PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! No Sound



mikel51
2008-09-13, 13:27
My Squeezeboom was working fine for a few days. I have a Windows server and a ReadyNAS server. I am running Inguz DSP on the windows server. When I plugged in the squeezeboom, it worked both from both servers, but I was running from the NAS so that it wouldn't have the equalized sound. Today, I disabled the Inguz plugin and switched it to the Windows server. It appeared to be playing music, elapsed time bar moving, however I couldn't get any sound at any volume. There was a message in the top right of the display "Inguz DSP has expired." I switched the boom back to the NAS server and still no sound (also showed Inguz expired message). I reprogrammed xilinx, did a hardware reset, and forced a firmware update. still no sound from either server. I updated the Inguz.exe file to a current version. My transporter is playing fine from the servers. I've run out of ideas and haven't a clue what to do next. Any suggestions?

ccrome2
2008-09-13, 13:43
What happens when you connect directly to Squeeze network and try to play an
internet stream?

On Sat, Sep 13, 2008 at 1:27 PM, mikel51 <
mikel51.3fp0nz1221337802 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> My Squeezeboom was working fine for a few days. I have a Windows server
> and a ReadyNAS server. I am running Inguz DSP on the windows server.
> When I plugged in the squeezeboom, it worked both from both servers,
> but I was running from the NAS so that it wouldn't have the equalized
> sound. Today, I disabled the Inguz plugin and switched it to the
> Windows server. It appeared to be playing music, elapsed time bar
> moving, however I couldn't get any sound at any volume. There was a
> message in the top right of the display "Inguz DSP has expired." I
> switched the boom back to the NAS server and still no sound (also
> showed Inguz expired message). I reprogrammed xilinx, did a hardware
> reset, and forced a firmware update. still no sound from either
> server. I updated the Inguz.exe file to a current version. My
> transporter is playing fine from the servers. I've run out of ideas
> and haven't a clue what to do next. Any suggestions?
>
>
> --
> mikel51
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> mikel51's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=16688
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=52587
>
>

mikel51
2008-09-13, 16:45
I had the brilliant idea of trying to use headphones. Both servers play fine through headphones and still no sounds through the speakers. My troubleshooting thoughts would lead me to thinking this as blown out amplification circuitry.

ccrome2
2008-09-13, 17:20
If you stick your ear right up to the tweeters, can you hear a slight hiss?
(Be careful! Don't press any buttons when you do that to make sure no
sounds come out!).
If there is no hiss, the amps are not turned on. They should be turned on
since we haven't implemented the 'turn them off when silent' mode yet.

I tend to agree with you -- it sounds like some problem with the power amps.

-Caleb


On Sat, Sep 13, 2008 at 4:45 PM, mikel51 <
mikel51.3fp9xb1221349801 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> I had the brilliant idea of trying to use headphones. Both servers play
> fine through headphones and still no sounds through the speakers. My
> troubleshooting thoughts would lead me to thinking this as blown out
> amplification circuitry.
>
>
> --
> mikel51
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> mikel51's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=16688
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=52587
>
>