PDA

View Full Version : Remote Streaming FLAC Files



Michael Baas
2004-04-16, 10:06
I've had a great time working with my new SlimServer, with the exception
of Remote Streaming FLAC files.

I can't seem to use the browser to 'Play' them. I set up a Winamp
Stream, opening 'http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3' in Winamp. It
connects just fine, as evidence by hearing the sound of MP3s when I
press play. However, selecting an FLAC file and playing it, the browser
skips to the nearest mp3 file. It refused to play FLAC files at all.

I tried lowering the bitrate in the SlimServer's web interface but was
not successful in getting any playback.

Has anyone else had trouble (or success) remote streaming FLAC files?

mb

Michael Baas
Database Administrator - Candela Corporation
(714) 415-4252

Please visit our web site at www.candelacorp.com

Pat Farrell
2004-04-16, 10:10
At 01:06 PM 4/16/2004, Michael Baas wrote:
>I've had a great time working with my new SlimServer, with the exception
>of Remote Streaming FLAC files.
>I can't seem to use the browser to 'Play' them. I set up a Winamp
>Stream, opening 'http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3' in Winamp.
>Has anyone else had trouble (or success) remote streaming FLAC files?

Do you have the FLAC support plugin for WinAmp?
You need it. Get it, and try to play a flac file without
the SlimServer. Just open the .flac file and make it play.
Until that works, getting the SlimServer to work is hard.

If you are still having problems, it maybe either that flac.exe (in Windows)
is not visible on the path, or that there is a bad switch in convert.conf.

Pat

kdf
2004-04-16, 10:15
Quoting Michael Baas <MBaas (AT) CandelaCorp (DOT) com>:

>
> I've had a great time working with my new SlimServer, with the exception
> of Remote Streaming FLAC files.
>
> I can't seem to use the browser to 'Play' them. I set up a Winamp
> Stream, opening 'http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3' in Winamp. It
> connects just fine, as evidence by hearing the sound of MP3s when I
> press play. However, selecting an FLAC file and playing it, the browser
> skips to the nearest mp3 file. It refused to play FLAC files at all.
>
> I tried lowering the bitrate in the SlimServer's web interface but was
> not successful in getting any playback.
>
> Has anyone else had trouble (or success) remote streaming FLAC files?
>

do you have LAME installed? and FLAC.exe? both are needed, since the server
must convert the flac file to mp3 on-the-fly in order for you to stream to winamp.

-kdf

Jason Holtzapple
2004-04-16, 10:20
Michael Baas wrote:
> I've had a great time working with my new SlimServer, with the exception
> of Remote Streaming FLAC files.
>
> I can't seem to use the browser to 'Play' them. I set up a Winamp
> Stream, opening 'http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3' in Winamp. It
> connects just fine, as evidence by hearing the sound of MP3s when I
> press play. However, selecting an FLAC file and playing it, the browser
> skips to the nearest mp3 file. It refused to play FLAC files at all.
>
> I tried lowering the bitrate in the SlimServer's web interface but was
> not successful in getting any playback.
>
> Has anyone else had trouble (or success) remote streaming FLAC files?

Do you have the flac decoder (flac.exe) installed where the slim
server can see it?

If not, put it in Bin/MSWin32-x86-multi-thread and try again.

You won't get pure flac streaming ... it will be converted to mp3.

--Jason

Pat Farrell
2004-04-16, 11:01
At 01:15 PM 4/16/2004, kdf wrote:
>kdf wrote:
>do you have LAME installed? and FLAC.exe? both are needed, since the server
>must convert the flac file to mp3 on-the-fly in order for you to stream to
>winamp.

Are you sure? I'm pretty sure I don't use LAME at all.
There is a WinAmp plugin for flac, so it reads and decodes them
fine.

I know that Windows Explorer is too dumb to send it thru LAME. Or even Flac.
Yet I can click on a .flac file, and the association starts up WinAmp,
and it plays.

Streams great from a SlimServer as well.

Pat

kdf
2004-04-16, 11:09
Quoting Pat Farrell <pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>:

> At 01:15 PM 4/16/2004, kdf wrote:
> >kdf wrote:
> >do you have LAME installed? and FLAC.exe? both are needed, since the
> server
> >must convert the flac file to mp3 on-the-fly in order for you to stream to
> >winamp.
>
> Are you sure? I'm pretty sure I don't use LAME at all.
> There is a WinAmp plugin for flac, so it reads and decodes them
> fine.

I'm sure. Connecting winamp to slimserver only allows you to play stream.mp3
with MP3 data. Slimserver then converts, on-the-fly to mp3 for all audio types
other than mp3. Any http client only knows mp3
(see Slim::Player::HTTP::formats() )

If you want to play flac files DIRECT to winamp, then, yes, you would need the
flac plugin. If stream.mp3 is passing flac data, then this would be a bug.


> I know that Windows Explorer is too dumb to send it thru LAME. Or even Flac.
> Yet I can click on a .flac file, and the association starts up WinAmp,
> and it plays.

if you clik on a flac to play in winamp, this is NOT through slimserver.
>
> Streams great from a SlimServer as well.

yes, but slimserver's convert.conf takes care of pointing the flac file through
lame for processing. The fac that you haven't noticed, is very good news ;)

-kdf

Jason Holtzapple
2004-04-16, 11:09
Pat Farrell wrote:
> At 01:15 PM 4/16/2004, kdf wrote:
> >kdf wrote:
>
>> do you have LAME installed? and FLAC.exe? both are needed, since the
>> server
>> must convert the flac file to mp3 on-the-fly in order for you to
>> stream to winamp.
>
>
> Are you sure? I'm pretty sure I don't use LAME at all.
> There is a WinAmp plugin for flac, so it reads and decodes them
> fine.
>
> I know that Windows Explorer is too dumb to send it thru LAME. Or even Flac.
> Yet I can click on a .flac file, and the association starts up WinAmp,
> and it plays.
>
> Streams great from a SlimServer as well.

I think you're using a network share. You don't need all that stuff
if you're going that route. If you go the http://.../stream.mp3 method
from a software player - you do.

--Jason

Ron Thigpen
2004-04-16, 11:26
Jason Holtzapple wrote:

> You won't get pure flac streaming ... it will be converted to mp3.

which is almost certainly what you want for remote streaming, unless
you've got a lot of free bandwidth between the slimserver and the client.

--rt

Pat Farrell
2004-04-16, 11:26
At 02:09 PM 4/16/2004, kdf wrote:
>Quoting Pat Farrell <pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>:
> > Are you sure? I'm pretty sure I don't use LAME at all.
> > There is a WinAmp plugin for flac, so it reads and decodes them
> > fine.
>
>yes, but slimserver's convert.conf takes care of pointing the flac file
>through
>lame for processing. The fac that you haven't noticed, is very good news ;)

Probably because my SlimServer is on Fedora ;-)

But .flac play thru WinAmp great on lots of my systems, thru SlimServer
and direct as files. And they are nearly great over wired to SqueezeBox.

Pat