PDA

View Full Version : Gaps between tracks



RonM
2008-08-15, 11:43
There might well be an obvious answer to this question that I should know, but I can't figure it out.

Is it possible to change the gap between played tracks? I'd like two or three seconds, but can't find a setting to change. Not interested in a fade effect.

Ron

maggior
2008-08-15, 12:13
It would be helpful to know more info about your setup:
- File type (mp3, FLAC, etc.)
- Encoder (LAME mp3, iTunes mp3, etc.).
- Do these files play gapless elsewhere (media player on PC, iPod, etc.).
- Are you using the player synchonization feature?
- What version of SqueezeCenter are you running?

There was a bug fixed recently and released in 7.1 where a small gap was introduced with LAME mp3 files. That wasn't in the order of seconds though. Your issue sounds more serious.

CatBus
2008-08-15, 12:20
It sounds to me like you're asking if you can intentionally add a certain amount of silence between any two tracks played, correct? If that's the case, I don't know, sorry.

I just wanted to verify your question first. There are lots of questions here from people who want to REMOVE gaps between tracks, and I think your question may be pretty unusual.

radish
2008-08-15, 17:48
SC does it's very best to never introduce any gap. That way, you hear the music as it was intended (if there's supposed to be a gap between tracks, it will typically be encoded as silence at the end of the file). I certainly don't know of any way to insert a gap other than editing your files.

RonM
2008-08-15, 21:30
It sounds to me like you're asking if you can intentionally add a certain amount of silence between any two tracks played, correct? If that's the case, I don't know, sorry.

I just wanted to verify your question first. There are lots of questions here from people who want to REMOVE gaps between tracks, and I think your question may be pretty unusual.

You got it.

Almost all the web traffic (here and elsewhere) is about eliminating gaps -- it's like the whole world has gone techno. While some of my recordings (e.g. Dark Side Of The Moon) are best heard gapless, it's not true for everything. In fact, to my taste, it's not good for most things, but gaps are especially important in SOME forms of classical music.

Most of the time, I do like there to be a bit of a pause between tracks, a natural breath-taking. Don't like it when people talk nonstop, and I don't like it when the music plays nonstop.

My problem is that I have music from a variety of sources. Some of it has naturally occurring gaps, as in most CDs or LPs, but some doesn't. I'd like to be able to force a bit of a pause, without having to edit each track manually.

This would surely be an easy option to implement in something like SC.

R.

Nonreality
2008-08-15, 23:08
You got it.

Almost all the web traffic (here and elsewhere) is about eliminating gaps -- it's like the whole world has gone techno. While some of my recordings (e.g. Dark Side Of The Moon) are best heard gapless, it's not true for everything. In fact, to my taste, it's not good for most things, but gaps are especially important in SOME forms of classical music.

Most of the time, I do like there to be a bit of a pause between tracks, a natural breath-taking. Don't like it when people talk nonstop, and I don't like it when the music plays nonstop.

My problem is that I have music from a variety of sources. Some of it has naturally occurring gaps, as in most CDs or LPs, but some doesn't. I'd like to be able to force a bit of a pause, without having to edit each track manually.

This would surely be an easy option to implement in something like SC.

R.
I'm not sure on this but I think if you use dbpoweramp you can add silence before and after tracks. You'll have to look on their dsp affects section to see. It's a great program for ripping and encoding so you might want to check and see if it will do what you want. Leave a question in their forums and you'll get an answer. Hope this helps you.

Toonie
2008-08-15, 23:27
I know this might sound like using a sledgehammer to crack a nut, but could you try creating a 2 second long silent track? Then you could add it to your playlists selectively, IE not in between tracks of "Dark Side Of The Moon" but insert it between passages in your classical collection.

Regards,
Toonie.

radish
2008-08-16, 10:37
My problem is that I have music from a variety of sources. Some of it has naturally occurring gaps, as in most CDs or LPs, but some doesn't.

This is the interesting bit for me. The "keeping gaps where they should be" problem is typically solved by the CD ripper adding the gap on the end of the preceding track. I'm assuming these tracks your talking about are downloaded? If downloaded files aren't including the gaps on the end this could become a larger problem.

