PDA

View Full Version : Does Boom send Wake on Lan Magic Packets?



dvbnick
2008-08-29, 05:02
Hi, to wake my SC-PC, Boom should send an Magic Packet like the Duet Controller does. Is this implemented?

dvbnick

Philip Meyer
2008-08-29, 05:11
Yes, Boom sends a WOL magic packet when the power button is manually pressed.

There is an outstanding enhancement request to also send the WOL magic packet automatically a few minutes before the next alarm occurs.

dvbnick
2008-08-29, 05:17
Great! Thanx for the quick answer.

Mnyb
2008-08-29, 05:43
Yes, Boom sends a WOL magic packet when the power button is manually pressed.

There is an outstanding enhancement request to also send the WOL magic packet automatically a few minutes before the next alarm occurs.

:-) I'll order when this is implemented my clock radio needs retirement.

dean
2008-08-29, 08:48
On Aug 29, 2008, at 5:43 AM, Mnyb wrote:

>
> Philip Meyer;333699 Wrote:
>> Yes, Boom sends a WOL magic packet when the power button is manually
>> pressed.
>>
>> There is an outstanding enhancement request to also send the WOL
>> magic
>> packet automatically a few minutes before the next alarm occurs.
>
> :-) I'll order when this is implemented my clock radio needs
> retirement.

Keep in mind that even though it currently doesn't send a WOL packet
when the alarm comes, the alarm _will_ go off without the computer
being on, but using tones generated locally in the Boom, not music
from the network.

Michaelwagner
2008-08-29, 21:05
Isn't this unnecessary? Couldn't SC put the PC into standby itself with a power alarm to take itself out of standby 5 minutes before the next alarm? The hardware to do this exists in every PC made in the current century, and windoze, of all things, supports it, so surely the other (all more sophisticated, as we all know) O/Ses do too.

Mnyb
2008-08-29, 22:34
Isn't this unnecessary? Couldn't SC put the PC into standby itself with a power alarm to take itself out of standby 5 minutes before the next alarm? The hardware to do this exists in every PC made in the current century, and windoze, of all things, supports it, so surely the other (all more sophisticated, as we all know) O/Ses do too.

Well you have to remember to set it in two places, and has to be set in Bios if the machine is completely powered down as mine is.
I dont think my bios have such advanced sheduling.

I could use a S3 sleep mode, but then comes the usual trouble how to stop disc spinning with SC :) etc.
And i have to learn much more linux as my CC4.2 has no GUI cron job was it ?

In the end it would be very practical and nifty if the BOOM did this.

If it also came in another color I would order now I want British racing green :) with wood accents

Michaelwagner
2008-08-30, 04:48
Well you have to remember to set it in two places
No, I said SqueezeCenter should do it, not you. That would be too much work, and the likelyhood of setting the two settings differently too high.

kunze
2008-09-05, 15:05
No, I said SqueezeCenter should do it, not you. That would be too much work, and the likelyhood of setting the two settings differently too high.

I would prefer the WOL option (boom sending the packet x minutes before the alarm). It is compatible with almost all hardware out there.

Setting a wakeup time for the PC (in BIOS or wherever) might work different depending on OS used, mainboard used, and it might not be supported at all on some NAS devices, older PC mainboards, ...

BR,
Michael

ccrome2
2008-09-05, 16:55
Will somebody who knows the correct answer to the wake-on-lan question
please put the correct answer in the FAQ?
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Squeezebox_Boom_FAQ

Thanks,
-Caleb


On Fri, Sep 5, 2008 at 3:05 PM, kunze <
kunze.3fabyn1220652604 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Michaelwagner;334214 Wrote:
> > No, I said SqueezeCenter should do it, not you. That would be too much
> > work, and the likelyhood of setting the two settings differently too
> > high.
>
> I would prefer the WOL option (boom sending the packet x minutes before
> the alarm). It is compatible with almost all hardware out there.
>
> Setting a wakeup time for the PC (in BIOS or wherever) might work
> different depending on OS used, mainboard used, and it might not be
> supported at all on some NAS devices, older PC mainboards, ...
>
> BR,
> Michael
>
>
> --
> kunze
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> kunze's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2290
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=51668
>
>

Mnyb
2008-09-05, 22:26
No, I said SqueezeCenter should do it, not you. That would be too much work, and the likelyhood of setting the two settings differently too high.

Ok so you can write applications that sets the schedule in the bios ? i had no idea that this was possible, but as kunze said is this going to work with every motherboard.
Are there options not aviable trough the usual bios interface ?

I'm using a via C7 motherboard somebody else migth have 10 year old hardware.

Michaelwagner
2008-09-06, 05:20
Windows has, for a long time now, supported a batch scheduler (for the *nix crowd, something like cron). One of the advanced options is "wake this computer to run the task". So I'm guessing there's a defined OS interface to the hardware clock that wakes the computer. Details, I don't know, sorry.