PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze v0.3



rtitmuss
2004-04-07, 02:18
Hi,

Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.

A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this one.

New features include:
- 'Excession' skin.
- Support for Flac, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, uncompressed WAV and AIFF audio.
- Synchronization with Squeezebox and Slimp3 **.
- Improved slim protocol support.
- Detects when connection to slim server is lost, and reconnects.
- Quick link to slim server web interface.
- Improved keyboard support.

** - Synchronization is still work in progress. Just don't try and listen to
them both in the same room yet, might drive you crazy ;-)


Regards,
Richard

Peter Bowyer
2004-04-07, 04:58
Superb!

----- Original Message -----
From: "Richard Titmuss" <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 07, 2004 10:18 AM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.3


> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this
one.
>
> New features include:
> - 'Excession' skin.
> - Support for Flac, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, uncompressed WAV and AIFF audio.
> - Synchronization with Squeezebox and Slimp3 **.
> - Improved slim protocol support.
> - Detects when connection to slim server is lost, and reconnects.
> - Quick link to slim server web interface.
> - Improved keyboard support.
>
> ** - Synchronization is still work in progress. Just don't try and listen
to
> them both in the same room yet, might drive you crazy ;-)
>
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>

Jason Holtzapple
2004-04-07, 08:44
Richard Titmuss wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this one.

This release is looking really slick! Great work ...

--Jason

kdf
2004-04-07, 09:51
looks great. Win2k, Java 1.4.2 and the dragging/docking works great. However,
there is no display, and none of the buttons seem to work, not even power off or
close. Slimserver is latest cvs running on the same win2k machine.

-kdf

Quoting Richard Titmuss <richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this one.
>
> New features include:
> - 'Excession' skin.
> - Support for Flac, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, uncompressed WAV and AIFF audio.
> - Synchronization with Squeezebox and Slimp3 **.
> - Improved slim protocol support.
> - Detects when connection to slim server is lost, and reconnects.
> - Quick link to slim server web interface.
> - Improved keyboard support.
>
> ** - Synchronization is still work in progress. Just don't try and listen to
> them both in the same room yet, might drive you crazy ;-)
>
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>

kdf
2004-04-07, 09:59
Please disregard that last post. It works fine now. It seems a website I was
on was smehow causing java to have fits.

-kdf

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-07, 12:33
On Wed, 7 Apr 2004 19:05:45 +0100, Karl wrote:

> Mine only says update firmware hold brightness etc
>
> Help

As stated on the web page for the softsqueeze:

If your server version is not listed below then use the version number in
the 'Firmware/squeezebox.version' file on your Slim Server.

I'm guessing you are running one of the newer nightlies, not the official.
In that case (as in mine) use 10 when prompted for the firmware version.

kdf
2004-04-07, 12:39
Quoting Jeff Shanholtz <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com>:

> On Wed, 7 Apr 2004 19:05:45 +0100, Karl wrote:
>
> > Mine only says update firmware hold brightness etc
> >
> > Help
>
> As stated on the web page for the softsqueeze:
>
> If your server version is not listed below then use the version number in
> the 'Firmware/squeezebox.version' file on your Slim Server.
>
> I'm guessing you are running one of the newer nightlies, not the official.
> In that case (as in mine) use 10 when prompted for the firmware version.

The very latest nightlies (as in last night) may require 21 as the firmware version.

-kdf

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-07, 12:44
On Wed, 7 Apr 2004 10:18:18 +0100, Richard Titmuss wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.

Looks REALLY good! One minor thing that would be nice (if it's even
possible)... get rid of the console window and "consolidate" the two java
windows into one (or provide a way to do so optionally) so I only have one
item in my taskbar rather than three (console, softsqueeze, remote). Yeah,
I'm sure there are higher priority things at this point and that's fine.
Eventually would be nice though.

seanadams
2004-04-07, 12:47
Please use 0 for the version number! Then it will never prompt for
upgrade.

In fact there is no reason for softsqueeze to ask the user for the
firmware rev to send - it should just always be zero.



