PDA

View Full Version : Can't play radio, writing a plugin will solve problem?



Kramer
2008-11-20, 23:57
Hi,

My provider, Internode provide hosted radio stations. http://www.internode.on.net/residential/entertainment/broadband_radio/
Access to these radio channels is only available when you are on the provider's network.

I can play these radio stations just fine using this workflow:
- Start SqueezeCenter on PC
- Add stations to favorites
- Select them and play either on SqueezeBox or SqueezeCenter

The problem is - it's impossible to play them with SquezeNetwork (without PC with SquezeCenter.)

There has been one message about this problem: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=37596 And it's not resolved.
You CANNOT play these stations through SqueezeNetwork because SqueezeNetwork is either proxying or trying to verify streams. Sonce for non-Internode network access is denied, SqueezeNetwork reports to SqueezeBox that stream cannot be played.
So Stream is perfectly valid, but SqueezeNetwork intervenes and deny me the right to play it?

My question is
- If someone will write plugin that will open Internode streams directly, will I be able to use that without PC turned on?
- Is there another workaround?
- Is there "Generic" plugin or plugin template that will open radio stations so I can modify the plugin to open Internode stations?

thanks.

bpa
2008-11-21, 00:51
On squeenetwork - try adding #slim:noscan=1 at then end of the URL. I think this will prevent SN scanning the URL before telling SB to play.

SuperQ
2008-11-21, 08:58
It sounds like you should have your ISP open the streams to the squeezenetwork servers so they can be scanned.

snarlydwarf
2008-11-21, 09:23
On squeenetwork - try adding #slim:noscan=1 at then end of the URL. I think this will prevent SN scanning the URL before telling SB to play.

Yes, exactly right, down to the ISP.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=49083&highlight=noscan

Kramer
2008-11-21, 20:24
On squeenetwork - try adding #slim:noscan=1 at then end of the URL. I think this will prevent SN scanning the URL before telling SB to play.

That doesn't help, Squeeszebox says "Error: No items found in the playlist". Or just verifying stream and then "stopped" without error.

Kramer
2008-11-21, 20:29
Yes, exactly right, down to the ISP.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=49083&highlight=noscan
It doesn't work. you can listen to "Public" stations , but provider-only stations doesn't.
The provider is changing the URLs of stations and both "new" and "old" style URLs don't work.
http://media.on.net/radio/42.m3u#slim:noscan=1 - Doesn't work
http://radio.internode.on.net:8100/#slim:noscan=1 Doesn't work

toby10
2008-11-22, 04:47
It doesn't work. you can listen to "Public" stations , but provider-only stations doesn't.
The provider is changing the URLs of stations and both "new" and "old" style URLs don't work.
http://media.on.net/radio/42.m3u#slim:noscan=1 - Doesn't work
http://radio.internode.on.net:8100/#slim:noscan=1 Doesn't work

http://radio.internode.on.net:8100/

Kramer
2008-11-23, 19:27
http://radio.internode.on.net:8100/

Sorry, my mistake. That :8100 station is public, non-restricted.
Any other station doesn't work with "noscan" or not.