PDA

View Full Version : Express Rip / EAC

johno
2008-11-05, 15:25
I am very new to all this.. I recently bought a Squeezebox Duet and wanted to rip my 400 or so albums for use on it. After reading up in the forums it seemed the best way to rip music was to use EAC... being a novive I went to the EAC website and on it there was a link to download Express Rip.. I (stupidly) thought this was the EAC that everyone talked about...

It was only after ripping 10 - 15 albums it clicked that I wasnt using EAC but instead this program called Express Rip (no connection but on their website). With Express Rip I clicked to rip the albums in ".FLAC" format (as all here on the forum seem to recommend). I then use Media Monkey to view the albums and attach album art etc. All the cds seemed to rip well (apart from Express Rip not letting me rip Flaming Lips Yoshimi album... it said it didnt recognise the file??) and this way of doing things seems to be working fine with the duet.

Just wanted peoples opinions on Express Rip. As I have a lot of albums to rip do you think I should continue ripping with Express Rip or would it be better using EAC. What are the advantage/disadvantages. I know there is another program called dbpoweramp that a lot seem to recommend but I dont want to pay for ripping the albums.

funkstar
2008-11-05, 22:32
I've used EAC for years. It can be a bit of a pain to set up and its tag handling is pitifull. It also always had the anoying habit of constantly trying to be the furthest forward window, so if you were trying to do something as well as rip a CD, you had to keep minimizing it. A complete pain.

I decided to try dbPoweramp when i built myself a new quad core PC. I'm now a complete convert. So much easier to set up, rips are secure or verified by AccurateRip, and tag data is much more complete including album art.