PDA

View Full Version : Can't Update Firmware with Universal Remote



elgoodo
2008-11-02, 14:33
A few weeks ago I dropped the remote control and broke it. So I replaced it with a universal remote. I activated the Squeezebox's jvc_dvd option and set the remote code to 0242. This code does not operate the brightness function, but I found that if I set the remote code to 0993 then the chan up increases the brightness and the chan down decreases the brightness. Today I updated the Squeezecenter to 7.2.1, but I cannot get the Squeezebox to update it's firmware. Holding the buttons that change the brightness does not work. The remote is a Philips PDVR8. Has anyone else run into a problem like this? Is there a way to edit the jvc_dvd.ir file to give me the Brightness functionality?

Mark Miksis
2008-11-02, 14:41
I don't know, but if you press/hold left you can edit the SB settings to auto update the firmware and eliminate the need for the brightness button for firmware upgrades.

Joe Bob
2008-11-02, 14:55
I'm having the same problem.

The holding the left button does nothing for me. I just upgraded to SqueezeCenter 7.2.1 from SlimServer 6.5. Here's what I'm seeing in the log:

[08-11-02 14:52:47.4735] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button arrow_left.hold in mode off
[08-11-02 14:53:09.5874] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button arrow_left.hold in mode home
[08-11-02 14:53:10.4808] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (532) irCode not defined: [arrow_left.hold_release] for mode: [INPUT.List]
[08-11-02 14:53:20.4641] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button arrow_left.hold in mode home
[08-11-02 14:53:28.9500] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button arrow_left.hold in mode home
[08-11-02 14:53:36.6341] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (532) irCode not defined: [arrow_left.hold_release] for mode: [INPUT.List]
[08-11-02 14:53:40.0269] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button arrow_left.hold in mode home
[08-11-02 14:53:41.8263] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (532) irCode not defined: [arrow_left.hold_release] for mode: [INPUT.List]

Joe Bob
2008-11-02, 15:09
Is there another way to set the player to automatically upgrade? Something in the preferences file? Is there a way to simply hack something in the server (maybe a special plugin, modifying the Default.map, ???)? I'm fully capable of hacking something together, but I don't know where to start at this point.

Also, here's what I see in the log when the player connects and is displaying the "hold brightness...." message (pressing brightness on my universal remote):
[08-11-02 15:09:02.5034] Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (525) Found function: dead for button brightness.hold in mode common

Mark Miksis
2008-11-02, 15:18
I don't know why you can't get to the firmware menu, but if you have very old firmware it may not help anyway. I'm pretty sure the option to auto update firmware was added post-7.0. Your only options may be to buy or borrow an SB remote.

elgoodo
2008-11-02, 15:25
Thanks, Fletch. The left button got me to the menu to set up the automatic upgrade. Everything's working now.

charlesr
2008-11-08, 06:21
Holding brightness down on my Logitech Harmony doesn't work (it works fine when you press it once to change brightness though). However, holding left works fine so I could set the player to autoupdate. Weird that. Other than that, Harmony controls it perfectly.

MeSue
2008-11-08, 08:58
>>Holding brightness down on my Logitech Harmony doesn't work (it works fine when you press it once to change brightness though). However, holding left works fine so I could set the player to autoupdate. Weird that. Other than that, Harmony controls it perfectly.<<

When an original remote calls for a long hold, you have to hold for 3 seconds then press again with a Harmony. At least that's how it works for my DVR. I have not tried it for a Squeezebox yet.