PDA

View Full Version : Shoutcast plugin problem



Kevin Hawkins
2004-04-18, 17:24
Hi Dean,

I really would appreciate it if you (anyone) could try it on a
Windows XP build too . What I am seeing is consistent across two machines
and is a definite bad sequencing of audio bursts - occasionally I am getting
the same audio repeated but about 3 seconds later and interspersed with
other audio.

Here is a link to a short file that is recorded that shows the
constant 1 second pulsing and chopping that I get on Virgin Radio for
example. It has been saved as a 16Kbs mono mp3 file - I hope that is OK.

http://www.ukusa.demon.co.uk/Example.mp3

Richard - I don't think it is a Virgin Radio encoding problem - I
can get exactly the same effect on a lot of stations eg HitzRadio - two
stations up in the POP category from Virgin radio. , they do seem to be the
128Kbs ones though if that helps .

Kevin


> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf
> Of dean blackketter
> Sent: 18 April 2004 20:42
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Shoutcast plugin problem
>
>
> On Apr 18, 2004, at 11:24 AM, Kevin Hawkins wrote:
>
> >> -----Original Message-----
> >> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> >> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On
> Behalf Of Roy M.
> >> Silvernail
> >> Sent: 18 April 2004 18:38
> >> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> >> Subject: [slim] Shoutcast plugin problem
> >>
> >> On Sun, 2004-04-18 at 09:35, Kevin Hawkins wrote:
> >>> Is anyone able to listen to Virgin Radio via the
> >> Shoutcast plugin on
> >>> Windows XP ?? Just trying to see if it works OK for
> others (and
> >>> doesn't scramble the audio ?) or if it's a problem just
> >> on my setup.
> >>>
> >>> Using latest 5.1.3
> >>>
> >>> Shoutcast>Pop>Virgin Radio
> >>
> >> I tried it briefly and didn't hear any problems.
>
> I found two Virgin Radio stations under the SHOUTcast
> plugin. Both work fine from here on my Linux machine.
>
> -dean
>
>

rtitmuss
2004-04-19, 02:27
Hi Kevin,

> Richard - I don't think it is a Virgin Radio encoding problem - I
> can get exactly the same effect on a lot of stations eg HitzRadio - two
> stations up in the POP category from Virgin radio. , they do seem to be
the
> 128Kbs ones though if that helps .

I also get the same problem with HitzRadio, and also the 32kbps Virgin Radio
stream. The Radiostorm.com; NOW stream (also in the POP category) works
fine.

I had a little time this morning before coming to work to check these three
streams and found the ones that did not work used the 1.9.4 shoutcast
server, streamed on port 80 - therefore going through my ISP's proxy cache.
Radiostorm uses the 1.9.2 shoutcast server, and it is not on port 80, so no
cache.

At work I installed the latest slimserver (5.1.3) on WinXP and all three
streams work fine played using SoftSqueeze. So I thought it might be an
issue with the proxy cache on my home broadband. I get this from NTL, but
Simon just posted to say that Virgin Radio works fine for him on NTL. So
that this now seems unlikely.

Now I am wondering about my broadband router, it's a D-Link DI-614+. I have
had some trouble with this since I got my squeezebox's, it does not seem to
like streaming much! If I get time this evening I'll try directly connecting
my PC to my broadband link and see if that helps.

Regards,
Richard

Slim
2004-04-19, 07:10
Good morning all,

I really love the Shoutcast plugin, and have been playing with
something of my own for sometime now with my own radio station
database.

I have about 2,500 streams in a database (unfortunately, most WMP and
RAM) that I created for an audio device called the PenguinRadio. We
built out the list, but then our VC funding stalled the box production
during the "late insanity" a few years ago.

Our database is what we call a "masking redirect" in that every station
is given a number which can be used as a static link. For example, the
BBC 5 out of London is channel 100029. That static link then redirects
to whatever URL the streamer is using that day (and they change all the
time). This was done to allow a simple interface to dynamic streaming
URL's through devices (such as the Squeezebox, PenguinRadio, or a cell
phone). It would also work nicely with the Squeezebox remote.

Anyway, I've been playing with some interfaces to our database (which
is in MYSQL). I like the XML idea but wonder if long term, that file
might just get too big to download everytime (especially if you start
browsing by cities, regions, languages, etc). I also can't find the
URL for that in the shoutcastbrowser.pm file (not looking in the right
place??). One of the nice features I have going is that I can modify
the output of our database to fit whatever we need, rather than having
to parse out some extraneous material from someone else's XML or HTML
output.

If anybody has any ideas on how to make a good interface, please feel
free to drop me a line, either on the list or at
andrew (AT) penguinradio (DOT) com