PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeCenter hangs at Loading page when accessed remotely



ajdthomson
2008-08-29, 03:17
Hi

I have recently set up SqueezeCenter and everything works fine locally. I have opened up port 9000 and 3483 on my router and forwarded them to the PC. I have also confirmed that WinXP firewall is opened too. However, although I can stream music, I am unable to access the GUI.

When I point my browser to http://myipaddress:9000/ the UI hangs at the "Loading SqueezeCenter..." page. I have checked that the security is not on.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
Al.

mherger
2008-08-29, 04:21
> I have opened up port 9000 and 3483 on my router and forwarded them to

Don't do this. Everyone will be able to control your players. Consider
some tunneling option (see http://wiki.slimdevices.com).

> When I point my browser to http://myipaddress:9000/ the UI hangs at the
> "Loading SqueezeCenter..." page.

Very likely some issue with your browser: if it's a corporate computer, do
you know whether some proxy might be filtering JavaScript? Do you see any
JavaScript error? Do you have JS enabled at all?

Michael

mherger
2008-08-29, 04:30
>> I have opened up port 9000 and 3483 on my router and forwarded them to
>
> Don't do this. Everyone will be able to control your players. Consider
> some tunneling option (see http://wiki.slimdevices.com).

Full link: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/RemoteStreaming

Michael

Siduhe
2008-08-29, 04:42
>> I have opened up port 9000 and 3483 on my router and forwarded them to
>
> Don't do this. Everyone will be able to control your players. Consider
> some tunneling option (see http://wiki.slimdevices.com).

Full link: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/RemoteStreaming

Michael

Michael, may I suggest that the Help/Remote Streaming page within SC should be updated with a warning about this?

I've added a short paragraph to the wiki but it's far from comprehensive and will need some work if you want to explain how to secure the connection - although all I think is needed from SC's point of view is the warning that you shouldn't do this unless you want your music turning on loud at 4am.

Also, isn't this the wiki page that explains how to SSH tunnel? http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/ConnectingRemotely

I can see at least four unprotected instances of SC and SS out there which weren't there three or four weeks ago.

mherger
2008-08-29, 05:57
> Michael, may I suggest that the Help/Remote Streaming page within SC
> should be updated with a warning about this?

Were probably going to rip most of the documentation out of SC to put it on the wiki instead.

--

Michael

ajdthomson
2008-08-29, 06:47
> I have opened up port 9000 and 3483 on my router and forwarded them to

Don't do this. Everyone will be able to control your players. Consider
some tunneling option (see http://wiki.slimdevices.com).

> When I point my browser to http://myipaddress:9000/ the UI hangs at the
> "Loading SqueezeCenter..." page.

Very likely some issue with your browser: if it's a corporate computer, do
you know whether some proxy might be filtering JavaScript? Do you see any
JavaScript error? Do you have JS enabled at all?

Michael
Hi - thanks for the quick response...

I am a computer professional and understand the tunneling options... when I get it working I will lock it down on my router by IP Address so no problems there.

Regardless, not a corporate computer, not accessing via proxy, javascript is enabled and no errors reported. Any ideas?

mherger
2008-08-29, 07:01
> Regardless, not a corporate computer, not accessing via proxy,
> javascript is enabled and no errors reported. Any ideas?

What browser are you using? JS errors won't be displayed by default in IE, can be found in an error console in FF/Opera. You could pm me your server's address (michael št slimdevices dott com) so I could take a look.

--

Michael

ajdthomson
2008-08-29, 08:06
> Regardless, not a corporate computer, not accessing via proxy,
> javascript is enabled and no errors reported. Any ideas?

What browser are you using? JS errors won't be displayed by default in IE, can be found in an error console in FF/Opera. You could pm me your server's address (michael št slimdevices dott com) so I could take a look.

--

Michael


Thanks very much - just sent you an email with details

mherger
2008-08-29, 08:34
> Thanks very much - just sent you an email with details

Hmm... that's odd indeed. It gets stuck while downloading a big .js file. Do you see anything in the server.log file? What router model are you using?

You can still access it using a different skin, eg. http://yourserver:9000/Classic

--

Michael

ajdthomson
2008-08-30, 00:58
Hi - thanks for having a look... yes, you are right, the classic skin works. I am using a Netgear DG834PN router. Not too sure where to go from here but since I can access via the classic skin, I can live with that!

Thanks
Al.

dave77
2009-04-16, 17:18
Did you ever get anywhere with this, i'm having a similar problem