PDA

View Full Version : Faulty boom power supply UK ?



Bruce Hartley
2008-10-07, 23:43
Had my boom for a couple of weeks now !
Very, very pleased with it !


but..................

Yesterday the power supply started crackling.
(Sounds like it is arcing somewhere).

The adaptor that changes it into a UK supply seems to be a little loose and I suspect it is this that is arcing to the contacts on the adaptor.

Has anyone else experienced this?

How do I go about getting the transformer replaced?

Thanks,
Bruce.

max.spicer
2008-10-08, 01:02
Had my boom for a couple of weeks now !
Very, very pleased with it !


but..................

Yesterday the power supply started crackling.
(Sounds like it is arcing somewhere).

The adaptor that changes it into a UK supply seems to be a little loose and I suspect it is this that is arcing to the contacts on the adaptor.

Has anyone else experienced this?

How do I go about getting the transformer replaced?

Thanks,
Bruce.

You should contact SlimDevices support, I would have thought.

Max

funkstar
2008-10-08, 02:13
Or contact the retailer you purchased from.

Bruce Hartley
2008-10-11, 05:28
three days and no response from support.
Not very impressed with that.

Will contact retailer.

mvalera
2008-10-13, 09:57
Did you contact us or EMEA? Do you have a ticket #?

BTW support only operates Monday thru Friday.

Mike

Bruce Hartley
2008-10-13, 10:14
Mon - Friday is fair enough.
But my initial reponse said to expect a reply in 24 hours.
It's now significantly longer than that, and still no reply.

Question Reference #081008-002666
http://slimdevices.custhelp.com/

Does that help, is that a ticket number?

I just followed the support links from this site.

1 working day gone and no reply from the UK retailer either.
In the internet age, why is customer service so slow?
All I want is a response from a human being to say that they are looking into it.

I am unable to play with my new toy and that makes me sad

Anoop M.
2008-10-13, 16:56
I made sure to assign your ticket to the proper people in the UK team.

Sorry it is taking you so long to get a new unit.

Bruce Hartley
2008-10-13, 23:05
thankyou.
Am I unlucky, or does the support process need tuning.

Rgds,
Bruce.

Bruce Hartley
2009-02-02, 00:30
Ok.
Problem was resolved in the end.
EMEA support contacted me and the unit was collected and a replacement shipped to me.
Pretty efficient once my message got to EMEA support instead of US.

but...................

My replacement now has the same problem.
The supply "brick" crackles and this time actually loses power to the player!

Is there a problem with these supplies or am I really unlucky.

The unit is never moved so physical damage to the power supply is not possible.

Will obviously contact support again, but wanted to know if anyone else is having these problems.

Bruce Hartley
2009-02-13, 15:27
Had a phone call from Logitech support.
They said that as I had had two power supplies showing the same fault and they weren't aware of lots of people complaining of the same thing, that they would like to eliminate the possibility that it was something in the environment that was causing the problem.

So they asked me to take the Boom to another building and see if it still had the problem, I have to say I was very sceptical, and thought the odds of them being right was about 1%.

But anyway, I did as they asked and at my office the Boom appeared to work fine.
So when I got home I dismantled the wall socket that it was plugged into and found that the wires were loose in the terminals.

So it looks like they were right.

Need to bring it back from the office and plug it in to see if the problem is now solved, but it is looking like it was my socket and not their boom that was the problem.

How silly do I feel !!!