PDA

View Full Version : Squeezecenter 7.2 start-up hiccup?



Mongo
2008-09-18, 06:55
Running xp.. I've had squeezecenter running more or less successfully for three years. With 7.2 it will never start up the first time when I bootup the computer in the morning... the little tray icon just blinks on and off... then starts just fine with a computer re-start. Anyone else having this problem?

newy
2008-09-18, 07:49
I am relatively new to the SC and Transporter world (2 months) and everything has been running fine but just now SC 7.2 refuses to start, even on reboot (I have been running 7.2 on XP for a couple of weeks with no issues). Going away on biz tonight and don't to to leave the wife a dead system. Any ideas? Help!!

Siduhe
2008-09-18, 08:04
Check the windows event viewer for any error messages. Also, could be a firewall or antivirus issue (try disabling these to test start up or adding new execptions for Squeezecenter).

Finally, check you haven't installed any other programs that are reserving port 9000 as this might stop Squeezecenter from starting.

slimkid
2008-09-18, 09:08
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=52685

newy
2008-09-18, 11:29
I haven't installed anything new - it just all of sudden stopped working. Tried the spyware and virus recommendations to no avail.

Gotta go now. Wife is gonna be PISSED!!!

newy
2008-09-20, 06:01
I still don't have any music from my two thousand dollar Transporter. I can't seem to get SqueezeCenter to open. I am running it on a pretty much "music serving" dedicated PC with XP SP3.

How do I check the port 9000 blockage? I'm not running anything else so I doubt this is the problem but you never know. I turned off the firewall and restarted the computer to no avail.

What am I looking for in the event log?

When I mouse over the blinking icon that sits in the bottom right menu it says "SqueezeCenter Starting". Uh, don't think so.

Running iTunes (7.7.043) with ALAC files.

Not a computer wizard but I can follow directions. I just want my music back. HELP!!!

dennis55
2008-09-20, 06:22
go into control panel "programs and features"...scroll down to Squeezecenter and uninstall it. then i would re-install the program.
i run a Transporter here too ,but run from a QNAP external server Not from Windows which doesn't require your computer to be on all the time.
try it and see.

dennis

newy
2008-09-20, 07:06
I was trying to avoid that but I guees I'll have to give it a go.

newy
2008-09-20, 12:00
Is it odd that I didn't have to rescan my collection or is that normal after a re-install (this is my first uninstall/re-install)?

One oddity during the uninstall, I had to CTRL-ALT-DLT to stop the uninstall process as it seemed to freeze-up midway through. Install went smoothly though, to my surprise. Thanks for the tip.

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2008-09-26, 08:32
I get round it by stopping and restarting squeeze center. At first it was OK I think.

Gibbo
2008-09-26, 08:47
I get a similar issue, start up machine, SC starts in icon tray but freezes at SC starting, happens 1 time in 10. Very annoying, can be solved by closing SC and starting it again, but this is irritating as I often just hit the power buttong on my computer and then go back downstairs to wait for the SB to connect.

Also irritating as when the gf uses it it results in her hitting right on the SB because it hasn't connected causing issues with it not working.

mollymoo
2008-09-27, 06:11
I get a similar issue, start up machine, SC starts in icon tray but freezes at SC starting, happens 1 time in 10. Very annoying, can be solved by closing SC and starting it again, but this is irritating as I often just hit the power buttong on my computer and then go back downstairs to wait for the SB to connect.

Also irritating as when the gf uses it it results in her hitting right on the SB because it hasn't connected causing issues with it not working.

same problem here.

Siduhe
2008-09-27, 06:31
Assuming you're both on Windows, have you looked in the Event Viewer? May give you a clue what the problem is. Other people have reported that a full uninstall and reinstall fixes this problem, but you may want to back up your plugins and prefs first.

Apesbrain
2008-09-27, 07:28
Don't mean to pile on, but I also have this problem with SC 7.2. Like others, it is intermittent; maybe happens 1 of every 3 times XP is restarted. Recently, I changed my "Startup Options" to start SC as a service using an anonymous login rather than my own account. (See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=52667). Not sure yet if that has made any difference. When SC doesn't start, it's easy enough to tell because the clock is gone from my SB3. Running the "Startup Options" setup again is an easy way to start SC manually.

dday
2008-09-27, 12:50
I've got the same problem 7.2 hangs on start up, event viewer shows following error. Problems only started with 7.2. reboot usually works. running on Windows XP.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application
Event Category: None
Event ID: 0
Date: 27/09/2008
Time: 20:46:43
User: N/A
Computer: MEDIA
Description:
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &main::main called at slimserver.pl line 90.
.