PDA

View Full Version : softsqueeze incompatible with sc7.1



BigTony
2008-08-10, 06:05
Tried to listen to music at work via SoftSqueeze, after upgrading to SC7.1, i downloaded the new verssion of squeeze, but it also fails to play with SC7.1!
Clues or suggestions?

Cheers


BT

Win XP SP 3

jwka
2008-08-11, 14:25
Ive got the same problem.

I found out that using softsqueeze's own buttons (not remot thru controller or web interface of SC) allows for playing - sometimes at least.

mkanet
2008-08-14, 21:46
So how does Slim Devices expect for us to test client playback via software?

Is there a Softsqueeze version 3.7 we can download? What's the trick to make this work? I have a SB Duet sitting in the other room collecting dust; as I prefer my PC for controlling SC.

pfarrell
2008-08-14, 21:55
mkanet wrote:
> I have a SB Duet sitting in the other room
> collecting dust; as I prefer my PC for controlling SC.

This makes zero sense to me. I control my Duet/Receiver with my laptop
all the time. I use the laptop and the web interface more than I use my
Controller. Mostly because my fingers are on the laptop keyboard most of
the day, and the Controller is two feet away.

Softsqueeze has nothing to do with controlling a Receiver, or a
Transporter or a SqueezeBox.



--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

mkanet
2008-08-14, 22:10
Sorry, I didn't explain.. I use softqueeze's jar file and respective supprt files... but actually use a superior interface to both the Duet and Softsqueeze itself. Unfortunately, it's softwqueeze dependant...



mkanet wrote:
> I have a SB Duet sitting in the other room
> collecting dust; as I prefer my PC for controlling SC.

This makes zero sense to me. I control my Duet/Receiver with my laptop
all the time. I use the laptop and the web interface more than I use my
Controller. Mostly because my fingers are on the laptop keyboard most of
the day, and the Controller is two feet away.

Softsqueeze has nothing to do with controlling a Receiver, or a
Transporter or a SqueezeBox.



--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

pfarrell
2008-08-14, 22:22
mkanet wrote:
> Sorry, I didn't explain.. I use softqueeze's jar file and respective
> supprt files... but actually use a superior interface to both the Duet
> and Softsqueeze itself. Unfortunately, it's softwqueeze dependant...

Well that hardly makes your Duet unusable.

Softsqueeze is being replaced, the new thing has a new name. Check the
developers' forum. Or the roadmap to see which release it is planned to
be in.

I didn't think Softsqueeze did anything more than use the standard CLI
interface, but I've never been so unhappy with the normal Web interface
to look under the covers.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

mkanet
2008-08-14, 22:29
Yeah, I didnt say Duet was unusable.. pardon the analogy, but its like the difference between driving my commute car and decked out sports car.

I knew about the thing in development, but I didnt expect they would take out functionality without having anything to take it's place in the distribution/installer.


mkanet wrote:
> Sorry, I didn't explain.. I use softqueeze's jar file and respective
> supprt files... but actually use a superior interface to both the Duet
> and Softsqueeze itself. Unfortunately, it's softwqueeze dependant...

Well that hardly makes your Duet unusable.

Softsqueeze is being replaced, the new thing has a new name. Check the
developers' forum. Or the roadmap to see which release it is planned to
be in.

I didn't think Softsqueeze did anything more than use the standard CLI
interface, but I've never been so unhappy with the normal Web interface
to look under the covers.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

pfarrell
2008-08-14, 22:33
mkanet wrote:
> I knew about the thing in development, but I didnt expect they would
> take out functionality before without having the new one to take it's
> place.

Patches welcome

The CLI has been documented and open since I got my first SqueezeBox
model 1, before the 1-G graphics was released.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

kdf
2008-08-14, 22:41
On 14-Aug-08, at 10:29 PM, mkanet wrote:
>
> I knew about the thing in development, but I didnt expect they would
> take out functionality before without having the new one to take it's
> place.
>

what exactly is the problem aside from a message saying it's not the
right SS version for the SC version, and a misleading message to
download a non-existent upgrade?
SS out of the box still works for me.

Plus, if you check bugzilla, you'll notice that there has been some
work to relieve users of that misleading warning and allow SS to keep
limping along a bit longer.

I don't believe anyone has taken out anything.

-kdf

mkanet
2008-08-15, 06:25
Well, for at least my purposes, I was able to get it to wok fine. What threw me off was that I didnt see the link to install Softsqueeze 3.6 inside SC; and, I had already uninstalled SQ 3.6. However, it appears having my softsqueeze files from a previous installation will still talk to SqueezeCenter.

mkanet
2008-08-15, 09:07
Before upgrading to SC 7.1, I had uninstall Softsqueeze 3.6... thinking I was would upgrade to a newer version of Softsqueeze that came with SC 7.1 (installing from the settings menu). However, I don't see the option to install it under SC's settings menu. I couldn't find a download URL for Softsqueeze 3.6... only older version.

