PDA

View Full Version : Complete Beginner - SoftSqueeze

MikeGreene
2008-09-18, 04:20
Hi.

I have recently bought a Duet System with a number of Receivers and Controllers. All seems OK so far, bar a few niggles which I am sure I will be able to resolve over time (with this Forum's help!).

I have SqueezeCentre installed on my main PC, which is also where I have my music stored, and am able to run SoftSqueeze on that PC. However I would like to be able to run SoftSqueeze on my wife's PC too, which is on the same home network. I have read some of the Forum entries but am afraid I just don't understand them and would like a "Dummy's Guide" to how to go about this - including what I neede to install on my wife's machine.

I have a couple of extra questions too, though they are definitely less important, so please don't worry if those cannot be answered now!

a) Will I be able to control my two SoftSqueeze applications from my Duet Controller (might come in handy for Synchronized music); and if so how do I do that?

b) Is there a "skin" for SoftSqueeze which looks like the Duet Controller?

Many thanks in advance and apologies for my near-total lack of understanding of all things technical!

simbo
2008-09-18, 05:00
a) Will I be able to control my two SoftSqueeze applications from my Duet Controller (might come in handy for Synchronized music); and if so how do I do that?
Yes you can. Make sure you give each instance of SoftSqueeze a meaningful name and have told each where your SqueezeCenter is (both under SoftSqeeze preferences). Then from the Controller you can select Choose Player and should see them listed under there.

A warning about synchronisation though - it might not work as well on SoftSqueeze as it does on the hardware players - this is due to the internal workings of the PC (sound drivers and other factors) - you may find that not all players are perfectly in sync. Try it and find out, you might be lucky.