PDA

View Full Version : Re-Buffering every 5 seconds



Ron Mellum
2004-04-13, 06:26
I found the same types of issues using iTunes on
Windows. WinAmp doesn't seem to have the same issue.

What format are your files, AAC or mp3? I had to
convert my AAC's to mp3 to get the streaming to stop
rebuffering (although your system is bigger than
mine).

Can you ssh into your system? If so, you might to run
top while your streaming to see what the processor
load is like.

Ron

--- Chris Baham <chris (AT) neoliquid (DOT) com> wrote:
> Well, at first, it was telling me that no other
> connections were allowed on
> this stream. Then I came home at lunch, and quit
> iTunes and Safari. Went
> back to work, closed Safari and iTunes. Launched
> Safari, loaded up the
> index.html for the server then launched iTunes, and
> tried to connect to
> server stream.mp3. It started playing immediately,
> but then, every 5
> seconds, it would re-buffer. I tried to find some
> settings in the server
> through the web interface to re-incode for a lower
> bit rate or something but
> couldnąt so it just never worked. Any thoughts?
> Thanks,
>
> Chris
>
>
> On 4/12/04 10:39 PM, "David N. Blank-Edelman"
> <dnb (AT) ccs (DOT) neu.edu> wrote:
>
> > On Mon, Apr 12, 2004 at 05:52:51PM -0700, Chris
> Baham wrote:
> >> I set up a server today on my home computer (Dual
> 800 G4, 768mb Ram, 3mbit
> >> Cable connection with I believe 128bit upload.
> Tried logging on at work on
> >> our Mac at work with iTunes. It would work.. Sort
> of. Would re-buffer every
> >> 5 seconds. Any thoughts? Thanks,
> >
> > Yes, I know precisely what this is because I
> talked about a similar
> > experience on this list. When the slimserver is
> idling, i.e. sending
> > silence to your player, it is sending data (albeit
> data that represents
> > silence) to your player at a bitrate of 320k.
> >
> > Cable upload speeds rarely offer that amount of
> bandwidth, so iTunes feels
> > the need to rebuffer almost constantly. You should
> find when you play
> > something (most likely encoded at a lower bitrate
> than 320k) iTunes works
> > just fine. I found that other players had similar
> issues, but were less
> > obnoxious about letting you know about the
> rebuffering.
> >
> > Is this the case for you?
> >
> > In my case, the short answer was to simply not let
> iTunes connect unless
> > music was actually streaming.
> >
> > -- dNb
> >

Martin Goode
2004-04-13, 07:00
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/04/13/slimdevices_squeezebox/

Jon Myatt
2004-04-13, 07:41
Interesting. What does he mean by this:

"With a newly installed 802.11g network, it's a shame to have to drop
down to 802.11b for the Squeezebox."

I didn't have to 'drop down' - the rest of my devices work at 54Mbps just fine. Is this
a feature of some 802.11g networks?

Jon.

Martin Goode
2004-04-13, 07:43
Jon Myatt wrote:

>Interesting. What does he mean by this:
>
>"With a newly installed 802.11g network, it's a shame to have to drop
>down to 802.11b for the Squeezebox."
>
>I didn't have to 'drop down' - the rest of my devices work at 54Mbps just fine. Is this
>a feature of some 802.11g networks?
>
>Jon.
>
must in the context of having to run "one of his pieces of kit at 11Mbps
on his 54Mbps network"

..m

Jeff Blasius
2004-04-13, 07:51
No, I think he means this:
http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=03/08/09/172214&mode=thread&tid=137&tid=193
or
http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/wireless/2003/08/08/wireless_throughput.html
cheers,
-jeff

Martin Goode wrote:

> Jon Myatt wrote:
>
>> Interesting. What does he mean by this:
>> "With a newly installed 802.11g network, it's a shame to have to drop
>> down to 802.11b for the Squeezebox."
>>
>> I didn't have to 'drop down' - the rest of my devices work at 54Mbps
>> just fine. Is this
>> a feature of some 802.11g networks?
>> Jon.
>>
> must in the context of having to run "one of his pieces of kit at
> 11Mbps on his 54Mbps network"
>
> .m
>