PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox 3 - No sound.



Snowbell
2008-10-22, 04:23
Hi,

I've used my Squeezebox for a couple of years and not really had many problems. Now however I get no sound - even when the player display shows it should be playing. No sound through either the RCA or headphone sockets.

I've search everywhere in the new browser interface and found nothing is set that could cause no output. Trying to find the problem I've re-powered the player multiple times, and also upgraded SqueezeCenter (now to 7.2.1 ) and player firmware (now to 113). Still no sound.

Anyone any idea?

- Tim

Phil Leigh
2008-10-22, 04:31
Hi,

I've used my Squeezebox for a couple of years and not really had many problems. Now however I get no sound - even when the player display shows it should be playing. No sound through either the RCA or headphone sockets.

I've search everywhere in the new browser interface and found nothing is set that could cause no output. Trying to find the problem I've re-powered the player multiple times, and also upgraded SqueezeCenter (now to 7.2.1 ) and player firmware (now to 113). Still no sound.

Anyone any idea?

- Tim

reset the xilinx chip - unplug sb DC, hold down "1" button on remote, reconnect DC to SB

Snowbell
2008-10-22, 17:27
Thanks for the suggestion but no luck. I don't remember the exact massage but on power up it said it was resetting the chip. No sound. Re-powered, still no sound. Tried it all again, no sound.

Any other ideas?

seanadams
2008-10-22, 19:10
Reset (hold power) and then press "3" on the splash screen. You should get a (loud!!) 1KHz tone. If you hear the tone then your hardware is OK. Either way, the next step would probably be to contact support for further troubleshooting or replacement.

Also of course be sure to check cables and try the digital outputs.