PDA

View Full Version : A dead VFD on an old friend



DrNic
2008-08-24, 10:30
Hi all,
I'm not sure if anyone can help me here, or if the founders of Slimdevices still have any spares for good old kit!
My SB1G (manufactured March 2004) has finally given up the electrical ghost. After some testing (out came the old AVO meter) it seems that the VFD unit is dead. There is power getting to it, but nothing at all on the display (not even faint glow - as others have previously seen). I know the unit appears to work as I can see it on the network and the optical out light is glowing. I'd like to say I was clever enough to not have reset the device before looking into it further so I could at least prove that audio was coming out of it! After the reset it means I have lost all network settings. I have tried to "step" through the setup process blind (removing encryption from the setup to simplify things) but can't get it through to being seen by slimserver.
So my question:
can I still get a VFD unit "spare" for a SB1G? If so - how much? (is the repair worth it?), or any other thoughts on this death of a vintage...?!!

Thanks

Nic

PS unit previously working flawlessly - died overnight.

st2000
2008-08-31, 11:37
DrNic wrote:
> Hi all,
> I'm not sure if anyone can help me here, or if the founders of
> Slimdevices still have any spares for good old kit!
> My SB1G (manufactured March 2004) has finally given up the electrical
> ghost. After some testing (out came the old AVO meter) it seems that
> the VFD unit is dead. There is power getting to it, but nothing at all
> on the display (not even faint glow - as others have previously seen).
> I know the unit appears to work as I can see it on the network and the
> optical out light is glowing. I'd like to say I was clever enough to
> not have reset the device before looking into it further so I could at
> least prove that audio was coming out of it! After the reset it means I
> have lost all network settings. I have tried to "step" through the setup
> process blind (removing encryption from the setup to simplify things)
> but can't get it through to being seen by slimserver.
> So my question:
> can I still get a VFD unit "spare" for a SB1G? If so - how much? (is
> the repair worth it?), or any other thoughts on this death of a
> vintage...?!!
>
> Thanks
>
> Nic
>
> PS unit previously working flawlessly - died overnight.

No one followed up on this?

Humm, if you reset it - skip the wireless setup (no way you're going to
be able to do that) and try to 10BaseT it up to your network. Most
people use routers as the DHPC server so check that (or what ever you
are using) and see if the MAC of the SB shows up. At that point I would
think reset or no reset you are connected (or am I wrong - I don't
remember much else if anything that I had to do). At this point, point
your web browser at the server and see if the server "sees" the SB client.

What to do:

1) Wasn't there someone here that had a dead SB because of a lightning
hit and was selling his remote control? Maybe you could buy his unit
and swap out parts. A bit chancy - so it's up to you.

2) Remember, if the unit is still good (plays music) you can always use
the web interface on the server to control it. And if that doesn't fit
your needs - I would sell your unit (someone will probably find the
before mentioned scenario attractive for the right price) and buy a new one.

3) You could keep it, buy a new one and run them in sync w/each other so
you could have the option of listening to music on multiple stereos
(i.e. locations) in your house / office. No real need to have a display
on the 2nd unit in that case.

....is it me, or is my follow up starting to sound like that old joke
about how different forms of government deal with the lively hood of two
cows?

MartinP
2008-09-03, 12:24
That's me, with the lightning strike. I finally took my Squeezebox apart. There's some discoloration of the plastic near the power connector. No other signs of damage. When I opened the subwoofer which was also damaged during the storm pieces of a broken IC and capacitor fell on the floor! Astonishing. Nothing like that with the Squeezebox. However, it no longer functions so obviously damage was done. So scavenging for parts would not be without risks.

It's SB3, classic, white case and Slim Devices logo, not Logitech (though that's not too relevant to the parts inside I suppose).

DrNic
2008-09-04, 13:07
Thanks guys for posting back on this - thought no-one cared :( !!!

@st2000: I have seen the MAC appear on the router (thought of that one already) but I cannot get it to show up in the web browser using Slimserver. To get it passed the initial setup after the foolish reset I need to be able to select "use wireless network" or "use wired network" AFAIR.
So up to now I can't determine if the rest of the SB1 is working or not...

Unfortunately the SB1G is an entirely different beast internally to the SB3's - so I am unsure a harvest from an SB3 would be compatible.

Anyway, thankyou both for your comments, suggestions and interest, it is greatly appreciated.

Nic

mvalera
2008-09-04, 15:57
Contact support:

http://www.slimdevices.com/su_tech.html

It's a flat $90 fee for all repairs... we're still fixing that model.

Mike

mvalera
2008-09-04, 16:00
I just saw you are in the UK... we'll still fix it, you will just have to pay the international shipping costs.

Use email to contact support here in the US to set it up.

Mike