PDA

View Full Version : Squeeze Centre wouldn't find music on computer



kcdownunder
2008-09-05, 22:56
Hi Guys,

I just came home today with a SqueezeBox Duet and I'm having a hell of a time with it. For some reason Squeeze Center 7.2 can't find all the music on my hard drive. It only finds about ten of them, although the controller does list all my albums it has them in the Music Folder and wouldn't let me play them. All my music is under Media Player 11 in XP not Itunes, does that make a difference? What do I do? Please make all suggestions noob friendly.

KC

davep
2008-09-05, 23:24
Can you explain how you got your music onto the hard drive? Did you rip in Media Player 11 with the "copy protect" option turned on, or buy from an online store?

davep

kcdownunder
2008-09-05, 23:48
I did rip using Media 11. Is there a 'copy protect' option in Media Player?

davep
2008-09-06, 00:51
Not being a Media Player user I cannot check, but according to the google results I got there is such an option and I suspect, being M$, it is turned on by default. If this is the case then you have something of a problem as the Squeezebox, along with almost all other media players, is not allowed to read the files -even though they were your CDs! I suggest you check for the option in MP-11, make sure it is off and then rip a new CD. If, after rescanning your Squeezecenter library, you can see and play the new CD that's your answer.

What you do about it depends on a few factors but there are a few suggestions we can go into oncd you confirm that this is the cause of your problems.

davep

Phil Leigh
2008-09-06, 01:02
I don't think that CP is on by default - it certainly wasn't on my MP11.
Under the "Now Playing" tab, use the arrow to get to "more options" and then look at the Rip Music tab...that's where the CP option lives.

kcdownunder
2008-09-06, 01:21
I've just checked it and the CP isn't on. I've also inabled share media files for Media 11. The strange thing is that Squeezebox found about ten CDs but not the other couple of hundred. Has nobody else had this problem?

Phil Leigh
2008-09-06, 01:34
Are all your music files on the same drive? - how are your music directories laid out?

Zaragon
2008-09-06, 05:17
I believe that earlier versions of the media player did have the copy protection option turned on by default. So if they were ripped with an earlier version this is most likely the problem.

As was mentioned if you re-rip one of the CDs that can't be found by SqueezeCenter and it then can find it the copy protection is the most likely candidate.

kcdownunder
2008-09-07, 00:13
I deleted a cd this morning and reripped it, it came up fine but when I tried it again this afternoon it doesn't seem to work for some reason. The only differents between this morning and this afternoon was my internet link was down when I did it. And all the cd's that Squeezebox have found seem to be one's I've bought and ripped since my last upgrade, although I stayed with the same old copy of XP.

kcdownunder
2008-09-07, 00:33
It just struck me, are there any better systems around for ripping music to your computer. I'm not a Media 11 fan boy and only used it because it came free with XP. If I have to start over again with all my cd's what program would you recommend to go with Sqeezebox?

davep
2008-09-07, 02:27
It just struck me, are there any better systems around for ripping music to your computer. I'm not a Media 11 fan boy and only used it because it came free with XP. If I have to start over again with all my cd's what program would you recommend to go with Sqeezebox?

The two which people here use on XP are EAC, which is free (http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/) but can be a bit complex to set up, and dBpoweramp, which is not free (http://www.dbpoweramp.com/) but reportedly more user friendly.

The important thing is in either case to rip to a lossless format - most would recommend flac - so as to preserve the original contents of the CD for the highest fidelity of replay. The bonus with flac is that the SB will decode it in the machine so you only have to send the compressed stream via the network which effectively reduces the load and improves performance.

If your internet connection is down when you rip then the automated lookup of the CD to get the data on names of tracks and artists will fail. I'm not sure how MP-11 handles this but it may have saved the rip with no tags and that may have made it hard to find.

davep

peter
2008-09-07, 11:10
kcdownunder wrote:
> It just struck me, are there any better systems around for ripping music
> to your computer. I'm not a Media 11 fan boy and only used it because it
> came free with XP. If I have to start over again with all my cd's what
> program would you recommend to go with Sqeezebox?
>
I'd also recommend dbPowerAmp (EAC is too complicated) and ripping your
CD's to FLAC format.
I think you can get the free version if you don't want to rip to MP3 format.

Regards,
Peter

kcdownunder
2008-09-07, 16:06
I want to thank all of you for our very kind assistance!

The Story so far:

I spent a couple of hours last night deleting and re-ripping five of my cd's in Media 11, restarting my computer after each rip, hoping that SqueezeCentre would find them. No luck. After sleeping on it I found Davep's post about dBpoweramp and down loaded the free trial copy. I deleted one cd and ripped it with dBpoweramp then restarted my computer, nothing. I then did a total delete of SqueezeCentre and then reloaded it. All five cd's from the night before and the new one ripped by dBpoweramp popped up on SqueezeCentre. So the good news is that I have to re-rip every cd I own, luckly I don't have any downloaded music so I can do that, in time. The bad news is that my controler doesn't show any of the cd's now, including the origanal hand full that I had from the begining. Do I have to re-input my pin after re-installing SqueezeCentre?

kcdownunder
2008-09-07, 19:34
Just to keep all the kind people here on the Forum posted;

I,ve had to do a complete delete of first SqueezeCentre and then every cd in media 11. I then started re-ripping all my cd's in dBpoweramp in FLAC ( thanks davep and Peter, 58 cd's and counting). I then re-instaled SqueezeCentre and reset the controller to factory presets using the instructions on the Wiki site and everything came up as sweet as pie.
So if anyone else has the same problem with an old copy of Windows XP, I bought mine the first year XP came out, the bad news is you have to start all over again. And the good news, well, it can be done if you have lots of spare time.

Thanks alot to everyone who gave me their time and kind thoughts.

KC

davep
2008-09-08, 00:02
Not sure if I'm misunderstanding your actions in my speedreading, but you do understand that you have to initiate a rescan of the music folder in SqueezeCenter to get it to see new tracks which you have added. This step can be automated - which is what I do, setting it to do a full rescan at 2:00am every day when I am (usually) fast asleep and not listening to music. That way it is up-to-date every morning with anything I have added the day before.

If I do need to play the new additions before the rescan (most times, actually) I just navigate through the Music Folders tree to find the track and hit play. This also has the action of adding it to the library database at the same time.

Good job you caught this at 58 CDs rather than the 1,000 mark!

davep

kcdownunder
2008-09-10, 00:29
Hi davep;

I knew about the rescan but for some reason every time I tried to rescan SqueezeCentre would lock up tight. The only way I could rescan while I was still using media 11 was doing a clean reload of Squeezecentre. Luckly that problem disappeared after I started using dBpoweramp so now I'm up and running.

Thanks again for all you help.

KC