PDA

View Full Version : Boom clock



juliocohen
2008-10-15, 09:33
Hi,

Someone could tell me how to adjust the Boom´s clock? Our daylight saving time will start next week, but Windows automatically added an hour to every computer in Brazil last week. I manually went back one hour in every computer and at the router, but the Boom still shows one hour ahead.

Thanks,

Julio Cohen

ccrome2
2008-10-15, 09:54
It happens automatically with your computer.
-Caleb


On Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 9:33 AM, juliocohen <
juliocohen.3hbz4b1224088502 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Someone could tell me how to adjust the Boom´s clock? Our daylight
> saving time will start next week, but Windows automatically added an
> hour to every computer in Brazil last week. I manually went back one
> hour in every computer and at the router, but the Boom still shows one
> hour ahead.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Julio Cohen
>
>
> --
> juliocohen
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> juliocohen's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=20538
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=53807
>
>
>

juliocohen
2008-10-15, 10:09
I adjusted the router clock, my computer clock, all are correct and sync thru ntp servers. I unplugged Boom from wall and replugged it, still shows the wrong time.

BR

Julio

Ben Sandee
2008-10-15, 10:26
On Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:09 PM, juliocohen <
juliocohen.3hc0qn1224090602 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> I adjusted the router clock, my computer clock, all are correct and sync
> thru ntp servers. I unplugged Boom from wall and replugged it, still
> shows the wrong time.


Are you using SqueezeNetwork? Is the time zone correct on
squeezenetwork.com?

Ben

juliocohen
2008-10-15, 13:35
Yes, Ben, I am using Squeezenetwork. I´ve just checked and it´s correct (GMT -3 Brasilia).

Thanks

Julio

radish
2008-10-15, 22:03
I believe the Brazilian DST rules changed recently, is it possible the SN servers didn't get the update?

mherger
2008-10-15, 23:03
> I believe the Brazilian DST rules changed recently, is it possible the
> SN servers didn't get the update?

A Brazilian friend told me that the rules in Brasil were adapted every
year? Will ask him again.

Michael

mherger
2008-10-15, 23:54
> A Brazilian friend told me that the rules in Brasil were adapted every
> year? Will ask him again.

According to my friend dst in Brasil depends on carneval (no joke!), which
in turn depends on the moon. And it's not the same for all Brasil. And the
rules have been changed this year. I'll leave this to Andy to fix on SN ;-)

Michael

juliocohen
2008-10-16, 04:31
Hi Michael,

It´s a popular misconception that Carnival and, then, the moon are used to set the DST dates in Brazil. It depends only on the amount of rain we had, how much water are available since almost 80% of the electricity here is generated by dams. This year it will start on Oct 19 and ends Feb 15 2009.

I never imagined that the system had the time adjusted thru the Squeeze server. In that case, an adjustment feature would be great at the player´s firmware or thru the server.

Thanks!

Julio

andyg
2008-10-16, 05:54
On Oct 16, 2008, at 7:31 AM, juliocohen wrote:

>
> Hi Michael,
>
> It´s a popular misconception that Carnival and, then, the moon are
> used
> to set the DST dates in Brazil. It depends only on the amount of
> rain we
> had, how much water are available since almost 80% of the electricity
> here is generated by dams. This year it will start on Oct 19 and ends
> Feb 15 2009.
>
> I never imagined that the system had the time adjusted thru the
> Squeeze
> server. In that case, an adjustment feature would be great at the
> player´s firmware or thru the server.

I'll update our timezone code on SN to the latest version from CPAN,
and that will hopefully fix the problem.

Howard Passman
2008-10-16, 10:21
....that to get the correct time to show on the Boom and SB3, that I need to connect to SN occassionally?

Howard

aubuti
2008-10-17, 15:22
....that to get the correct time to show on the Boom and SB3, that I need to connect to SN occassionally?
No. You're fine if your computer running SC connects to a time server occasionally, *and* you keep the computer up to date with any changes in DST/summer time.

Howard Passman
2008-10-17, 17:08
No. You're fine if your computer running SC connects to a time server occasionally, *and* you keep the computer up to date with any changes in DST/summer time.


My PC updates to time.windows.com, but my SB's are always a few minutes different than my PC?? Really not that important I guess. Is there somewhere in SC to set the time?

Howard

aubuti
2008-10-19, 08:21
My PC updates to time.windows.com, but my SB's are always a few minutes different than my PC?? Really not that important I guess. Is there somewhere in SC to set the time?
That's very odd. There's no place to set time in SC; it only gets the time, and the UTC offset, from your server. I used to notice that the time from SqueezeNetwork would often be wrong by a minute or two, but I haven't left it on SN for a long time now so I don't know if that's still the case. But I would expect your PC running SC and the SBs to be spot on.