On Apr 7, 2004, at 12:33 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:

> On Wed, 7 Apr 2004 19:05:45 +0100, Karl wrote:
>
>> Mine only says update firmware hold brightness etc
>>
>> Help
>
> As stated on the web page for the softsqueeze:
>
> If your server version is not listed below then use the version number
> in
> the 'Firmware/squeezebox.version' file on your Slim Server.
>
> I'm guessing you are running one of the newer nightlies, not the
> official.
> In that case (as in mine) use 10 when prompted for the firmware
> version.
>
>

kdf
2004-04-07, 12:49
Quoting Jeff Shanholtz <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com>:

> On Wed, 7 Apr 2004 10:18:18 +0100, Richard Titmuss wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> > http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> Looks REALLY good! One minor thing that would be nice (if it's even
> possible)... get rid of the console window and "consolidate" the two java
> windows into one (or provide a way to do so optionally) so I only have one
> item in my taskbar rather than three (console, softsqueeze, remote). Yeah,
> I'm sure there are higher priority things at this point and that's fine.
> Eventually would be nice though.

If it helps, the Java conmsole should allow itself to be turned off from the
Java Control Panel applet in teh Control Panel. It can also turn off the Java
icon in the system tray.

-kdf

rtitmuss
2004-04-07, 13:38
Just to clarify if you are using a relased version of the slim server (e.g.
5.1.1), then you do need to enter the firmware version as described on the
softsqueeze website. As Sean suggests, version number 0 will work for the
nightlies. If things go according to plan the next release of softsqueeze
won't ask you for a firmware version anymore, so this problem will just go
away ...

Regards,
Richard


----- Original Message -----
From: "Sean Adams" <sadams (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 07, 2004 8:47 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.3


>
> Please use 0 for the version number! Then it will never prompt for
> upgrade.
>
> In fact there is no reason for softsqueeze to ask the user for the
> firmware rev to send - it should just always be zero.

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-04-07, 13:51
>> Looks REALLY good! One minor thing that would be nice (if it's even
>> possible)... get rid of the console window and "consolidate" the two java
>> windows into one (or provide a way to do so optionally) so I only have one
>> item in my taskbar rather than three (console, softsqueeze, remote). Yeah,
>> I'm sure there are higher priority things at this point and that's fine.
>> Eventually would be nice though.
>
> If it helps, the Java conmsole should allow itself to be turned off from the
> Java Control Panel applet in teh Control Panel. It can also turn off the Java
> icon in the system tray.
>
> -kdf

Actually I guess my problem was running "java" instead of "javaw". It would
still be nice not to get the two different java windows in my taskbar
though. :)

rtitmuss
2004-04-07, 14:04
Jeff,

> Actually I guess my problem was running "java" instead of "javaw". It
would
> still be nice not to get the two different java windows in my taskbar
> though. :)

I've got some thoughts about that - I'll see what I can do to fix this.

Regards,
Richard

Mark Bennett
2004-04-07, 14:52
This is much better than v0.1 (I skipped v0.2 waiting for Flac
support) although on my small, high res screens it's very small.

I'm running on WinXP Home, and Java "1.4.2_03-b02".

I can't seem to get the FLAC support to work. MP3, Ogg and
WAV work fine, and sound comes out nicely. Try a Flac track,
and the player thinks it's playing, the track timer counts
up etc. but no sound comes out. Any ideas on this?

Flac works fine from the same server to a hardware squeezebox.

Otherwise it's a great little application. It'll be really
useful.

It also looks like there's some automatic brightness dimmer
after a while, I hope there'll be a way to turn this off when
the options appear, it makes the display unreadable for me
(see comment about small display...)

I've also noticed one oddity with the remote control:

I undocked the remote control, and then manually lined it
back up again. There didn't seem to be any gravity to snap
then together (like WinAmp has), but no problem. Then,
I go from a highlighted window in Windows, and pick up the
Softsqueeze from the display bit rather than the remote bit
and move it around the screen. The remote section then goes
behind some windows on my desktop, while the display part
stays in front.

