PDA

View Full Version : SBC: "Now Playing" Wrong - Not Refreshing



BlueWombat
2008-08-25, 09:14
Hi -

I've tried to check the forums, but haven't seen any info on this problem:

From time to time, the information on the "Now Playing" screens is not properly updated. It will start out correct, but if I add songs or use the "Play" button to start a whole new group of songs, the "now playing" screen will continue to show the old songs. Often, when this has happended the Receiver will continue to properly move on to new songs, but the controller will not show the song changes, sticking to the previous song as "Now Playing." Also, at times, I have shuffled the playlist, and the songs being played do shuffle, but the playlist continues to show the old, unsorted order. Turning off the SBC and restarting it cleans up and corrects the playlist - I do NOT have to restart SqueezeCenter

I'm running 7.1 on an HP Mediasmart Server, which seems to run smoothly, except for this problem. I have the latest firmware for the SBC, which I am using with an SBR and a Squeezebox3. I am running also MusicIP, and have installed CustomBrowse and AlienBBC.

BlueWombat
2008-08-26, 10:50
Nobody else has had this problem?

To recap, Now Playing on on the controller doesn't refresh to show changes when new songs are added or deleted. Restarting the controller corrects the data. Any ideas on fixes???

HUEY
2008-08-26, 11:58
It's happened to me a couple of times. I just turn the SB controller off from the advanced settings menu, and then restart. Seems to solve the problem.
Rob

BlueWombat
2008-08-26, 16:08
Yeah - As I mentioned, I've found turning the controller off fixes it, but I didn't know if there was a better solution.

renkinj
2008-08-27, 06:15
I have the same problem. In fact, I have it soooo much it really is an issue. I don't yet have a solution and just started my search for one about 1 1/2 minutes ago. If you find one please PM me and i will do the same for you.

I also have another problem, more lately, when I choose a song on the controller within an album it plays a different song than the one I chose. I think this is an issue with the random setting, but I need to explore it further too. Do you, or anyone else, find anything similar? It does not seem to do this on the computer, only the controller.

BlueWombat
2008-08-28, 13:05
I have the same problem. In fact, I have it soooo much it really is an issue. I don't yet have a solution and just started my search for one about 1 1/2 minutes ago. If you find one please PM me and i will do the same for you.

Just to keep you updated, I posted it as a bug - we'll have to see what comes of it.

balts
2008-09-12, 07:06
Didn't know the post already exist! Same problem here!!!
Is there any news about solving this bug?


thanks

BlueWombat
2008-09-12, 18:05
I posted it as a bug. THe suggestion was to upgrade to the latest software - I have but no luck.

jrichardson
2008-09-16, 15:12
Anyone experiencing this issue, please post your findings in the bug report, so we can figure out and fix the issue:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=9315

Please tell us:
1) what content you are streaming
2) what screen saver you have enabled on the controller
3) does this happen if the controller is docked (in charger) our out
4) does this happen on SqueezeCenter ONLY, or also on SqueezeNetwork (please test on SN to see if you have the same issue)
5) please describe any steps you take to reproduce this issue so we can figure it out here :)

Thanks

BlueWombat
2008-09-23, 21:11
Interesting change - The other day my controller just seemed to not want to connect to my server no matter what I did and in frustration I did the Factory Reset. Well, I connected to my server again PLUS I haven't seen the playlist issue since. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

balts
2008-09-30, 03:03
How come only we have those problems? I will post also here my findouts.

When the controller stucks on now playing and shows wrong "now playing", try to hold the power button. When the power logo and goodbye shows, in the back of transparency, the nowplaying gets replaced with right info for 1 second and then the controller shuts down. Interesting. Right before it shuts down, it gets corrected. Maybe this can somehow help to developers?

btw: any news about this problem, which is in my case daily problem!

BlueWombat
2008-10-21, 20:26
"balts": I was just reviewing this thread to see if there were any updates. I must say I haven't noticed the problem again since I rest my controller back to the factory setting. I had previously installed the Lyrics add-in and tried to install a game someone had written for the controller - I did not reinstall them after the reset, so I don't know if they were the original cause.

Try the factory reset - I seemed pretty painless and it's worked since.

DeVerm
2008-10-21, 20:48
I see this sometimes and I suspect the following to be related:

1. happens more often while playing random song list and fiddling with that list like adding another song, especially when adding it to "play next"

2. after I increased the number of songs to be displayed in the random playlist to 50 (from default 10 or so) it happened more often.

When I start a random playback and don't fiddle with the list, it doesn't happen at all.

cheers,
Nick.

ModelCitizen
2008-10-22, 06:43
when I choose a song on the controller within an album it plays a different song than the one I chose.
I also have this, but I use 7.3 nightlies. I have not had time to diagnose it properly yet but I have *not* been using Random Mix and noticed it happening when I was browsing large Various Artist albums and selecting one song to play.

I also have similar Now Playing problems.... but with the SB3 ui. I've not noticed it on the Controller (but then I use it a lot less).

MC

mortod
2008-11-03, 08:54
I have the same problem - has been annoying me for well over a year now, since I think I upgraded to 6.5.3, and now on 7.2

Definitely only with random mix plug. In my case I power the SB3 off between listening sessions. I find that if powered off for 1 minute or less then it behaves OK, but anything over 2 minutes it will not remember the random mix list that should be displayed under 'now playing'.

Started another thread before finding this one. Can you point me at the bug report so I can add a vote/info?