PDA

View Full Version : problems with remote streaming with 7.2.1



maggior
2008-10-23, 10:47
I upgraded to 7.2.1 last night and all appeared fine. Today I came into work and attempted to put on some music. It played for a few minutes, but then stopped abrubtly. So I started it again...and then it stopped after a few minutes.

I have 2 servers running, so I turned one of the off to ensure it wasn't some sort of networking conflict. No difference.

I reverted to 7.2 on one of my servers and it's been playing for about 1/2 hour with no issues.

So, I think this issue is specific to 7.2.1.

Does anybody else use this functionality? Has anybody else encountered this problem?

maggior
2008-10-23, 12:13
My wife reported that she had the same behavior listening to our SBR this morning. Last night after the upgrade, I listened to my SB3 with no trouble.

I'll be playing the SBR more when I get home to see if this is repeatable.

I may put 7.2.1 in my secondary server since it seems to have some issues and revert my main server back to 7.1.

maggior
2008-10-23, 16:06
As I suspected, the player having the problem is a red herring. I'm not sure what was going on this morning at the house, but it is definitely not occuring now.

I'm still interested to see if others have done remote streaming with 7.2.1 successfully.

soxfan
2008-10-24, 08:41
I'm seeing the same thing. I use remote streaming (stream.mp3) all the time from work back to my home server. It was working fine in 7.2, but broke in 7.2.1. I even tried to upgrade to 7.3 nightly hoping it was fixed there, but it is not working with this version either. Have you searched for an open bug and/or created a new bug? Definitely seems worth of a bug report to me.

maggior
2008-10-24, 10:02
There didn't appear to be a bug in the system regarding this. I've gone ahead and created one:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9801

Feel free to add to it or at least vote for it.

soxfan
2008-10-24, 11:12
Just voted for it. FYI... even though you created the bug you have not voted for it yourself.

maggior
2008-10-24, 12:16
hmmm, didn't know you can do that. Just like politicians can vote for themselves at the polls, I guess I can vote for my own reported bugs. :-).

soxfan
2008-10-24, 12:58
Are you, by any chance, running behind a proxy server at work? I'm starting to think this may be part of my problem. But if it is the problem it is definitely something that just starting with 7.2.1, because I've had the same network setup at work for quite some time.

maggior
2008-10-25, 05:34
No, I'm not.

I can replicate the issue with a laptop connected directly to my network. You don't have to go over the Internet to replicate the problem.

maggior
2008-10-27, 12:02
For those that may be reading this thread wondering what can be done aside from reverting to 7.2, I have found that squeezeslave is a viable alternative. Actually, I think I'll continue to use squeezeslave in the future. I was using it on my server and never thought of using it as a remote player. It works quite well.

For this to work, you have to have port 3483 forwarded in your router just as you have port 9000 forwarded already.

An ip address or a server name may be specified, so if you have dyndns setup, you can just use the name you've specified there.

The latest version of squeezeslave can be found here:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=105169&package_id=176494

dsdreamer
2008-10-27, 22:41
No, I'm not.

I can replicate the issue with a laptop connected directly to my network. You don't have to go over the Internet to replicate the problem.

Just tried this at home with 7.2.1 across a reliable home wireless network (no problem playing FLACs for hours on end). I tried a couple of versions of lame and few different players (iTunes, foobar2000). This bug seems very easy to reproduce (and hard to avoid), so if you are curious, try it. It takes about 90 seconds for the player to stop.

maggior
2008-10-28, 07:23
Yes, it is very easy to reproduce. No timing or anything involved.

If you like, you can vote for this bug to help raise awareness of the issue:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9801

jrgeoffrion
2008-10-28, 08:20
I upgraded from 7.0 to 7.2.1 and pretty much nothing works anymore... Can someone tell me where I can find a DIRECT LINK to v7.2? I'd love to revert to a stable platform.

Alternatively, if it's legal to do, you can send it to me via yousendit.com at jr [at] jrgeoffrion [dot] com.

Thanks in advance for any help!

andyg
2008-10-28, 08:43
This has been fixed. You will probably want to download a build from 7.2 trunk after tonight's build has run.

http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/latest/7.2/

jrgeoffrion
2008-10-28, 08:45
This has been fixed. You will probably want to download a build from 7.2 trunk after tonight's build has run.

http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/latest/7.2/

Thanks! I'll be staying up 'til midnight (ET I suppose) just to download it! Thanks again.

MeSue
2008-10-28, 08:45
Every version you could ever want is here: http://downloads.slimdevices.com/

But I don't know why you'd want to go backward instead of trying to figure out the problem. Did you do a clean install?

jrgeoffrion
2008-10-28, 08:49
But I don't know why you'd want to go backward instead of trying to figure out the problem. Did you do a clean install?

Because there becomes a point in ones life where one just wants things to work. ;)

MeSue
2008-10-28, 08:50
Thanks! I'll be staying up 'til midnight (ET I suppose) just to download it! Thanks again.

Nope, I'm pretty sure it is Pacific time.

jrgeoffrion
2008-10-28, 08:50
Every version you could ever want is here: http://downloads.slimdevices.com/

Most useful link, thanks!

MeSue
2008-10-28, 08:51
Because there becomes a point in ones life where one just wants things to work. ;)

Can't argue with that. ;-)

I have been runing a 7.2.1 from October 8, but been meaning to update to the latest 7.2.1. Guess I will wait until tomorrow.