PDA

View Full Version : No sound from SB3



lrossouw
2008-09-14, 10:57
Hi

Have been a happy SB3 user for 2 years or so. Recently my one SB3 played music at extremely high volume (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=52432). This I fixed by power cycling.

This morning my SB3 doesn't make any sound. It seems to be playing (the VU meters twiddle and all that) but no sound comes out. I swapped my to SB3s and the same unit kept giving me a problem. Also tried the SqueezeNetwork.

I have also reset (holding add while turning on and holding 1 while turning on). No luck?

Any other ideas?

Louis

lrossouw
2008-09-14, 13:05
any ideas?

peter
2008-09-15, 05:53
lrossouw wrote:
> any ideas?
>

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Hardware_Reset_commands

Another FAQ...

Regards,
Peter

lrossouw
2008-09-15, 06:05
lrossouw wrote:
> any ideas?
>

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Hardware_Reset_commands

Another FAQ...

Regards,
Peter

Tried both these as per my post above. The SB3 did reset/reprogram but did not solve the problem.

lrossouw
2008-09-16, 00:32
Feel like I'm talking to myself in this thread :)

Anyway support said I must send it back for repairs (it went out of warranty a couple of months ago...), and given that I'm in South Africa this was going to be a costly mission.

So I thought I'd try the headphones and as I fiddled with the plugs sound came out. Unplugged the headphones and the sound came and went. Touched/squeezed(!)/tapped the unit and the sound came back.

So there is some loose connection in there somewhere. Possibly I can fix this myself? Anyone have any experience with this?

Otherwise I will just squeeze my squeezebox on a regular basis.

Cheers
Louis

pfarrell
2008-09-16, 00:40
lrossouw wrote:
> So there is some loose connection in there somewhere. Possibly I can
> fix this myself? Anyone have any experience with this?

One of the amazing things about SlimDevices is that Sean happily
describes whats inside the box, and the SD folks would regularly tell
folks to open it up and check the wiring.

This in stark contrast to the typical consumer electronics vendors who
say "no user serviceable parts inside"

I'm sure some Logitech corporate lawyer is having a cow over reading
this now. But if its really impractical to box it up and DHL it to the
US, I say open it up and see where the cold solder joint is.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

lrossouw
2008-09-16, 00:50
lrossouw wrote:[color=blue]
One of the amazing things about SlimDevices is that Sean happily
describes whats inside the box, and the SD folks would regularly tell
folks to open it up and check the wiring.

It seems you are right. Was searching the forums and found this gem (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=43103). Not exactly related but it does confirm what you are saying and tells me that it is relatively easy to open it up.


lrossouw wrote:[color=blue]
But if its really impractical to box it up and DHL it to the
US, I say open it up and see where the cold solder joint is.

Yeah it is a mission and expensive. Just getting a quote is a mission and then customs forms and, and,..