PDA

View Full Version : Word spacing on SB3 display on 7.2



david_f1976
2008-09-08, 06:11
I've just re-installed my system and in the process moved from SC7.1 to 7.2. On my SB3 display it appears that there is no spacing between words, e.g. "A Girl Called Eddy" appears as "AGirlCalledEddy". All is fine in the web interface. I'm pretty sure that this wasn't occurring previously. Any ideas?

EDIT: There is a slight gap between words, but it seems to be much smaller than before. This is making quick navigation/browsing a bit more difficult.

Thanks
Dave

mherger
2008-09-08, 06:28
> I've just re-installed my system and in the process moved from SC7.1 to
> 7.2. On my SB3 display it appears that there is no spacing between

We've seen various reports of such behaviour:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9147

Could you please do the test as suggested by triode in one of the last comments?

--

Michael

david_f1976
2008-09-08, 07:54
>
We've seen various reports of such behaviour:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9147

Could you please do the test as suggested by triode in one of the last comments?


When I click on the link, I'm taken to a bug page. I then click on the url for the forum thread and I get a permission problem.

Is this the correct procedure or am I missing something?

david_f1976
2008-09-08, 08:01
Sorry, my brain isn't working well today.

Do you mean the bit about replacing the font file?

I don't have an old version of SC installed anywhere, so not sure where I'd get the fonts from. And if I did, I'd probably need instructions to do the replacement.

moley6knipe
2008-09-08, 08:58
Ah, so it's not supposed to look like that!!

I'm seeing exactly the same thing, running a nightly of 7.2 WinXP SP3 and an SB3.

When I get a moment to myself at home I'll post back with more details on which build of 7.2 and my SB3 firmware.

I also don't have a backup of 7.1 (there's a lesson there...) - however I assume I could extract it from http://downloads.slimdevices.com/SqueezeCenter_v7.1.0/SqueezeCenter-7.1.ZIP (if someone could tell me what files to look for and where they go)?

I'll put my experiences on the bug report too, once I'm home and near my password!

amcluesent
2008-09-08, 10:24
Same problem here -

SqueezeCenter Version: 7.2 - 22900 @ Tue Aug 26 11:27:23 PDT 2008 - Windows Vista - EN - cp1252
Model: Squeezebox v3
Firmware: 112

Using MusicInfoScr 4.2. The inter-word spacing is fine on the TP thought :)

david_f1976
2008-09-08, 12:50
Just had a quick play and to my eyes the spacing seems ok on the small font size, but not on medium or large.

For the record I am on Ubuntu 8.04.1 64-bit edition
SqueezeCenter Version: 7.2 - 22900 @ Tue Aug 26 10:45:08 PDT 2008 - Debian - EN - utf8
SB3 firmware: 112

Dave

mherger
2008-09-08, 12:59
> The inter-word spacing is fine on the TP thought :)

Could you please add these details to the bug mentioned? Thanks!

--

Michael

david_f1976
2008-12-12, 14:31
Just upgraded to 7.3/Firmware 120. The word spacing problem still remains.