PDA

View Full Version : announcing beta (v0.9) of plugin for Live Music Archive



Dan Foxley
2004-04-11, 01:37
Any hints on installing this on XP? I place the archive.pm in the Plugins
directory and it does not show on the SqueezeBox after restarting the
server.

dan

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Dan Aronson
Sent: Friday, April 09, 2004 12:06 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] announcing beta (v0.9) of plugin for Live Music Archive

Folks,
Enclosed is a beta ready (somewhat tested) version of a plugin to play
concerts from the Live Music Archive hosted by the internet archive. The
Live Music Archive contains over 10,000 recorded concerts which the bands
gratefully support for non-commercial use. Information on the Live Music
Archive can be found at http://www.archive.org/audio/etree.php.

The Plugin consists of three modes.
Mode 1: Scrolling though the list of bands.
up, down: scroll
right: concerts are indexed by year, get list of years for
displayed artist (mode 2)

Mode 2: Scrolling through list of years
up, down: scroll
right: get list of concerts for given year (mode 3)

Mode 3: Scrolling through list of concerts
up, down: scroll
play: replace current playlist with songs from concert and
start playing songs


Feel free to send feedback. Enclosed is plugin...

--dan aronson
dan at catolabs dot org

Daniel Cohen
2004-04-11, 03:04
On 11/4/04 at 1:37 am -0700, Dan Foxley wrote
>Any hints on installing this on XP? I place the archive.pm in the Plugins
>directory and it does not show on the SqueezeBox after restarting the
>server.

You have to activate the plugin, as well as installing it. Use your
Web browser access, go to Server Settings, at the bottom of the page
is Additional Server Settings, click on that to get a new page, and
click on Plugins at the top to get a page where plugins can be
activated or deactivated. All easy, once one knows where to look.
--
Daniel Cohen

Daniel Cohen
2004-04-11, 08:11
My music folder has a file named Reith and does not have a file named
RealOne0408. I'm not entirely sure if Reith is just a rename of the
earlier RealOne0408 (it probably is) or is the same file converted
into another format (with the original file put in the trash).

Anyway, my Squeezebox see and plays Reith and does not see
RealOne0408. But when using SoftSqueeze (where I first found the
issue) or browsing the music folder using the Web access, Reith does
not appear and RealOne0408 does appear, and can actually be played.

I tried rescanning the music folder and before doing so I moved a
folder with about 700 files from the music folder to another folder
(as it had nothing to do with music). The Music Folder then had
around 50 items in it. Clicking on the rescan button gave a message
that "the server is now rescanning the music folder" and this message
remained on the web page for over an hour (at which point I gave up).
I tried Browse Music Folder and found that the folder I had moved no
longer showed, but RealOne0408 was still showing instead of Reith.

So something is a bit weird.

On a different issue, is Softsqueeze supposed to play aiffs as yet? I
tried and just got noise. mp3s seem fine, I have some synchronization
issues, but am not sure if they are the known Softsqueeze issues or
me not understanding it properly.

As regards the Squeezebox itself, since I encoded my aiffs into mp3,
I'm not getting any dropouts, and the buffer shows as always full or
nearly full.

Mac OS 10.3.3, Slimserver 5.1.1
--
Daniel Cohen

Dan Aronson
2004-04-12, 17:53
Dan Foxley wrote:

>Any hints on installing this on XP? I place the archive.pm in the Plugins
>directory and it does not show on the SqueezeBox after restarting the
>server.
>
>dan
>
>
Sigh, I just tried this on my wife's win98 machine and it looks like it
doesn't work "out of the box" on windows.
Let me know if anyone knows how to do non-blocking IO in perl on windows...

--dan

rtitmuss
2004-04-13, 06:09
Hi Daniel,

> Anyway, my Squeezebox see and plays Reith and does not see
> RealOne0408. But when using SoftSqueeze (where I first found the
> issue) or browsing the music folder using the Web access, Reith does
> not appear and RealOne0408 does appear, and can actually be played.

I am afraid I cannot explain this one, the slimserver cannot detect the
difference between your squeezebox and softsqueeze so they should be the
same. Any one else have any ideas?

> On a different issue, is Softsqueeze supposed to play aiffs as yet? I
> tried and just got noise. mp3s seem fine, I have some synchronization
> issues, but am not sure if they are the known Softsqueeze issues or
> me not understanding it properly.

Your right aiff's don't work yet, this should be fixed in the next release.
The timing for synchronization is not right yet, but if you are having any
other issues then please let me know.

Regards,
Richard

Daniel Cohen
2004-05-01, 01:28
1. I don't know if this is a SlimServer or an Apple program. I've
just converted a two-hour radio program to the new Apple Lossless
format (which shows up as m4a, by the way). It plays ok, but I have
it set to show time remaining, and this is showing up as 47 minutes
remaining.

2. Occasionally my two-hour radio programs suddenly go back to the
beginning. I think, but am not sure, that this has only happened when
I am running my Squeezebox and Softsqueeze synchronized. It's a bit
difficult to work out how and why this happens.

3. I have asked this before, but got no comments. I'ld like to know
if it's me being clumsy (quite possible) or if others find the same.
I can't get pressing and holding Forward (or Rewind) to scan through
the track (my usual two-hour tracks). Usually, though I am holding
the button, it goes to the next track. I've sometimes seen it say
that it is tracking at a higher speed but it is not doing so. I have
once or twice got a proper scan forward. This is mostly relevant for
me because of problem 2. For instance, after an hour the track has
just gone back to the beginning, and I can't scan forward to the
place where it stopped playing.
--
Daniel Cohen

Daniel Cohen
2004-05-01, 02:10
On 1/5/04 at 9:28 am +0100, Daniel Cohen wrote
>
>3. I have asked this before, but got no comments. I'ld like to know
>if it's me being clumsy (quite possible) or if others find the same.
>I can't get pressing and holding Forward (or Rewind) to scan through
>the track (my usual two-hour tracks). Usually, though I am holding
>the button, it goes to the next track. I've sometimes seen it say
>that it is tracking at a higher speed but it is not doing so. I have
>once or twice got a proper scan forward. This is mostly relevant for
>me because of problem 2. For instance, after an hour the track has
>just gone back to the beginning, and I can't scan forward to the
>place where it stopped playing.

(Later) I don't think it can be me being clumsy, as the same thing
happens when I use the Softsqueeze buttons, just holding the mouse
down. I've just tried a couple of times. Both times this moved me to
the next rack and later said it was scanning 2x (and higher, when I
clicked and held the button again), but actually played the sound at
a standard speed.

I think problem 2 (starting again from the beginning) may be a result
of too much CPU usage. I've just checked my Activity Monitor and it
shows Softsqueeze using around 20% of my CPU, and Lame another 10%,
so, with other things going on as well, at times the CPU usage is
above 90%.

What is Lame doing? Is this the business, that someone else
mentioned, of a conversion to MP3 which is not actually necessary. Or
is it because (I'll check further later) because I am using an m4a
(Apple Lossless) track.

A thought that is probably not something that can be done. When I
synchronize (Squeezebox and Softsqueeze) the slight difference in
timing is unimportant. But occasionally the Squeezebox has a slight
drop-out and recovery. the effect of these is to make the
synchronization sufficiently off to be annoying. Would it be
practical (either Softsqueeze or SlimServer) to have some way of
getting the two into a better synch again. I don't know if this issue
would apply to two synchronized Squeezeboxes. I imagine it might, as
one might be subject to interference and the other not.
--
Daniel Cohen