Pick SoftSqueeze up from the remote bit and it then works
fine until you go back to square one. Pretty minor problem
but it looks really wierd.

Richard Titmuss wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
>
> A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this one.
>
> New features include:
> - 'Excession' skin.
> - Support for Flac, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, uncompressed WAV and AIFF audio.
> - Synchronization with Squeezebox and Slimp3 **.
> - Improved slim protocol support.
> - Detects when connection to slim server is lost, and reconnects.
> - Quick link to slim server web interface.
> - Improved keyboard support.
>
> ** - Synchronization is still work in progress. Just don't try and listen to
> them both in the same room yet, might drive you crazy ;-)
>
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>

Peter Bowyer
2004-04-08, 02:15
+1 for the size thing - it's tiny at1280x1024 on my 17" screen. Making it
stetchable is prbably a big task, but perhaps a choice of
small-medium-large?

Peter

----- Original Message -----
From: "Mark Bennett" <mark (AT) markandliz (DOT) co.uk>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 07, 2004 10:52 PM
Subject: [slim] Softsqueeze v0.3


> This is much better than v0.1 (I skipped v0.2 waiting for Flac
> support) although on my small, high res screens it's very small.
>
> I'm running on WinXP Home, and Java "1.4.2_03-b02".
>
> I can't seem to get the FLAC support to work. MP3, Ogg and
> WAV work fine, and sound comes out nicely. Try a Flac track,
> and the player thinks it's playing, the track timer counts
> up etc. but no sound comes out. Any ideas on this?
>
> Flac works fine from the same server to a hardware squeezebox.
>
> Otherwise it's a great little application. It'll be really
> useful.
>
> It also looks like there's some automatic brightness dimmer
> after a while, I hope there'll be a way to turn this off when
> the options appear, it makes the display unreadable for me
> (see comment about small display...)
>
> I've also noticed one oddity with the remote control:
>
> I undocked the remote control, and then manually lined it
> back up again. There didn't seem to be any gravity to snap
> then together (like WinAmp has), but no problem. Then,
> I go from a highlighted window in Windows, and pick up the
> Softsqueeze from the display bit rather than the remote bit
> and move it around the screen. The remote section then goes
> behind some windows on my desktop, while the display part
> stays in front.
>
> Pick SoftSqueeze up from the remote bit and it then works
> fine until you go back to square one. Pretty minor problem
> but it looks really wierd.
>
> Richard Titmuss wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > Softsqueeze version 0.3 is now available at
> > http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net.
> >
> > A big thanks to Graham, Dolf, Dean and Peter for helping out with this
one.
> >
> > New features include:
> > - 'Excession' skin.
> > - Support for Flac, Ogg Vorbis, AAC, uncompressed WAV and AIFF audio.
> > - Synchronization with Squeezebox and Slimp3 **.
> > - Improved slim protocol support.
> > - Detects when connection to slim server is lost, and reconnects.
> > - Quick link to slim server web interface.
> > - Improved keyboard support.
> >
> > ** - Synchronization is still work in progress. Just don't try and
listen to
> > them both in the same room yet, might drive you crazy ;-)
> >
> >
> > Regards,
> > Richard
> >
> >

rtitmuss
2004-04-08, 02:35
> This is much better than v0.1 (I skipped v0.2 waiting for Flac
> support) although on my small, high res screens it's very small.

The next release should support multiple skins, so you will be able to
choose a larger one if you like.

> I'm running on WinXP Home, and Java "1.4.2_03-b02".
>
> I can't seem to get the FLAC support to work. MP3, Ogg and
> WAV work fine, and sound comes out nicely. Try a Flac track,
> and the player thinks it's playing, the track timer counts
> up etc. but no sound comes out. Any ideas on this?

Is this all FLAC files, or just some specific ones? Have you got any
specific transcoding options setup on your slim server (for example a
different bitrate for FLAC then Ogg)?

> It also looks like there's some automatic brightness dimmer
> after a while, I hope there'll be a way to turn this off when
> the options appear, it makes the display unreadable for me
> (see comment about small display...)

