PDA

View Full Version : Is It Possible to Play Music Directly from SqueezeCenter?



MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 07:21
Any chance there is a way to play music through the SqueezeCenter (either the computer that my music library is sitting on, or a remote laptop or desktop located on my home LAN)?

Mark Lanctot
2008-09-19, 07:34
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SoftSqueeze

maggior
2008-09-19, 07:38
Yes...on all counts.

To use your server as a player, you can use something called squeezeslave:
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeSlave

This creates a player that can be controlled via the web interface (or the controller).

You can also do remote streaming. On the web page for you squeezecenter, click on help on the bottom left pane. You will see a link there for remote streaming. It will tell you all you need to know. To use it for local streaming (i.e. playing on your local machine), just use the ip address of 127.0.0.1.

I use all of this functionality on a regular basis and I can say it works very well.


Have fun!


While I was typing my long-winded message, Mark snuck in with a link :-). Better than to have too much info...

MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 07:42
Very cool! So it says I need to install Java and the SlimServer...

Is SlimServer already running on a normal SlimCenter/SlimNetwork system (that is, is the slimserver already running as an imbedded service within the slimcenter installation)?

Or do I need to install and run slimserver on top of everything else that's running?

MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 07:43
Ah... So there are two solutions for what I am trying to do? SoftSqueeze and SqueezeSlave?

Note/Update: I see the difference... SqueezeSlave is command line based, and SoftSqueeze is GUI based... Thanks!

Mark Lanctot
2008-09-19, 07:54
Very cool! So it says I need to install Java and the SlimServer...

Is SlimServer already running on a normal SlimCenter/SlimNetwork system (that is, is the slimserver already running as an imbedded service within the slimcenter installation)?

Or do I need to install and run slimserver on top of everything else that's running?

Not sure I get what you mean.

You have to install SqueezeCenter on a computer.

See here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeCenter

Mark Lanctot
2008-09-19, 07:55
Ah... So there are two solutions for what I am trying to do? SoftSqueeze and SqueezeSlave?

SoftSqueeze is a fairly resource-intensive Java application. squeezeslave is a lightweight version that does not use Java but it has no user interface, you start it from the command line and control it using SqueezeCenter.

MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 08:05
Not sure I get what you mean.

You have to install SqueezeCenter on a computer.

See here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeCenter

Sorry... what I mean is that I went out to read about how to install SoftSqueeze, and it has as prerequisites that I install Java and SlimServer...

I have Java installed already...and I was just wondering if the SlimServer was already running as a result of my SqueezeCenter installation (as a background process, or whatever)...

If I need to install SlimServer as well, I have no problem with that... I just want to be sure I am not installing something redundant and unnecessary...

Mark Lanctot
2008-09-19, 08:18
SlimServer is the older version of SqueezeCenter.

I'll update the wiki.

MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 08:22
SlimServer is the older version of SqueezeCenter.

I'll update the wiki.

Ah...great... So it wasn't a stupid question on my part then :) (at least as a newbie who doesn't know the history that slimserver and squeezecenter are one and the same...just a versioning difference)....

Glad I asked... So it looks like all I need to do is install the SoftSqueeze and I am good to go!

Thanks!

MikeekiM
2008-09-19, 12:08
I must have something set wrong... cuz I got it to work...but it is very unstable... and now it won't work at all...

The dot matrix display on the transporter display skin is flickering like there is something wrong...and it shuts down the SqueezeCenter...

I may try an uninstall and a reinstall...

snoogly
2008-09-19, 12:54
Are there any no-brainer instructions on how to get squeezeslave up and running in OSX?

Looking at this page makes my eyes water
https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=105169&package_id=176494&release_id=532275/

I don't even know which one to download, yet alone what to do with the files afterwards.