PDA

View Full Version : Griffin Powermate and Squeezecenter?

NFLnut
2008-11-11, 19:18
Has anyone successfully used a Griffin Powermate USB ( http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/powermate ) with Squeezecenter under Windows? I know that mherger has a Linux solution. But I have VERY limited knowledge of Linux, and am running Squeezecenter under Windows. I am really only interested in having a quick desktop solution for volume control. Any other functions would be fine, but not necessary.

andynormancx
2008-11-11, 23:50
It is quite quick and easy to write plugins for the Powermate Windows app. The plugins are written in any .net language. So anyone with experience of a .net language and SqueezeCenter's CLI interface should be able to knock it up fairly easily.

NFLnut
2008-11-12, 09:33
Unfortunately, that's not me. I'm not a programmer, and I started reading the CLI tech info last night and my brain almost exploded. I have no idea ..

I DO know that according to Griffin Tech, the Powermate will operate any devices/apps that accept key commands. So wouldn't that include Squeezecenter?

NFLnut
2008-11-12, 11:18
Okay ..

I was messing around with the Powermate and it's included software. I can't get it to control Squeezecenter, but I DID fire up Moose and it DOES manipulate the volume when I have Moose running (I mapped knob turns to VOL_UP and VOL_DOWN and button press to MUTE). So it CAN manipulate volume settings via Moose, but NOT Squeezecenter itself.

So .. can anyone figure out why this is? How can I get it to work with Squeezecenter WITHOUT Moose (I don't always run Moose).

andynormancx
2008-11-12, 14:59
Because Moose is a "real" Windows application and SqueezeCenter is just a web page running within your web browser. Very different beasts.

NFLnut
2008-11-12, 18:31