PDA

View Full Version : Ethernet or Wireless



KingTubby
2008-11-11, 06:56
Is there a setting which allows you to switch between a wired or wireless connection to a SB receiver?

I can see a setting when initially setting up your SB Duet, but not one to amend it afterwards?

Labarum
2008-11-11, 07:16
Is there a setting which allows you to switch between a wired or wireless connection to a SB receiver?

I can see a setting when initially setting up your SB Duet, but not one to amend it afterwards?

And is it possible on an SB3?

I can see nothing in the menu structure? Maybe a plugin to modify menus?

But if the WiFi is secure, does it make any difference?

KingTubby
2008-11-11, 07:20
I'm interested in forcing my receiver to go ethernet as my wireless connection is constantly dropping out.

androidtopp
2008-11-11, 07:23
On my SB3, I held down the back button on my remote and was presented with a sort of connection menu. I don't remember the exact options/layout, but I know I was presented with a choice of wireless or wired NIC. Just plugging in a network cable did not automatically switch me from wireless to wired.

As KingTubby said - I had to switch from wireless to wired due to signal strength issues. Also becuase I didn't want anyone sniffing all my FLAC traffic. ;-)

KingTubby
2008-11-11, 07:59
On my SB3, I held down the back button on my remote and was presented with a sort of connection menu....

hmm tried that, doesnt seem to work on a duet controller

Another question. Am I correct in saying in that if I have an ethernet cable plugged in the wireless signal strength shown under the information menu item ISNT an indication of ethernet signal strength??

KingTubby
2008-11-11, 08:02
Now I'm really confused. I turned off my wireless network to check that my receiver was picking up my ethernet signal. Logic suggests that if I turn off my wireless network I shouldnt be able to use my controller to view, fast forward my music. But I can!??!
Does the receiver transmit too? And is my controller picking that wireless signal up???

Phil Leigh
2008-11-11, 08:20
hmm tried that, doesnt seem to work on a duet controller

Another question. Am I correct in saying in that if I have an ethernet cable plugged in the wireless signal strength shown under the information menu item ISNT an indication of ethernet signal strength??

If you plug in an ethernet cable to an SB3 the wi-fi card is disabled/turned off and yes ... signal strength is meaningless in this scenario.

maggior
2008-11-11, 08:29
I'm interested in forcing my receiver to go ethernet as my wireless connection is constantly dropping out.

To do this, you need to go through the setup on the receiver again with an ethernet cable connected to it.

First, connect the ethernet cable to the duet receiver.
Then, hold down the button on the front for 10 seconds or so.
When you let go, it should flash red quickly then slowly.
Standing in front of it with the controller, go into the menu to switch to players. You should see a player listed that is numbers. The numbers represent the last digits of the mac of the player.
Click on it and go through the setup.

Once you complete the setup, you are configured for ethernet on the SBR.

KingTubby
2008-11-11, 08:33
Cheers guys for all the replies. I seem to be connected up via a homeplug/ethernet combo and have turned my wireless connection off. But...i can still use my controller!!

If someone could explain that I would be really impressed :)

Phil Leigh
2008-11-11, 08:58
Cheers guys for all the replies. I seem to be connected up via a homeplug/ethernet combo and have turned my wireless connection off. But...i can still use my controller!!

If someone could explain that I would be really impressed :)

I thought the whole idea of the controller was that it could talk directly to the SBR via wi-fi (ie NOT via your router) The receiver has to be able to connect to the router...obviously!

maggior
2008-11-11, 08:58
During setup, an ad-hoc wireless network is created between the the controller and player. This is how the configuration information is communicated to from the controller to the player without having any information about SSIDs and encryption keys.

It must be that when the player is configured wired and there is no wireless network that an ad-hoc connection is created between the player and controller. Either that or the player is acting as some sort of bridge.

The wiki is slow at the moment, so I can't find the definitive answer at the moment.

maggior
2008-11-11, 09:11
During setup, an ad-hoc wireless network is created between the the controller and player. This is how the configuration information is communicated to from the controller to the player without having any information about SSIDs and encryption keys.

It must be that when the player is configured wired and there is no wireless network that an ad-hoc connection is created between the player and controller. Either that or the player is acting as some sort of bridge.

The wiki is slow at the moment, so I can't find the definitive answer at the moment.


When all else fails, consult the documentation :-).

Here is the manual:
http://www.slimdevices.com/documentation/WEB_Duet_User_Guide_EN.pdf

Here is a quote from page 4:
Choose Your Network Setup
Installing your new Squeezebox Duet is easier if you know how your home
network is set up, so you can follow the correct installation instructions.
There are three possible configurations:
• An “all-wireless” installation, where you already have a wireless
network in your home and you will connect both Squeezebox
Controller and Squeezebox Receiver to it.
• A “hybrid” installation, where you have both a wireless and wired
network in your home, and you will be connecting Squeezebox
Controller wirelessly and Squeezebox Receiver with an ethernet
cable.
• A “bridged” installation, used when you only have a wired network.
In this configuration, Squeezebox Receiver is connected to your
network with an ethernet cable, and Squeezebox Controller uses the
Receiver as a “bridge” back to your network.

what you've done is set up a bridged installation. Congrats!

This makes sense since it allows users with a wired only network to still use the duet.

KingTubby
2008-11-11, 09:54
Blimey - I have a bridged network. I'm clearly cleverer than I thought.

Perhaps not!

:)

Perhaps I should ask if there is a downside to using a bridged network?