PDA

View Full Version : Audioengine W1 and SB Duet conflict?



ed_j123
2008-10-19, 17:09
Hello,

I'm the satisfied new owner of a Duet. It works great.

Here's my system, FYI: Yamaha receiver, Paradigm Atom Monitors (good speakers for the size and price), and the Duet streaming audio from an HTPC (home built).

In another room, I have a pair of Audioengine A5s (also good speakers).

The problem: I just bought an Audioengine W1 setup to stream audio from the receiver to the A5s. It works great with over-the-air radio, but when I try to use the Duet at the same time, it can't connect to the PC or if it does connect, it drops frequently.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a workaround?

Thanks

peter
2008-10-19, 23:27
ed_j123 wrote:
> I'm the satisfied new owner of a Duet. It works great.
>
> Here's my system, FYI: Yamaha receiver, Paradigm Atom Monitors (good
> speakers for the size and price), and the Duet streaming audio from an
> HTPC (home built).
>
> In another room, I have a pair of Audioengine A5s (also good speakers).
>
>
> The problem: I just bought an Audioengine W1 setup to stream audio
> from the receiver to the A5s. It works great with over-the-air radio,
> but when I try to use the Duet at the same time, it can't connect to
> the PC or if it does connect, it drops frequently.
>
> Does anyone have any suggestions for a workaround?
>

You'll want to limit the use of wireless. So wire either your Duet to
your HTPC/switch or your speakers to the Receiver.

Wireless is a bad idea in general. It's just so darn convenient. Avoid
it where you can. ;)

Regards,
Peter

mvalera
2008-10-20, 10:23
I think your W1 is interfering with your Squeezebox Receiver.

I'd say change your wireless channel on your router, but... The real question is why are you using a Audioengine W1 when you could have added another Squeezebox Receiver to your system (on the A5's) for the same money?

I would return the W1 and buy a Squeezebox Reveiver. You eliminate your source of wirless interference, and make your single room Duet into a multi-room network music system at the same time.

Mike

peter
2008-10-20, 11:31
mvalera wrote:
> I think your W1 is interfering with your Squeezebox Receiver.
>
> I'd say change your wireless channel on your router, but... The real
> question is why are you using a Audioengine W1 when you could have
> added another Squeezebox Receiver to your system (on the A5's) for the
> same money?
>
> I would return the W1 and buy a Squeezebox Reveiver. You eliminate your
> source of wirless interference, and make your single room Duet into a
> multi-room network music system at the same time.
>

Sometimes it can be so simple ;)

Regards,
Peter

ed_j123
2008-10-21, 16:33
Thanks for the advice.

It seems like the thing to do is get the 2nd SB receiver. Probably should have done that in the first place....

Audioengine support suggested: "Please try moving the powered AW1 sender unit as close as possible to your wireless router. Leave it there for just a few minutes, as this may allow the AW1 to train itself to "steer clear" of the signal."

I'm skeptical, but I'll try it and let you know.

ed_j123
2008-10-23, 22:37
I tried Audioengine's fix. It didn't work.

I picked up another SB receiver. Works fine.

The only downside is without the W1 hooked up, I can't get over-the-air radio in the second room.

The SB products seem to work exactly as advertised, though.

Thanks for the suggestions.