PDA

View Full Version : Stuttering AAC playback / beginner



jsa307
2008-08-13, 14:01
After receiving my squeezebox duet yesterday, I have found stuttering on playback of AAC encoded tracks. The stuttering is worse for the AAC files with higher bit rates (i.e. 320), and less obvious as the bit rate goes down. No such problems with mp3 files or internet streams.

A search of the forum turned up multpile threads, but most were too advanced/confusing. I obviously don't have these issues when playing back the files on Itunes. I tried playing back the files on quicktime itself, which was also fine. My setup is AAC files/Itunes folder on an external HD connected by firewire to a computer with dual 1.8 chips and 1 GB ram. Internet signal strength on squeezecenter is between 80-90.

I realized this may have been covered in detail, but would someone be able to offer some advice. A few threads that I found were way over my head (ie http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=253734&postcount=13) Thanks!

bpa
2008-08-13, 14:06
What OS are you using ?

jsa307
2008-08-13, 14:12
sorry, just realized I forgot that. running Win2K ...

bpa
2008-08-13, 16:41
AAC files are decoded using an application called mov123.exe which uses QuickTime library. The following instructions makes a program called faad.exe do the AAC decoding independent of QuickTime - in many cases this fixes the stuttering.

1. Download the zip file from here http://www.rarewares.org/files/aac/faad2-2.6.1.zip

2. Unzip and save the faad.exe file in your Squeezecenter Bin directory. If you have a standard installation then it will probably be in
C:\Program Files\SqueezeCenter\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
There will be other applications in this directory such as alac.exe and flac.exe

3. Download the attached file, unzip and put the custom-convert.conf file into the main SC direcotry ( probably C:\Program Files\SqueezeCenter\server ) which has the convert.conf file.

4. Restart SC and check that Settings/Advanced/File Types that the AAC file type (e.g. Apple Movie ??) is using faad and not mov123.

Mark Lanctot
2008-08-14, 06:03
Could also be simple wireless bandwidth problems, see http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/NetworkProblemsSecondGuide

How is the server connected to the network? Wirelessly? If so you have two wireless hops (server to router, router to Duet) and you may experience problems. Ideally the server should be wired, although you can wire the SBR instead.