PDA

View Full Version : 5.1.3 and LR channels reversed



Michel Fombellida
2004-04-18, 00:53
Hi,

I see that 5.1.3 was recently released, is the intermittent problem (that some
of us are experiencing with 5.1.1) of having LR channels reversed (at least on
digital output) fixed in this release?

Cheers,
Michel

Mark Bennett
2004-04-18, 04:37
I've just been experimenting with this now I have my own
external DAC. I've noticed some interesting things which
might help.

(This is server 5.1.3 running on Linux RH9 over a wireless
network.)

1) Only the digital outputs appear to be affected. When the
channels get reversed, if I switch to the analog outputs
the channels are correct, switch back to the digital and
they're wrong. As far as I can tell the analogue outputs
are never affected.

2) Both optical and co-ax digital outputs are affected.
Switching between them on my DAC when playing shows that
they always seem to be the same.

3) Once a track is playing it never seems to change channels,
even when restarting the track using the play button.

4) When restarting a track by using the "Previous Track"
button sometimes it starts up with the channels switched.

5) There seems to be some dependency on the previous track
compression type. Originally I just had WAV and MP3 in
the directory so pressing "Previous Track" would
momentarily flick up the other track before playing the
right one. I then added FLAC and WAV to try some other
compression types (now four files in the directory) and
I can now only get it to go wrong very occasionally.

It's too much work to keep moving these files around for
me (server is upstairs from player etc.) and I have other
things to get on with. So I don't plan to do much more
testing to narrow this down further unless the development
team need me to.

I hope this is helpful in tracking down the problem.

Michel Fombellida wrote:

> Hi,
>
> I see that 5.1.3 was recently released, is the intermittent problem (that some
> of us are experiencing with 5.1.1) of having LR channels reversed (at least on
> digital output) fixed in this release?
>
> Cheers,
> Michel
>
>

Michel Fombellida
2004-04-18, 05:48
Hi Mark,

Note that I only have WAV files in my music folder and I indeed only use the
digital output! The reversed channels happened once and a reboot of the PC
solved it. I did not notice it since then, I don't know how to reproduce it.

Another funny issue related to digital output. I have a system (Apogee Big Ben)
at the output of the squeezebox that is telling the exact frequency of the
signal and when the server and the squeezebox are restarted, the frequency is
initially 43.9x and then it very slowly drifts until it reaches 44.10 (that
takes about 20 seconds before it reaches 44.10). Once it has reached 44.10 it
stays there as long as the whole system is not restarted.

Michel