PDA

View Full Version : Replacement power supply - crap support from Logitech



b33k34
2008-09-20, 04:45
I've obtained a Squeezebox 3 with remote that's missing it's power supply. The 'multi-voltage' power supply i've tried with it will deliver either 4.5 or 6v but neither of these will get it to boot so they're obviously pretty fussy (it doesn't seem to have damaged it luckily - the power supply from one of my other boxen still boots it).

I know Slim Devices used to sell these and replacement remotes - in fact i've been thinking of buying an extra power supply for a while so that I can easily move one of my boxen from one room to another.

However, i see they're no longer on the Slim site and Logitech's support response was really disappointing -
"Thank you for contacting Logitech's Electronic Technical Support.

As I understand you would like to know where you could buy spares for your Slim Device.

Unfortunately, there is no availability of spares parts in stock for sale or as standalone accessory for replacement. I am sorry about the inconvenience. I also regret being helpless in this issue.

If you have any additional questions regarding your product, please feel free to visit our website at http://www.logitech.com

Kind Regards,
Ramesh,Logitech Europe SA, European Customer Suppor"

Power supplies break out of warrant and they are easily damaged or lost (particularly since they are rarely clearly labelled for the device they power). It's just not acceptable for Logitech to render an expensive piece of kit unusable for a missing power supply.

Any suggeastions from anyone? I don't think this is an acceptable support policy - squeezeboxes are also useless without a remote which is another bit of kit easily lost or broken. Surely these should be available?

b33k34
2008-09-20, 05:00
So getting over my anger at Logitech supports uselessness can anyone point me at a suitable non-logitech replacement.

I can see from the other power supplies that i need 5v 2A centre positive but i don't think power supply pin sizes are standard for each voltage.

This looks a good price but i don't know if the pin will fit:
http://www.digidave.co.uk/jshop/product.php?xProd=315&ref=froogle

m1abrams
2008-09-20, 05:03
Well you could go here http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_squeezebox.html and look under the power section an you will see the exact specs you need in a supply. Many places sell these power supplies and should cost under $20, probably find one under $10. Some users even say you can improve the sound quality of the SB by going to a linear supply however I have never tested this.

Most likely the reason your supply did not work is because it can not source enough current. 1A of current is pretty high and many of the radio shack multi-voltage supplies do not even get close to that current requirement. Edit: Oh and if the problem is your supply does not provide enough current then you have NOT caused any harm to the SB.

m1abrams
2008-09-20, 05:49
So getting over my anger at Logitech supports uselessness can anyone point me at a suitable non-logitech replacement.

I can see from the other power supplies that i need 5v 2A centre positive but i don't think power supply pin sizes are standard for each voltage.

This looks a good price but i don't know if the pin will fit:
http://www.digidave.co.uk/jshop/product.php?xProd=315&ref=froogle

No that will not fit. Pin size does not have anything to do with the voltage.

You need a 5V supply that can source a min. of 1A. Pin size 2.5mm I.D., 5.5mm O.D. and 11mm length (note you can get away with longer length). Oh and center positive (that is important).

m1abrams
2008-09-20, 05:57
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=T977-P6P-ND

m1abrams
2008-09-20, 05:59
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=T977-P6P-ND

I wonder if a 9.5mm long plug would work? Cause if it does then you get a bit more options.

aubuti
2008-09-20, 09:19
This one (http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&pa=689864&productId=689864) worked for me, but it has US-style plug, so you'll need to find something similar for your outlet. I admit I was disappointed at first that SD/Logi no longer sold power supplies, but finding a suitable replacement is really no big deal, especially shopping via internet.

b33k34
2008-09-20, 15:26
needs to be a UK plug as well. Not that much showing up when i search.

Nonreality
2008-09-20, 16:09
needs to be a UK plug as well. Not that much showing up when i search.

Can you buy a US style and a converter plug for the UK?

radish
2008-09-20, 16:26
Wouldn't this work?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=48484

5V/4A, comes with a bunch of connectors including the one you need for the SB3.

aubuti
2008-09-20, 20:06
needs to be a UK plug as well. Not that much showing up when i search.
Is there really nothing here: http://www.remtrak.com/psu/dcregpsu.htm. I see a 5V 2A with 2.5mm plug, but didn't look harder for other details like polarity. Or something at Maplin (http://www.maplin.co.uk/searchtemplate.asp?criteria=5V%202A%20POWER%20SUPP LY)?

Phil Leigh
2008-09-20, 23:40
This one works perfectly...
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/search/results.jsp?Ntt=PW00187&Nty=1&N=411&Ntk=gensearch

It's also linear not a switching one.

Nonreality
2008-09-21, 00:34
This one works perfectly...
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/search/results.jsp?Ntt=PW00187&Nty=1&N=411&Ntk=gensearch

It's also linear not a switching one.
Just wondering Phil if you noticed a sound quality difference with it?

Phil Leigh
2008-09-21, 00:41
Just wondering Phil if you noticed a sound quality difference with it?

Not really other than it doesn't interfere with a nearby Tivoli radio on AM (unlike the original PSU which did).

Some people think this PSU does improve things. I only use the digital out on the SB3 and it seems to make no difference there.