PDA

View Full Version : Converting CD's for use with a Squeezebox III



pjdowns
2008-10-26, 03:54
All,

Being honest I am not sure what I am doing here but thought you might be able to assist.

Up until recently, I was converting using iTunes to AAC @ 192/44. Then I was told that this was a lossy format so recently I have changed to Apple Lossless in Auto mode. This is significantly better, I orginally tried AIFF, but found it too shrill in Auto mode so opted for Apple Lossless.

Is this the right way to be importing the music, in auto mode or should I set them at 192/44 or similar ?

For information the rest of my system is:

Exposure XVII (Pre)
2 x Exposure XVII (Power - Biamping)
Epos ES-14 + Stands

P.

bhaagensen
2008-10-26, 07:33
All,

Being honest I am not sure what I am doing here but thought you might be able to assist.

Up until recently, I was converting using iTunes to AAC @ 192/44. Then I was told that this was a lossy format so recently I have changed to Apple Lossless in Auto mode. This is significantly better, I orginally tried AIFF, but found it too shrill in Auto mode so opted for Apple Lossless.

Is this the right way to be importing the music, in auto mode or should I set them at 192/44 or similar ?


You are not really saying, but I assume you use iTunes for ripping. In that case auto mode is fine, but you should make sure that you iTunes does not apply error correction. I would certainly not let iTunes upsamle to 192.

However you should know that iTunes might not be the best choice for ripping if you are very concerned about the quality of your rips. Many people, and in particular "audiophiles" use the flac-format and EAC for ripping (lately I hear dbpoweramp is also becoming increasingly popular as it is easier to use and the latest verions provide very good quality rips)

Another reason for using flac with the SB3 is that flac is natively supported in the SB3 (and other Slim-products) while Apple Lossless is transcoded on the server. It is no showstopper, Apple will work and many people use it. Here are a few links you can have a look at:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Beginners_Guide_To_Ripping
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/EAC_Ripping_In_Depth
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/EACRipping

Also there is a subforum here on ripping/transcoding which I recommend you have a look at.

Regards

avta
2008-10-26, 07:38
Hello P: You sound like a Mac user?? If so I would recommend ripping with XLD ( http://tmkk.hp.infoseek.co.jp/xld/index_e.html ) into Apple Lossless format. That would play through your SB3.