze homepage? I know it has something to do
> with embedding the player in a webpage or something like that, but just
> double-clicking the file results in this error (looks like a hard-coded
> path needs to be removed):
>
> Unable to load resource:
>
file:/c:/Documents%20and%20Settings/richard/My%20Documents/SF/softsqueeze/softsqueeze.jnlp
>
>

kdf
2004-04-22, 13:30
cool. a little tweak here and there, and its launchable from a slimserver
browse window :)

-kdf

Quoting Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>:

> Jeff,
>
> I've updated the web page with some instructions for using Java Web Start.
> Let me know if I've missed anything.
>
> Regards,
> Richard

rtitmuss
2004-04-22, 13:47
Excellent you beat me to it - that was next on my list of things to try
tonight :) What tweaks did you need, could you send me the patch please.

Thanks,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2004 9:30 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.4 (Java Web Start)


> cool. a little tweak here and there, and its launchable from a slimserver
> browse window :)
>
> -kdf
>
> Quoting Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>:
>
> > Jeff,
> >
> > I've updated the web page with some instructions for using Java Web
Start.
> > Let me know if I've missed anything.
> >
> > Regards,
> > Richard
>
>

John Gorst
2004-04-22, 15:44
How do I make apache do the correct MIME type for this?
I have added the line application/x-java-jnlp-file to the mime.types
file, but with no success? My browser just loads up the jnpl as a text file.

Cheers

slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org wrote:

> Richard,
>
> You forgot to mention the Java Web Start feature that is included with v0.4.
>
> It seems to be working fine now, and is excepting the server and firmware
> settings from the .jnlp file, even on machines that have never had SoftSqueeze
> installed before. It also update all my systems that were using v0.3a to v0.4a
> without so much as a hickup.
>
> Thanks for all you assistance getting this feature up and running for this release.
>
> If anyone has any questions on getting this feature up and running, or why you
> might want to, just drop me a message.

John Gorst
2004-04-22, 15:50
John Gorst wrote:

Is the line supposed to be:
application/x-java-jnlp-file jnlp

That is what other lines look like in mime.conf. Still doesnt work though!

Cheers

> How do I make apache do the correct MIME type for this?
> I have added the line application/x-java-jnlp-file to the mime.types
> file, but with no success? My browser just loads up the jnpl as a text
> file.

John Gorst
2004-04-22, 16:17
John Gorst wrote:

> John Gorst wrote:
>
> Is the line supposed to be:
> application/x-java-jnlp-file jnlp

application/x-java-jnlp-file JNLP

the above line eventually worked for me, needed to be in capitals I
think. Although it coudl have been a server restart that sorted it?

slim@olilo.org
2004-04-22, 17:34
John,

With my web hosting company, I don't have access to make the needed changes at
the server level to launch the jnlp file. I found a work around that seems to be
working for me. I made a .htaccess file in the softsqueeze directory on my
website with this as the only content:

AddType application/x-java-jnlp-file .jnlp
AddType application/x-java-archive-diff .jardiff

It now loads and exacutes the file instead of just displaying it as text. I have
also been working on a page that detects if the needed java environment is
installed on the local machine. If it is, it loads the softsqueeze player. If
not, it walks the users through the java install process. It's functional, but
still a little rough.

-Tom

Quoting John Gorst <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> John Gorst wrote:
>
> > John Gorst wrote:
> >
> > Is the line supposed to be:
> > application/x-java-jnlp-file jnlp
>
> application/x-java-jnlp-file JNLP
>
> the above line eventually worked for me, needed to be in capitals I
> think. Although it coudl have been a server restart that sorted it?
>
>
>

dean
2004-04-23, 09:54
Hi Tom,


On Apr 22, 2004, at 5:34 PM, slim (AT) olilo (DOT) org wrote:
> It now loads and exacutes the file instead of just displaying it as
> text. I have
> also been working on a page that detects if the needed java
> environment is
> installed on the local machine. If it is, it loads the softsqueeze
> player. If
> not, it walks the users through the java install process. It's
> functional, but
> still a little rough.
I'd love to see this. We're hoping to include SoftSqueeze with
SlimServer soon, so anything that makes it easier to get up and running
would be appreciated.

-dean

> Quoting John Gorst <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:
>
>> John Gorst wrote:
>>
>>> John Gorst wrote:
>>>
>>> Is the line supposed to be:
>>> application/x-java-jnlp-file jnlp
>>
>> application/x-java-jnlp-file JNLP
>>
>> the above line eventually worked for me, needed to be in capitals I
>> think. Although it coudl have been a server restart that sorted it?
>>
>>
>>

Malcolm Miles
2004-05-14, 06:30
On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 02:05:40 +0000 (UTC), Michel Fombellida wrote:

> Thanks, it is indeed much better but IMHO the buttons and texts are still too
> small at high resolution. LCD skin is also tiny.

I think we need an Excession Extra-Large skin. At 1600x1200 the buttons are
tiny and the text is tiny and almost invisible. You can see how it looks
here: <http://www.myweb.net.au/mgm/softsqueeze.jpg>

--
Best wishes,
Malcolm

kdf
2004-05-14, 09:27
wow...1600x1200 on what? I'm running a dual 19" at work and use the standard
Excession skin. The button text is not really readable, but the icons are
enough. Must be near impossible to read text from any other applications as well
-kdf

Quoting Malcolm Miles <mgm-ns (AT) tardis (DOT) net>:

> On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 02:05:40 +0000 (UTC), Michel Fombellida wrote:
>
> > Thanks, it is indeed much better but IMHO the buttons and texts are still
> too
> > small at high resolution. LCD skin is also tiny.
>
> I think we need an Excession Extra-Large skin. At 1600x1200 the buttons are
> tiny and the text is tiny and almost invisible. You can see how it looks
> here: <http://www.myweb.net.au/mgm/softsqueeze.jpg>
>
> --
> Best wishes,
> Malcolm
>
>

Malcolm Miles
2004-05-14, 21:57
On Fri, 14 May 2004 09:27:27 -0700, kdf wrote:

> wow...1600x1200 on what? I'm running a dual 19" at work and use the standard
> Excession skin. The button text is not really readable, but the icons are
> enough. Must be near impossible to read text from any other applications as well

1600x1200 on dual 19". DPI bumped up to 120dpi. Text for most applications
is quite readable even for my 50 year old eyes (except for those browser
pages that hard code the font size rather than using relative
measurements).

--
Best wishes,
Malcolm