ModelCitizen
2008-08-16, 10:39
Press pause between tracks.

MC

RonM
2008-08-16, 18:10
This is the interesting bit for me. The "keeping gaps where they should be" problem is typically solved by the CD ripper adding the gap on the end of the preceding track. I'm assuming these tracks your talking about are downloaded? If downloaded files aren't including the gaps on the end this could become a larger problem.

Most ripped tracks don't represent a problem. Some purchased/downloaded tracks do. And then there are the ripped-from-vinyl tracks, which vary quite a bit.

Not all CD rippers routinely and automatically put in two seconds.

Extra pause time wouldn't be a problem. Think of live music. Not too often that there isn't more than a two second pause between songs. It's going, in a fraction of a second, from a closing chord to an opening chord that's the problem for me.\

R.

(Written on my new Acer Aspire One micro notebook, very cool, but being unused to the smallish keyboard it took me three tries to get the password right. Linpus Linux, Intel Atom, 120G HD, 1.5G RAM. 2 lbs.)

Eric Seaberg
2008-08-16, 20:14
There might well be an obvious answer to this question that I should know, but I can't figure it out.

You know it sounds like a transcoding problem to me. Are you playing LOSSLESS files and asking the server to transcode to MP3 or the like? This would certainly point to a CPU that can't keep up with the task.

Give us some more info as to file type and such...

RonM
2008-08-16, 20:34
I have a mix of files -- most of my ripped CDs are ripped to lossless WMA -- I'd have used FLAC except that I use WMP as my computer player and it doesn't support flac natively.

Most of these ex-CD tunes have an adequate gap, and it's not a problem. I'm very sure that the problem isn't processor power (recent dual core). The problem occurs mostly on tracks not ripped from CDs, which are mostly not lossless, MP3s, WMAs.

Basically, I'd just like to force more time between tracks, as much or more as on a typical vinyl album (aside from exceptions like Dark Side of the Moon, and others -- I've been ripping vinyl today, and have found quite a variation within some albums in the time between the end of music on one track and start on the next, as much as a factor of 3 on the same album).

R.

radish
2008-08-16, 20:38
Not all CD rippers routinely and automatically put in two seconds.

Just to be precise, it's not really the ripper putting in exactly 2 seconds, it's just including the postgap in the file. Normal studio recorded CD's are typically mastered with a 2 second postgap so you end up with 2 secs of silence at the end of each ripped track (except, sometimes, the last one). If the CD was mastered with 1 sec postgap you'll get 1 sec of silence, no postgap gives you "gapless" playback. In other words, unless the ripper isn't doing the right thing with the postgap (in which case, replace it!) CD ripped tracks should be "as intended" by the engineer. I totally get your point about vinyl and downloaded tracks though. Although assuming you're ripping the vinyl yourself it shouldn't be hard to include whatever postgap you want.

Eric Seaberg
2008-08-16, 22:22
Just to be precise, it's not really the ripper putting in exactly 2 seconds, it's just including the postgap in the file. Normal studio recorded CD's are typically mastered with a 2 second postgap so you end up with 2 secs of silence at the end of each ripped track (except, sometimes, the last one).

That's not totally accurate... the START OF TRACK and END OF TRACK IDs can be put wherever the mastering engineer wants. Just think about CDs you have where there is continuous music, yet the ID changes reflecting a new "track". This is totally within the spec.

It could have to do with your ripper as much as anything else. What kind of files is the OP actually having a problem with?

radish
2008-08-17, 10:38
That's not totally accurate... the START OF TRACK and END OF TRACK IDs can be put wherever the mastering engineer wants. Just think about CDs you have where there is continuous music, yet the ID changes reflecting a new "track". This is totally within the spec.

I know - that's why I said "studio" (not live) and "typically" (not always). I have hundreds of gapless CDs and they're obviously mastered with no postgap. I've even mastered a number myself :) The point I was trying to make was it wasn't a setting of the ripper to add 2 seconds of silence, it just adds whatever is already on the CD, be that 2 secs, 1 sec or nothing.