PDA

View Full Version : Line In

Philip Meyer
2008-09-26, 18:18
I've never used Line In before on my Boom.

I'm wondering how easy it will be for someone else to simply walk up to my Boom with an mp3 player (probably my wife with an iPod) and play from that source. I need to find a 3.5mm male-to-male connector. Some questions first:

1. The line-in socket is awkward to access, so can I leave a cable permanently plugged in (i.e. is it auto-sensing in any way)?

2. I can't see any menu option to play from the line-in source, unlike my Transporter which has a plugin that provides access to the various digital inputs. Am I right in thinking that actually it mixes the line-in sound with whatever is played via SqueezeCenter/SqueezeNetwork?

3. I see some line-in options in the PlayerUI settings menu. "Line-in always on" - if this is off, will it never play line in (comes back to question 1 about auto-sensing).

4. "Line-in level" - is this just to control the overall volume to achieve a similar volume level to SqueezeCenter music playback. i.e. if I set to 100% and leave it so that the master volume is used to obtain a comfortable listening volume, am I going to get distortion or blow any circuitry if I play an iPod source back at 100%?

Phil

mherger
2008-09-29, 00:05
> 1. The line-in socket is awkward to access, so can I leave a cable
> permanently plugged in (i.e. is it auto-sensing in any way)?

Yes, there is. But as it's a mechanical sensing, it won't recognize
unplugging the device, unless you unplug the cable from Boom's back.

> 2. I can't see any menu option to play from the line-in source, unlike
> my Transporter which has a plugin that provides access to the various
> digital inputs. Am I right in thinking that actually it mixes the
> line-in sound with whatever is played via SqueezeCenter/SqueezeNetwork?

As soon as you plug something in you should see the menu option.

> 3. I see some line-in options in the PlayerUI settings menu. "Line-in