How do I install Softsqueeze 3.6 under SC 7.1 so it's just like all the previous versions of SC/Slimserver?

kdf
2008-08-15, 09:25
> How do I install Softsqueeze 3.6 under SC 7.1 so it's just like all the
> previous versions of SC/Slimserver?

3.6 comes included in 7.1 and the webstart link is on the home page under
Extras. If you want access to the jar files, then you can find them in
HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze

Can't say I remember it ever being under "settings". When you have no
other player, you used to get a link in the current playlist section.

There hasn't been an active download site outside of the SC package since
before it was renamed to SC.

-kdf

mkanet
2008-08-15, 09:38
There's an option in SC/Slimserver to install Softsqueeze (under player settings). At least there's always been one as far back as I can remember. This would install the latest version of Softsqueeze, creating a Start Menu group, adding the program in Add/remove programs with uninstall information. I'm not sure how to do this anymore.


> How do I install Softsqueeze 3.6 under SC 7.1 so it's just like all the
> previous versions of SC/Slimserver?

3.6 comes included in 7.1 and the webstart link is on the home page under
Extras. If you want access to the jar files, then you can find them in
HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze

Can't say I remember it ever being under "settings". When you have no
other player, you used to get a link in the current playlist section.

There hasn't been an active download site outside of the SC package since
before it was renamed to SC.

-kdf

kdf
2008-08-15, 09:47
>
> There's an option in SC/Slimserver to install Softsqueeze (under player
> settings). At least there's always been one as far back as I can
> remember. This would install the latest version of Softsqueeze,
> creating a Start Menu group, adding the program in Add/remove programs
> with uninstall information. I'm not sure how to do this anymore.

ok, I see what you mean. This happens when there are no players detected,
same as what appears under the current playlist section.

Since the link was added to the extras menu, I only use that. As I have
said before, it's working fine for me. I use it every day.

Softsqueeze IS slated to be replaced, but the idea that someone out there
is "disabling" it is misplaced. It isn't officially supported any longer.
A version or two from now, there will be no more link from the home page,
but I know of now plans to deliberately disable to remove it from the
subversion repos. Even if that were to come to pass, it's open source.
Install JDK and Ant and you can build it yourself, changing anything you
don't like. That part won't change.

-kdf

mkanet
2008-08-15, 10:05
Okay... I finally found what I was looking for. Thanks.

Just out of curiosity, in theory... do you think Softsqueeze will break/stop working after it's next generation replacement gets installed?

Click to install and run SoftSqueeze.
You will notice some delay the first time you run SoftSqueeze due to the need to download the entire SoftSqueeze application. Future uses of the software will only download parts of the application that have been changed, if any, and should start much quicker.
You may also be prompted to update your version of Java before SoftSqueeze itself is started.


>
> There's an option in SC/Slimserver to install Softsqueeze (under player
> settings). At least there's always been one as far back as I can
> remember. This would install the latest version of Softsqueeze,
> creating a Start Menu group, adding the program in Add/remove programs
> with uninstall information. I'm not sure how to do this anymore.

ok, I see what you mean. This happens when there are no players detected,
same as what appears under the current playlist section.

Since the link was added to the extras menu, I only use that. As I have
said before, it's working fine for me. I use it every day.

Softsqueeze IS slated to be replaced, but the idea that someone out there
is "disabling" it is misplaced. It isn't officially supported any longer.
A version or two from now, there will be no more link from the home page,
but I know of now plans to deliberately disable to remove it from the
subversion repos. Even if that were to come to pass, it's open source.
Install JDK and Ant and you can build it yourself, changing anything you
don't like. That part won't change.

-kdf

kdf
2008-08-15, 11:16
>
> Okay... I finally found what I was looking for. Thanks.
>
> Just out of curiosity, in theory... do you think Softsqueeze will
> break/stop working after it's next generation replacement gets
> installed?

It may eventually fall behind on support of some features. It is a player
type in SqueezeCenter, same as Squeezebox and Slimp3. SB1 and Slimp3 no
longer have firmware development, so at least to that extent, Softsqueeze
should still be able to operate as well as those. The bigger problem is
likely to be eventual changes in Java that may make the existing code
incompatible on systems with newer installs of Java, possibly affecting
playback or even the ability to launch. The source will still be available
should anyone wish to submit a patch to fix those problems in the future.


-kdf