PDA

View Full Version : Output Options



fuzzyT
2008-09-13, 14:46
I'm enjoying my new Boom.

Right now, I'm playing around with different configurations in the
various rooms where I might use it (or more units).

It occurs to me that it might be nice in some situations to be able to
use both a full-spectrum line-out and the internal speakers at the same
time.

Unless I'm missing something, it appears that connecting to the only
full-spectrum (headphone) output will cut out the Boom's speakers.
That's exactly what you'd expect for headphone use, but it's also
limiting. For outdoor and party purposes, it would be nice to be able
run an output to a bigger system while also running the Boom's internal
speakers.

This isn't any kind of deal breaker for me, but I'm wondering if it
makes sense to anyone else that a third option be added to the Line Out
menu that would let this output behave more like, well, a standard Line
Out rather than a headphone or sub out.

--rt

ModelCitizen
2008-09-13, 14:59
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9051

MC

fuzzyT
2008-09-13, 17:25
ModelCitizen wrote:
> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9051

Thanks, hadn't seen that (obviously). I've added few thoughts to the
comments.

--rt

ModelCitizen
2008-09-13, 23:51
I've added few thoughts to the
comments.


You forgot "off" though. As it's so fiddly getting the headphones in and out of the recessed socket I (at least) leave then in all the time. It'd be good to be able to turn the Output off so as to not damage the headphones whilst using the speakers.

Anyone who uses headphones a bit (or changes the Line Out settings frequently) might like to vote for this bug:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9357

MC

fuzzyT
2008-09-14, 07:28
Good point. Agree this would be useful.

--rt

ModelCitizen wrote:
> fuzzyT;340078 Wrote:
>> I've added few thoughts to the
>> comments.
>
>
> You forgot "off" though. As it's so fiddly getting the headphones in
> and out of the recessed socket I (at least) leave then in all the time.
> It'd be good to be able to turn the Output off so as to not damage the
> headphones whilst using the speakers.
>
> MC
>
>

Chunkywizard
2010-03-09, 04:41
Hi there,

I would like a top level 'Line Out' menu item on my Boom as talked about in this thread. Looking at http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9357 it says it's fixed, but as far as I can see, it isn't. Looking at Server Settings/Menus Line Out isn't an option. Am I missing something or is this bug not actually fixed?

CW

andynormancx
2010-03-09, 06:27
Have you enabled the Line Out plugin ?

Chunkywizard
2010-03-09, 06:32
!

no, I haven't. I have just bought some wireless headphones (Sennheiser RS120's) and didn't have the Line Out plug-in enabled (because I didn't need it before)

Thanks for putting me straight!

CW

andynormancx
2010-03-09, 07:20
It is worth look at the Kidsplay plugin as well. I use it to assign macros to presets 1 and 2. Preset 1 is "enable speakers", preset 2 is "disable speakers".

burlingtonbill
2010-05-05, 11:54
I have one requirement for this output -- that it be a full-range STEREO output, not a mono, low-pass (typical for subwoofer) signal.

I have a "3.5mm plug-to-RCA plugs" cable running to aux inputs on a stereo amp, known to be OK and one channel is weak. Wanted to be assured from someone more familiar that I should be able to expect both left and right signals, equal volume and full range.

Bill @weldoc7@gmail.com

ModelCitizen
2010-05-05, 12:16
I have one requirement for this output -- that it be a full-range STEREO output, not a mono, low-pass (typical for subwoofer) signal.
The Boom's clever line out is switchable between:

Headphones
Sub-woofer
Always On
Always Off.

So yes, it does what you require.

MC