This is maybe one area where I've taken the squeezebox emulation to far ;-)
If you look in the slim server player settings then you can control the
brightness of the display. You want to change the 'Brightness when off' from
'Dim' to 'Brightest'.

> I've also noticed one oddity with the remote control:
>
> I undocked the remote control, and then manually lined it
> back up again. There didn't seem to be any gravity to snap
> then together (like WinAmp has), but no problem. Then,
> I go from a highlighted window in Windows, and pick up the
> Softsqueeze from the display bit rather than the remote bit
> and move it around the screen. The remote section then goes
> behind some windows on my desktop, while the display part
> stays in front.
>
> Pick SoftSqueeze up from the remote bit and it then works
> fine until you go back to square one. Pretty minor problem
> but it looks really wierd.

Yes, I still have some window issues to sort out. So far people have
mentioned:
- raising/lowering player and remote window together
- strange drag movements
- choice of display size (is it just a larger display you would like, or
larger buttons as well?)

Any others?


Regards,
Richard

Mark Bennett
2004-04-08, 14:40
Hi Richard

Richard Titmuss wrote:
>>This is much better than v0.1 (I skipped v0.2 waiting for Flac
>>support) although on my small, high res screens it's very small.
>
>
> The next release should support multiple skins, so you will be able to
> choose a larger one if you like.

Sounds great.

>>I'm running on WinXP Home, and Java "1.4.2_03-b02".
>>
>>I can't seem to get the FLAC support to work. MP3, Ogg and
>>WAV work fine, and sound comes out nicely. Try a Flac track,
>>and the player thinks it's playing, the track timer counts
>>up etc. but no sound comes out. Any ideas on this?
>
>
> Is this all FLAC files, or just some specific ones? Have you got any
> specific transcoding options setup on your slim server (for example a
> different bitrate for FLAC then Ogg)?

So I've been playing around with this some more tonight, and I
can now get the FLAC to work. However not all the time.

Seems to be that when it's not working if I press play on the
web interface to the server, then press play on the "remote" it
works.

Changing tracks, from either the web or the remote break it
again. Pressing play on the web followed by play on the remote
get it working. (Although I'm not sure it does it all the time.)

I have noticed that when I exit SoftSqueeze the server seems
to think it's still there, and seems to playing the track. When
I start the the SoftSqueeze in this state it immediately seems
to go into playing mode, although no sound comes out.

>>It also looks like there's some automatic brightness dimmer
>>after a while, I hope there'll be a way to turn this off when
>>the options appear, it makes the display unreadable for me
>>(see comment about small display...)
>
>
> This is maybe one area where I've taken the squeezebox emulation to far ;-)
> If you look in the slim server player settings then you can control the
> brightness of the display. You want to change the 'Brightness when off' from
> 'Dim' to 'Brightest'.

Much better - now the screen stays bright enough to read :-)

>>I've also noticed one oddity with the remote control:
>>
>> I undocked the remote control, and then manually lined it
>> back up again. There didn't seem to be any gravity to snap
>> then together (like WinAmp has), but no problem. Then,
>> I go from a highlighted window in Windows, and pick up the
>> Softsqueeze from the display bit rather than the remote bit
>> and move it around the screen. The remote section then goes
>> behind some windows on my desktop, while the display part
>> stays in front.
>>
>> Pick SoftSqueeze up from the remote bit and it then works
>> fine until you go back to square one. Pretty minor problem
>> but it looks really wierd.
>
>
> Yes, I still have some window issues to sort out. So far people have
> mentioned:
> - raising/lowering player and remote window together
> - strange drag movements
> - choice of display size (is it just a larger display you would like, or
> larger buttons as well?)

For me the buttons are fine. I can handle concentrating when I'm
trying to control it, but I'd like to be able to read the "Now
Playing" info from a quick glance, especially when I'm shuffling
and hear something I haven't listened to in 10 years B-)

For reference the text seems to be about half the size of the
track text on WinAmp.

> Any others?

I haven't observed anything else yet, even what I have observed is
funny rather than anything else.