PDA

View Full Version : A quick way to rip, tag, cover art, and serve your files.

agillis
2008-11-13, 20:17
I wanted to be able to quickly rip, tag, and get the cover art for my CD collection so I could use it with my SB3. I have about 300 CDs so it seemed like a big job. I decided to build a Linux box from an old Windows PC and use it to serve the music files to my network. I set it up so that when you insert the CD the box automatically rips it, ID3tags the songs, and downloads the cover art. I have been using this system in my living room for about 6 months and it has been working well.

One of my friends wanted to a server too so I built him one. Then my friend across the country wanted an auto-ripping NAS with SqueezeCenter on it. I build him an auto install ISO so he could load it on his own PC without me. He told me I should release the ISO other users. I have seen a lot of posts on this forum from people looking for any easy way to rip their CD collection.

So I thought up a cool name and released it on a small website. Now I want to know if anybody is interested. It seems like something everybody would want. But Iím not sure people want another box running all the time in their house. Is anybody interested in Beta testing this for me?

I call it VortexBox (my friend came up with the name) itís based in Fedora 9 (Linux). You burn the CD and boot your old PC with it. The ISO formats the hard drive and installs itself. You then have a box with SqueezeCenter, Samba (file sharing), and Lame. It watches the CD-ROM and when you insert a CD it rips it as an MP3 and a FLAC file. VortexBox uses the FLAC files for SqueezeCenter and serves the MP3 files out over the network for your MP3 players.

Please respond to this post. Iím very interested in your feedback on this.
You can download the ISO from http://vortexbox.org

Mnyb
2008-11-13, 22:50
Good idea, i think this will be popular, i visited your site.